We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Palace Bano

3.0 of 5 Rue Drouot a Akwa | BP 12449, Douala, Cameroon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palace Bano
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Palace Bano
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    31
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When coming into or leaving Cameroon, we stayed in this hotel each time as it has a free pick-up service from the airport, a nice pool on the top floor, and good and complete hotel services. Remember that in Douala there aren't many choices on that standard around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lahcen B, Directeur général at Hotel Palace Bano, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for having taken time to share your opinion and your experience in Bano Palace Hotel. We are pleased as you had a pleasant stay and as you appreciated our hotel services. Hoping to see you soon. Kind regards More

Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Taking into consideration that this is Afica and a very busy city it provides an oasis from the madness only thing I would say is after a few days the menu becomes less inspiring but if you ask for something else they will try to do something. The prices in the bar and restaurant can sometimes be a little eye... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lahcen B, Directeur général at Hotel Palace Bano, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for having taken time to share your opinion and your experience in Bano Palace Hotel. We are pleased as you had a pleasant stay and as you appreciated the service and the quality of the food. Glad to have you as a valuable guest and You are always welcome at Bano Palace. Hoping to see... More

Edinburg, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a nice hotel, considering where it is located. The staff is very helpful and most speak good English. The hotel restaurant served a good meal, and the bar was a good place top relax. The suite was comfortable and clean. The wifi was free, but slow, when it worked. I didn't use the pool, but it looked good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lahcen B, Directeur général at Hotel Palace Bano, responded to this review

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for having taken time to share your opinion and your experience in Bano Palace Hotel. I am pleased as you had a pleasant stay and as you appreciated the service and the quality of the food. My staff and I will keep going to provide our guests with the best of services and quality. Glad... More

POP DR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I recently stayed at the Palace Bano due to the good reviews I had seen. I was happy with the new rooms with minor problems like dripping shower. HOWEVER, the free WiFi was actually no WiFi since it didn't work. When I went to the front desk, the clerk passed me off to the bellman who wasn't any help at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lahcen B, Directeur général at Hotel Palace Bano, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you were disappointed by your experience at Bano Palace Douala. However, I appreciate your feedback and you can be sure that I take all your comments seriously, and will not fail to remedy the bad behaviours of some of my staff both at front desk as well as at the restaurant, while hoping you... More

Bujumbura, Burundi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I spent a night at Bano Palace. It may be short to make a better opinion but my first impression is very good. I experienced the fastest check in ever. Believe me I travel a lot and have been in many hotels. I was so tired as I came from Bertoua (East part of Cameroon). The smiles of the staff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lahcen B, Directeur général at Hotel Palace Bano, responded to this review

Dear Jules, Thank you for having taken time to share your opinion as well as your experience at Bano Palace Hotel. The hotel staff and I are very happy that you have had a pleasant stay in our Hotel and that you enjoyed our services and the food. It was a pleasure to have you among us, and we look... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here following other reviews. Very reasonable price and good value. Food good quality and friendly, helpful staff. Pool was a welcome relief from the humidity. Room was spacious and wifi very welcome (and not available in all hotels). Note: Fitness centre was closed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lahcen B, Directeur général at Hotel Palace Bano, responded to this review

Dear lHawley, Thank you for having taken time to share your opinion and your experience in Bano Palace Hotel. I am as well pleased as you had a pleasant stay and as you appreciated the service and the quality of the food. I wish you a Happy New Year 2014 and promise you that the next time the fitness gym... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A flight was cancelled to Bangui CAR due to problems at the airport there. Ethiopian Air took responsibility for a group of us and sent us to Bano hotel. It was a very pleasant surprise to find it was a good hotel with friendly staff. They dealt with the situation of an unexpected crowd of people, a number of whom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

i stayed here for 12 days in May. The hotel was very clean & comfortable with friendly and attentive staff. Food was good.Nice , small rooftop pool area. Special mention to the staff: stef the security guy,Laurence for the room service,maria in the restaurant. Would def. stay here again if visiting Douala.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It's a decent hotel, very friendly staff and a nice bar. The room I stayed in was decent with a nice balcony and a good view of the city. The street in front of the hotel gets quite busy and noisy some nights, but was not a disturbance. Also, the free wifi actually quite reliable, which is saying a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shenzhen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

1. The restaurant is terrible, slow with overpriced fast-food quality food. The breadfast costs 60000F extra which is bad value for money. There are few choices of food. The fruit and salad are not fresh at all. There are just few choices on the menu, often half on which are not available 2. The restaurant is always noisy with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Palace Bano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Bano

Address: Rue Drouot a Akwa | BP 12449, Douala, Cameroon
Location: Cameroon > Littoral Region > Douala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palace Bano 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palace Bano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hotel Palace Bano