We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa El Carretero

#19 of 119 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Getsemani CL. 9 # 10B-18 | Calle del Carretero, Cartagena, Colombia
Special Price
30% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa El Carretero
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Casa El Carretero
Rate this Hotel

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    44
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
114
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Casa El Carretero is a gorgeous 200 year old building that has been updated to be extremely comfortable and super romantic. The rooftop pool is lovely for two - we enjoyed the complementary breakfast and visiting with other guests and the incredibly kind and knowledgeable staff. Highly recommended, book in advance!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos E, Guest Relations Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to be able to host you in the future. More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice decor, homely, personal feel. Nice little roof terrace with good music from good speakers. Friendly local staff. Location is excellent; Getsemaní is raw but cool and safe. No hotel sign on the door or building so feels like a nice house. Only irritation was the breakfast; fresh fruit, bread and jam and coffee included (fine) but a full Colombian... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos E, Front Office Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Casa EL Carretero offers a free continental breakfast. However, we do charge $15 US for an authentic Colombian Breakfast. We believe this is a fair charge for a meal cooked by a chef. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Hotel Alfiz in the walled city but preferred this hotel. It is beautiful, clean, elegant and perfectly located. The rooftop pool was stunning. Getsemani is a wonderful authentic neighbourhood. This felt more interesting to be amidst real Colombians living their daily lives. We rented bikes to explore and had great fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos E, Owner at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope to host you in the future. More 

Griffin, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice boutique hotel in the old city. The old city is not the same as the walled city. The old city includes the walled city, but there appears to be part of the old city not within the walled city. I would have preferred staying within the original walled city.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos E, Guest Relations Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Hello, Casa El Carretero is located in the neighborhood of Getsemani. It is the hottest neighborhood in town and it is part of the walled city. In this neighborhood they are building the first Four Seasons Hotel in Colombia and the first six star hotel called Obra Pia. We hope to have you with us in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was beautiful with very high ceilings. The bathroom was amazing with a shower that felt like natural rain. The whole place was very nice and private. Small pool on the roof was lovely. I can't wait to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos E, Front Office Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and please let us know next time you are in Cartagena. We would be happy to host you again. Cheers More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This spot is ridiculously unpretentious and underground in its style and comfort. I can't say I've experienced a finer night anywhere. Many thanks to Isolina, who made our stay quite fantastic. The place is basically a hidden mansion inside the very art-crazy Getsemani neighborhood. The walled city is a short walk, and the plaza just in front is lively and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos E, Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the property. We hope to be able to host you again in the future. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful hotel with only 3 rooms. It feels like you have your own house. We spent hours alone on the rooftop pool to beat the heat. The staff is so friendly. Breakfast was included and delicious. Location is also great, right next to lively plaza, but there was no noise.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos E, Owner at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our neighborhood of Getsemani is known for being a cultural hub in the city. We look forward to hosting you in the future. More 

Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice and friendly stuff in a incredibly nice renovated building. The breakfast was delicious and the pool was simply perfect for the sunny Cartagena days. Also, you can play your own music while swimming!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos E, Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments. We appreciate that you had a great time in the property and enjoyed playing your own music by the pool. We hope to host you in the future. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015 via mobile

Great location, very friendly staff. The pool is small but good enough to cool off after a hot Cartagena-day. As there are not many other guests, the pool and entire rooftop feel almost as private. Rooms very clean and comfortable. We booked the rooms for € 71 but we also saw it offered for € 161. That last amount is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos E, Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Hello Martijn, we appreciate your feedback. The difference in pricing depends on the type of room that you book. We have standard rooms and suites. Also, our rates include breakfast and WIFI. More 

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Nice place in getsemani! Friendly staff ( even though only spanish speaking but super Nice people), only 3 rooms wich gives you à feeling of à B&B. Only problems With THE prepayment. The boss, residing in the U.S., overcharged my VISA. Truth is he paid iT back but not a comfortable feeling! He charged me 3 months in advance More... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos E, Manager at Casa El Carretero, responded to this review

Hello, our policy clearly states that we charge in advance. Since we are a three bedroom hotel, we need to have exact clarity of who is arriving each day and we are clear about that. We hope to be able to host you in the future. The service that we had contracted to pick you up failed us and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question