We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 90 Medellin accommodations

Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Transversal 5A 45133 | Patio Bonito, Medellin, Colombia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Sheep Hostel Medellin to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SPKN1415 Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    74
    19
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
74
58
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 3 nights at the Black Sheep in a Double Bed room. The room was clean and bed comfortable, our room was at the back of the building next to the showers, it was generally quite at night. The shower was nice and hot, the separate bathroom/toilet could do with the basin being properly fixed to the wall though.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hostel close to the main bar/restaurant area and shopping centres in Medellin. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless, I stayed in a private room with shared bathroom and also in a room with private bathroom, the quality and cleanliness of the rooms & bathrooms was better than a lot of hotels I have stayed at. The staff and owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KelvinMedellin, Owner at Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great comments. We really appreciate them. Kelvin and Juliana More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in for 2 nights, stayed 5. The staff here are great and really make an effort to get to know their guests by name. Location is convienent, very close to the metro, nightlife area and a European style supermarket called Exitio, which is good as they have kitchen facilities in the hostel. Stayed in a private room which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Highly recommend this hostel for the friendliest service I've experienced in Colombia and an amazing vibe! Very clean with lots of common areas and a great kitchen! Private room is a good price and very spacious, felt more hotel than hostel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Other than the owner having excellent marketing skills, ie, name of property and an excellent website site the property itself was pretty much a standard hostel; as in no "black sheep". No complaints really, reasonable clean, a bit spartan with no TV or any place to hang some clothes comfy bed, hot water, internet (except in Room #105, which unfortunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KelvinMedellin, Owner at Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, responded to this review

thanks for your comments.. the name Black Sheep just popped into my head one day. being that i am from New Zealand and there a lot of sheep. im certainly not the black sheep, we have been around for nine years though now so i guess we are doing something right. the room you were in is certainly the most... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hostel for 7 nights whilst taking Spanish lessons in Medellin. When we first arrived at the hostel the only information we were given was our room number but I'm going to put this down to it being busy at that moment as for the rest of our stay the front of house staff were fantastic, especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KelvinMedellin, Owner at Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, responded to this review

hi guys thanks for your comments. ill mention to the cleaners about the bathrooms. ive always tried to get them in there first thing in the morning to clean up after the night. but they need to be a bit quieter. bathrooms are very hard to manage in hostels. one person can make them a mess and its impossible to... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Having read really good reviews about this place I booked in for 3 days and was a bit disappointed. I stayed in a 12 bed dorm. I was on the top bunk which was so close to the ceiling I couldn't sit up in bed, and had to scramble across horizontally to reach the ladder. Its not in a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KelvinMedellin, Owner at Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, responded to this review

Thanks for your response. I am working on a solution for the bunk bed you were in. I know that particular one is a bit close to the roof. WIth regard to the other points you made. There are no 12 bed dorms. The largest is a 10 bed dorm. Within two minutes walk there is a bakery, a corner... More

San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I stayed here for 8 nights in a private room with private bath on the 2nd floor at the back. It felt more like a hotel room than a hostel, with a flat screen TV with plenty of channels and great reception. My favorite staff member at the front desk was Juliana...well, they are all really great, but Juliana has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KelvinBlackSheep, Owner at Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your comments, especially about the staff. Juliana has been with me for almost eight years and is now the manager of the hostel. If I could, Id have her there 24 hours a day. She is the best. More

Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Situated a few stops away from the city centre, this is a decent place to crash over few nights, with good showers and very clean. Located in a nice part of Medellin, next to villas and some pretty class hotels, in an quiet part of El Poblado - a good place to out at night for food and drinks. Very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KelvinMedellin, Owner at Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do get booked up quick so if you want a particular room a few days notice helps. Safe travels. Kelvin More

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

A busy hostel full of early twentys, lots of australian and english, i arrived at 8pm. The place felt more like a bar/nightclub with rooms than a hostel. People were drinking outside until after midnight playing music and keeping me awake much longer than i wanted to be. The staff are good though and helpful, prices i thought were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KelvinBlackSheep, Owner at Black Sheep Hostel Medellin, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We are generally a hostel with a big mix of travellers. Young and old and in the middle. On that particular night there certainly was a party going on until one in the morning. I apologise for that. It does not happen every day. I have talked to the staff member involved and in the future... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Black Sheep Hostel Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sheep Hostel Medellin

Address: Transversal 5A 45133 | Patio Bonito, Medellin, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Black Sheep Hostel Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay