We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Douala hotels

Hotel Prince de Galles

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prince de Galles | Akwa, Douala BP4858, Cameroon
Hotel amenities
Hotel Prince de Galles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Prince de Galles to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Douala
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Hendrick C Yaounde, Cameroon
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
1
1
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Yaounde, Cameroon
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good wifi, perfect location for business. Breakfast buffet offers a fair variety of items, good international tv channel selection. We would definitely stay here again. We want to congratulate the Hotel management for the improvements done since last stay in terms of service and standards. GREAT value for money considering that Douala is usually pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos F, General Manager at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Hendrick C, Thank you so much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. As Top Contributor as you are, is even more encouraging for whole Hotel Staff to know we gave you better sevice and bigger satisfaction than your first visit to our property. As you rightly noticed, we are making efforts and investing into get the best and... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I stayed here during business visit at Douala in May 2014. The hotel itself is what I would describe as very average. The rooms are ok but nothing special and I cannot say that those would be spottlessly clean. So nothing bad but nothing really exceptional as hotel wise in here. The hotel has however good restaurant and excellent waitresses.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos F, General Manager at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Recent Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.and share it with the rest of Tripadvisors. You are right, we are making good improvements at the Joss restaurant where our waitress/waiter try to make you comfortable with his service and our cook, to delight you with our dishes. I wait for you visit us in... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We came ther by defauly - delayed flight. But what an experience . Beautiful hotel . Best food excellent staff members frm driver who fetches us frm Limbe Airport and back. Rooms very clean secured and spacious . Keep up the best tht u are . If I do come 2 Limbe again - will definatly come again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos F, General Manager at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for this resounding review title. It is wonderful and very encouraging to know Hotel Prince de Galles team members have exceeded your expectations. We always work for making your stay the most comfortable ever. Our smiling and dynamic staff is always ready to give answer to your request at Front Office, Le Josse Restaurant or even... More 

Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have been in 3 hotels for business: Le Meridien, Prince de Galle and Starland. The most expensive is Le Meridien: x FCFA, then Starland: x-10000FCFA and then Prince de Galles x-30000FCFA. The worst of these 3 hotels is Prince des Galles

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos F, General Manager at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, Le agradecemos que comparta su comentario con el resto de viajeros de TripAdvisor. Según su comentario, veo que... More 

Holland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The business traveler is not spoiled for choice when they come to Doula. There are only a few hotels that meet any form of ‘western standard’, and this hotel is one. The rooms are small, but clean. The power cuts out a great deal (where doesn’t it in Africa), but the issue with this here is the AC will also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos F, General Manager at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your understanding of the accommodation service in Douala and as well for sharing your impressions with TripAdvisor travellers. As touristic non-develop place, Douala hotel offer is getting better and better. No excuses, you are right. But at Hotel Prince de Galles, our purpose is to exceed our guest expectations and we always work on that... More 

Yaounde, Cameroon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good place to stay in Douala, especially during business trips. Clean, comfortable, nice buffet for breakfast and in a good location. I worked near the port and its location was just perfect. I will come back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos F, General Manager at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing you opinion with all tripadvisor members. I am glad to know our property offers you exactly what you were looking for. Actually, Hotel Prince de Galles location allows you to get Douala Port in only five minutes and, on top of it, Douala International Airport is located fifteen minutes away from the hotel. Very... More 

Douala, Cameroun
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I just spent a night in this hotel during my transit. good localisation in Akwa. underground parking, the personnel are dedicated. the only complaint was the poor design of my room, lighting was not enough for reading!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carlos F, General Manager at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your impressions with other travelers. We always appreciate your reviews which help us to improve. I am sorry to know we did not get to your expections about decoration. We have already start goods and decoration renewal that will give in a short-term future a different feeling in our guests. It is very pleasant... More 

Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was there for a business trip. Clean and professional Nice staff good service Good breakfast not very generous Didn't eat lunch or dinner Not far from center Would recommend for business trips A little pricey

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel was just okay. Nothing fancy. Food is okay but don't expect any service from 2230hrs even though the hotel says the resturant closes at 2300hrs. Location is near the seaport however, the hotel warns against visitors wandering outside the hotel without a driver. It is close to banks and shops. The team at the reception is excellent. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos F, Directeur général at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion with the rest of travellers about Hôtel Prince de Galles. After your review I can conclude we did not exceed your expectations. Nevertheless, we are working more efficiently to reverse the impression about the Hotel. I can inform you since last weekend, Wifi is working much better than before as we fix... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed in the PDG hotel for 5 weeks in Oct-Nov 2013 and had a very pleasant stay. Had to move rooms due to the AC not working and a replacement room was found in minutes with a porter sent to help me transfer my luggage. Internet, room service and Laundry were all of a high standard. Although the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlos F, Director General at Hotel Prince de Galles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your positive review and I want to pass on you we keep going for every single stay of our guest become better and better. Hotel Prince de Galles is focus on accurate improvement projects that will give better service to you. Gym room is one of this investments you will appreciate in your next visit .... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Prince de Galles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prince de Galles

Address: Prince de Galles | Akwa, Douala BP4858, Cameroon
Location: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Prince de Galles 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Prince de Galles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Prince de Galles