We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Douala hotels

Le Meridien Douala

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Avenue des Cocotiers | PO Box 3232, Douala, Cameroon
Hotel amenities
Le Meridien Douala
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Douala to your Saves list
43%
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Douala
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014
John C Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    47
    51
    25
    7
See reviews for
6
6
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was originally booked at the Starland but they were overbooked and was transferred here... I used to stay here mid 2000's and NOTHING has changed... even the lift music is the same .... hotel deco is straight out of the 80's.... falling apart...... rooms same thing..... old & crappy.... food mediocre..... in short very mediocre and not cheap !... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Bob V Thank you for the time you took to write about your impressions although they do nothing to reflect the reality. It is true that the renovation has not started yet but the on-going maintenance keeps the building in a very good shape. Our guest satisfaction statistics are on the higher levels ever and that is a sign... More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Not bad as for as hotels in Africa go, although what always fails to amaze me is the complete lack of good service! This can NEVER be excused. It is simply down to training and the right example being set from above. To have the maitre d walk up to my table, slap the bill down, and then simply walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear John C, Thank you for your feedback. I must say that training is something we keep on doing, not only for service but also for standards. As a business hotel we must present the bill while the guest is still taking the meal. This could have led to your sense of th maitre'd not wanting to clear the name... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Well, given all the experience in a Le Meridien, this hotel is nothing to be wow about. Rooms are tired and need upgrading. Pool and restaurant is nice and serving some good food. There is a nice little shop at the lobby that sells everything you basically need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Price_hafish, Thank you very much for your review. We are about to finalize the details of the hotel renovation and we hope we can start soon. It will be our privilege to welcome you again soon during your next stay in Douala. More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Although not to Meridien standards around the globe, if in Douala, it's worth staying at the Meridien. The rooms aren't great but the restaurant and pool area is very nice, try the pizza! Service as always in West Africa seems to be impeccable when paying a price Elevator is satisfactory Busy in the mornings! Good for a first meeting with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. A project for the hotel renovation is being finalized and we hope we can start soon. We look forward to welcome you again soon. More

Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have been in 3 hotels for business: Le Meridien, Prince de Galle and Starland. The most expensive is Le Meridien: x FCFA, then Starland: x-10000FCFA and then Prince de Galles x-30000FCFA. The worst of these 3 hotels is Prince des Galles Comparing Le Meridien and Starland, both are top-class hotels in Douala but Starland is better because it’s new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Patatica Thank you for your review. Plans for entire renovation are on discussion with architects, and we have just introduced a brand standard where basic wi-fi internet is free of charge. On top of what you mentioned may I mention that staying in a Starwood property entitles you to become part of the award winning Starwood Preferred Guest program... More

Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
300 hotel reviews
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Pretty old and run down even for central african standards. Faded 70s furniture. Only in the bar, the atmosphere still retains some charme, and there the service is also quite friendly. The pool are is uninviting, small and scruffy, as are all the other public areas. The location towards the harbour with view of palms, water and ships is this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Trophy Collector, Thank you very much for your review. We took note of what you wrote and I would like to comment as follows. the hotel has been maintained since its opening in the Eighties. A major renovation is currently being discussed and architecture plans are nearly finished. This will give the hotel a new feeling and will improve... More

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Meridien in Douala is theoreticall the best hotel in city...and probably it is...but not because its good ,just because has no competition .hotel isclearly over priced ...i would say ridiculous price for thestancard of hotel...probablt saw last renovation 40 years ago...if ever ....service is also slow and not very effective....exception made for the luggage people that are fast and nice.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Luis A Many thanks for your comments after your stay at Le Meridien Douala. Please be advised that since its opening 30 years ago, the hotel has been maintained and materials and equipment changed accoding to our brand standards. However a major renovation is being planned in order to give it a new look and improve guest's experience. We... More

Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have travelled around the World and stayed at many properties. I can say, without reservation, that Le Meridien in Douala is the WORST Meridien and Starwood property I have ever stayed in! The rooms appeared to be dirty, run down, mold and rust on the ceilings and dirty brown water out of the faucets. Service was non-existence and staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Beavis60 Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Le Meridien Douala. I am sorry we were not up to your expectations. Please be awre that we currently review the plans for the hotel renovation, not only rooms but also all the public areas and exterior. I understand you were disappointed with... More

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Staff are rude, unhelpful, unprofessional, aggressive and not trust worthy.. If you are going to stay in this hotel it would only be for the location don't do it because you think you are going to get the same standard that la meridians provide because you will be very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Ralphie76. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Le Meridien Douala. We are sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. We focus on guest experience and training is a constant in our property. If you wish, please let me know how we could have addressed things better with you. Best regards. More

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed at Le Meridien Hotel - Good location but as I am sure the group management know, this hotel is getting old and needs a complete revamp. Nice pool do do laps. Food expensive but this isn't unusual.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fernando H, General Manager at Le Meridien Douala, responded to this review

Dear Thomas V, Thank you for your reveiew. Please be aware that we are currently reviewing the design for the mock-up room. Once this is approved a renovation of the hotel will start, and this will include not only the rooms but also the public areas, the external façade and the F&B outlets. Best regards More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Meridien Douala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Douala

Address: 35 Avenue des Cocotiers | PO Box 3232, Douala, Cameroon
Location: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Douala 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Douala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Douala Hotel Douala
Douala Le Meridien

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay