We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Cartagena accommodations

Hostel Mamallena

Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostel Mamallena to your Saves list
Hostel Mamallena
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
allyrambles Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (146)
  • Photos (24)
  • Prices
  • Room tips (25)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    50
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
3
56
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yes it's noisy on Media Luna street - ask for a room at the back. Yes the courtyard can be noisy also, but its got a good atmosphere and that's part of it. Friendly, helpful staff, decent coffee and brekkie, plenty of info available, close to old town. Only downside is the parrot. I hate the parrot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is in a great location for the old town, the staff are really helpful and friendly (but also really overworked) and they have a good travel desk which organises trips at a good rate. However, its not in a great location if you want to get some sleep! Its right in the party area which is noisy (particularly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Well, I don't think that we're just for people that want to party all the time. We have plenty of people that come for the great atmosphere that we have, and thats why we are one of the more popular hostels in Cartagena. We accept that we're not for everyone, but we'd rather people do their research before they come... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a wonderful time at mamallena, great and helpful staff, free breakfast yummi fruit juices for only 3000, salads, sandwiches great travel office, relaxing deck, spacious dorms In the heart of Gezemani, 5mins from Centro Near a huge Exito

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in a private room for 3 nights and unfortunately it faced the main courtyard where everyone hangs out so obviously it's pretty noisy at night. Also, we booked an A/C room and the A/C is meant to come on at 9 but on one night it didn't come on until about midnight and didn't even come on one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karkur
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The hostel is good, the price is fair (we paid 120,000 COP for room of four) and the staff are really helpfull. However, at one of the nights we stayed there was a party outside with loud music so we couldn't sleep. Also, the kitchen is a bit small and it gets really crowded when more than one or two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Yeah its hard in a hostel. Everyone wants to have a great time in the hostel, but then if theres people having a great time they're going to complain about it. I'll say it again as well, we do make this clear on our website, and you obviously use Trip Advisor where it has been posted a number of times... More

Chico, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The multi national crew here prides themselves on their customer service. Always wanting to go above and beyond the call of duty to help a weary traveler out. The lounge area is always active with stories, booze and wifi flowing like the salmon of capisprona. It's really one of the main nerves of this beautiful city. I stay here each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

After crossing the Carribean by sailboat (the Cortos 2) from Panama, Hostel Mamallena in Cartagena is a perfect spot to kick back, meet fellow travellers and plan your itinerary through beautiful and welcoming Colombia. Helpful, knowledgeable staff. Located in the old part of town, a 5 minute walk to the fortress and 15 minutes to the beach. When staying in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

... then it's the perfect place for you! The good thing is the location of the guesthouse because it's near to the old town. But there are many cons: - very loud, music and party until late night - all the guests are sitting in front of the rooms and as the walls are very thin and there are no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Yeah, you're right :( I can now accept it, we're the worst hostel I have ever owned. Its not our intention, we tried to provide a good fun place to stay, in a place with a bit of character, with good staff and information, and a free breakfast(free!!), and all at a very reasonable price for Cartagena. I see now... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was pretty pumped to stay here, lots of activities offered, cool atmosphere, however their security is not top notch. My lap top was stolen from my bag that was inconspiciously in a corner of a Room. The locker was not available, and they didnt offer to hold my valuables until the lock was open. Unfortunately, i am Also to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Yeah this was a pretty unfortunate incident, one that shouldn't happen anywhere but also one that could maybe have been avoided. I feel that I must clear up a couple of things about what you have said here though. When you told me that your computer had been stolen from your bag I went straight to your room, where you... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hostel ahead, planning in staying for two nights,after our sailingtrip from panama. The double rooms are nice, but extremely overpriced (110.000 pesos!). We thought we booked a room for 80.000, but upon arrival they told us that this rooms were all full. We were to tired to find another hostel, the room looked nice, so we decided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casa762, Owner at Hostel Mamallena, responded to this review

Ok, I think we should get a few of the facts into this review, and make it a lot more honest. For one, you arrived in the middle of the high season, to say a private room with AC and private bathroom for 110 000 pesos is over priced is a little bit silly. The hotel next door was charging... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hostel Mamallena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hostel Mamallena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mamallena

Address: Calle Media Luna, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty lodging in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostel Mamallena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com Hostelworld.com
and 1 more site!

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.