We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marco Polo Suzhou

No.818 Ganjiang East Road, Pingjiang District, Suzhou 215005, China
Hotel amenities
Marco Polo Suzhou
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #39 of 1,026 Hotels in Suzhou
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Zohab Wollongong, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    95
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
35
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (209)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed in various other 5 star hotels while in China I found this to be very average. The hotel is dated and needs a degree of maintenance to make it up to the standard of other hotels of this calibre. The location is good and is a short walk to the old city. All in all not a bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Being in the old city and to be able to walk everywhere is brilliant. The room was fine. The buffet breakfast was always out of fruit and juice and other bits and pieces. Everyday we had to ask for them to refill.The gym smells of cigarette smoke and the equipment is limited. This hotel with a bit of effort could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We stayed here as part of a China Spree tour. The Marco Polo hotel in Suzhou was quite a surprise - the wall between the bath and the bedroom area was glass and the tub was right next to the glass! There was a curtain that could be lowered to block the view. It was an interesting contrast - a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Great location, in the Suzhou old city, not far away from SIP. The hotel is ok, although... just ok. It is quite expensive when you compare it to other hotels in the city. And in fact the price is not equal to the value. The rooms and bathrooms have seen their better days, wi-fi is not working well, the breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angela-Meng0717, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Suzhou, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and spending your valuable time sharing your feedbacks. My sincere apology for the unsatisfied experience you have encountered during your recent stay. Your valuable feedbacks have been discussed with our Executive Chef and Director of Rooms to ensure our products are meet customer satisfaction. Meanwhile we are pleased to inform that the... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Not too bad but not quite as good as I had hoped The room was fine and the breakfast and supper in the restaurant were ok I had hoped to go swimming but the pool wasn't available Also struggled to find anything from the drinks list that was actually available We could walk to the historic city centre which made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SS T, Manager at Marco Polo Suzhou, responded to this review

Hi Edward ! We were glad to have you stayed with us in May and appreciate much on feedbacks shared. My apologies on the inconveniences that you may have encountered but on the other hand, we are pleased to inform that the upgrading work on our swimming pool was completed in June and have been very popular among our guests... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Only stayed one night but it was not that memorable. Location not that great and breakfast so so. One of the security staff had a barney with a female client at the entrance and spilled into the lobby. This went on for 20 minutes or so and several managers in suits did not seem to be able to take the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SS T, Manager at Marco Polo Suzhou, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and spending your valuable time sharing your feedbacks. The incident mentioned at that particular time was indeed being handled by our senior manager as the situation was a little delicate despite our best efforts to assist that guest concerned. We are terribly sorry if the situation had marred your experience with us... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was going to stay here for several days but opted to leave after just one day. My room looked like something from a 1 star horror hotel. Shabby and dated. The hotel service staff has one of the worst attitudes I have ever encountered in all my years of travel. Not just not friendly but borderline hostel and generally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Camilla Z, Public Relations Manager at Marco Polo Suzhou, responded to this review

Dear Guest,   Thank you very much for staying at Marco Polo Suzhou and penning some feedbacks.   It’s glad to know that you found our hotel is strategically located. However, we are so surprised with what you had experienced here. We viewed your comments seriously and a thorough investigation will definitely be made. It is always our philosophy of... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed mid December 2013. Excellent hotel and first class hotel services. Centrally located in the old city, therefore rather noisy at night (loud merry-makers late into the night). Our room faced the road. Extremely convenient - so many eateries within walking distance. Heating system in winter is too hot for comfort, so we leave one window opened. Wifi rather reliable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SS T, General Manager at Marco Polo Suzhou, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at Marco Polo Suzhou and we are happy to review your comments in Tripadvisor.com Your feedbacks have been well noted and very pleased to learn of your overall satisfaction especially on the customer services extended by our team members. We are also glad to inform that one of our colleagues from Sales... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

After 3 days of no air conditioning I was offered a free drink. Hotel getting old and not accomodating after I asked for a discount I was told no AC because it is getting cold outside. Not a fair way to be treated

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a well priced and well located hotel in old Suzhou. It is around the corner from some really interesting old streets, full of restaurants and little stores. It's an older Hotel-but still in good shape for its age and has a good standard of cleanliness and bedding is actually great.The staff were helpful without being overly friendly-but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Suzhou hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Soul Suzhou
Hotel Soul Suzhou
#13 of 1,026 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Youngor Central Hotel
Youngor Central Hotel
#33 of 1,026 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Jasmine
Holiday Inn Jasmine
#32 of 1,026 in Suzhou
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Suzhou
Pan Pacific Suzhou
#9 of 1,026 in Suzhou
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Garden Hotel (Daichengqiao Road)
1.0 mi away
Scholars Hotel Suzhou Pingjiangfu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay