We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Douala hotels

Le Meridien Douala

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Avenue des Cocotiers | PO Box 3232, Douala, Cameroon
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Douala to your Saves list
Le Meridien Douala
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
43%
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Douala
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
prince_hafish Singapore, Singapore
  • Overview
  • Reviews (134)
  • Photos (57)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (27)
  • More
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    44
    49
    25
    6
See reviews for
6
6
16
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, given all the experience in a Le Meridien, this hotel is nothing to be wow about. Rooms are tired and need upgrading. Pool and restaurant is nice and serving some good food. There is a nice little shop at the lobby that sells everything you basically need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Price_hafish, Thank you very much for your review. We are about to finalize the details of the hotel renovation and we hope we can start soon. It will be our privilege to welcome you again soon during your next stay in Douala. More

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although not to Meridien standards around the globe, if in Douala, it's worth staying at the Meridien. The rooms aren't great but the restaurant and pool area is very nice, try the pizza! Service as always in West Africa seems to be impeccable when paying a price Elevator is satisfactory Busy in the mornings! Good for a first meeting with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. A project for the hotel renovation is being finalized and we hope we can start soon. We look forward to welcome you again soon. More

Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have been in 3 hotels for business: Le Meridien, Prince de Galle and Starland. The most expensive is Le Meridien: x FCFA, then Starland: x-10000FCFA and then Prince de Galles x-30000FCFA. The worst of these 3 hotels is Prince des Galles Comparing Le Meridien and Starland, both are top-class hotels in Douala but Starland is better because it’s new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Patatica Thank you for your review. Plans for entire renovation are on discussion with architects, and we have just introduced a brand standard where basic wi-fi internet is free of charge. On top of what you mentioned may I mention that staying in a Starwood property entitles you to become part of the award winning Starwood Preferred Guest program... More

Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
294 hotel reviews
437 helpful votes 437 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Pretty old and run down even for central african standards. Faded 70s furniture. Only in the bar, the atmosphere still retains some charme, and there the service is also quite friendly. The pool are is uninviting, small and scruffy, as are all the other public areas. The location towards the harbour with view of palms, water and ships is this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Trophy Collector, Thank you very much for your review. We took note of what you wrote and I would like to comment as follows. the hotel has been maintained since its opening in the Eighties. A major renovation is currently being discussed and architecture plans are nearly finished. This will give the hotel a new feeling and will improve... More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Meridien in Douala is theoreticall the best hotel in city...and probably it is...but not because its good ,just because has no competition .hotel isclearly over priced ...i would say ridiculous price for thestancard of hotel...probablt saw last renovation 40 years ago...if ever ....service is also slow and not very effective....exception made for the luggage people that are fast and nice.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Luis A Many thanks for your comments after your stay at Le Meridien Douala. Please be advised that since its opening 30 years ago, the hotel has been maintained and materials and equipment changed accoding to our brand standards. However a major renovation is being planned in order to give it a new look and improve guest's experience. We... More

Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have travelled around the World and stayed at many properties. I can say, without reservation, that Le Meridien in Douala is the WORST Meridien and Starwood property I have ever stayed in! The rooms appeared to be dirty, run down, mold and rust on the ceilings and dirty brown water out of the faucets. Service was non-existence and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Beavis60 Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Le Meridien Douala. I am sorry we were not up to your expectations. Please be awre that we currently review the plans for the hotel renovation, not only rooms but also all the public areas and exterior. I understand you were disappointed with... More

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staff are rude, unhelpful, unprofessional, aggressive and not trust worthy.. If you are going to stay in this hotel it would only be for the location don't do it because you think you are going to get the same standard that la meridians provide because you will be very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Ralphie76. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Le Meridien Douala. We are sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. We focus on guest experience and training is a constant in our property. If you wish, please let me know how we could have addressed things better with you. Best regards. More

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed at Le Meridien Hotel - Good location but as I am sure the group management know, this hotel is getting old and needs a complete revamp. Nice pool do do laps. Food expensive but this isn't unusual.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Thomas V, Thank you for your reveiew. Please be aware that we are currently reviewing the design for the mock-up room. Once this is approved a renovation of the hotel will start, and this will include not only the rooms but also the public areas, the external façade and the F&B outlets. Best regards More

San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The best and safest hotel in the city....rather old but a place to sleep and eat! The staff is super nice and willing help you on any issue. All and all this isn't a bad place just need a lot of work, hopefully in the years to come we will see some improvements. Very Expensive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephane E, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear SWCC32, Thank you for your comments. Our team at Le Meridien Douala is pleased you appreciated our welcome and service and that you enjoyed the food. Your observations are well noted and we are pleased to inform you that we are preparing for a full renovation in the near future. We are continuously working at improving our different services... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

70's style hotel also seems not renovated since either. Lobby has a smell of fumigation. Most of the reception staff are very unfriendly and very aggressive. Food is mediocre but most staff in outside restaurant are friendly. Staff in this hotel seem to have never seen anything better so asume that this is the best hotel in the world. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephane E, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear John777077, Thank you for your comments. We have taken good note of your observations especially regarding the general aspect of the hotel and we are pleased to inform you that we are preparing a full renovation in the near future. Meanwhile there is no reason at all for any inappropriate conduct. All are well trained to provide the appropriate... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Meridien Douala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Meridien Douala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Douala

Address: 35 Avenue des Cocotiers | PO Box 3232, Douala, Cameroon
Location: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Douala 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Meridien Douala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Douala Hotel Douala
Douala Le Meridien

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Douala with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
141

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Meridien Douala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer