We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ivy Guesthouse

Central Market Street, Before the river on the right, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Ivy Guesthouse
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    36
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
3
31
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Kalmar, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not a very comfortable place to live in as the beds are hard and no warm water in the shower, but for backpackers it is perfect. I stayed here with my backpacker friends in February 2014 for 2 nights and it was nice. Its close to pub street and is very cheap (I think we payed 8 $ per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quaint spot with a great vibe. Friday night is tapas night with all drinks and dishes 1$. Great value for money - you get good food and a delicious variety. Excellent vegetarian choices. Delicious deserts too. Gets very busy - tables are often reserved so either get there early or book a spot for bigger parties.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Let's start with the good: great price, great location, nice atmosphere in the common areas. Loved the chill music playing. Food was good with a large menu. The bad: rooms are old and dingy, foamies on the bed instead of mattresses (gave me the creeps wondering how they possibly kept them clean). Although the food was good, often took a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Room was very grungy with no ac. Windows were cemented over and covered with a very dirty screen. Beds had no mattress just a crappy foam pad, extremely uncomfortable. Staff were helpful at times but not friendly. Restaurant was good, lots of vegetarian options. Rooms are very cheap but no airport transfer, no breakfast. For a bit more money you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Cheap rooms, a bit on the small side, but I'd say worth 13$. The decor was old and worn, however our room did seem quite clean. The water in the shower and taps had a distinct sulphur smell to it. Overall the room is nothing special but the location is very ideal and the A/C in the room was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VannaryIVY, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Hellonmad, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our traditional Khmer house hostel is ageing a little but be restassured that it's super clean and still retains it character. Thanks also for your kind words regarding our staff and restaurant. We pride ourselves on serving delicious meals... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately we arrived and spotted a bed bug straight away. After speaking to a few more visitors, they also had bed bugs. The room was dark, the floors old and creaky on the second floor. Nice vibe in the shared areas. Better off paying a couple more $ on a better place which includes breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VannaryIVY, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our hostel. Unfortunately a problem like this occurs from time to time in the travel industry. We immediately rectified the situation once alerted of the issue and things are back to now back to normal. Thanks for bringing it to our... More 

Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We stayed for three nights and were happy with the service at Ivy after a slightly dubious start. When we were initially shown to our room it was dark and stuffy with hundreds of Mosquitos drifting around and no mosquito net. We spent about 40 minutes killing all the Mosquitos we could find and blocking the passageway under the doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Guest Relations Manager at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thanks for the positive feedback. Sorry about the mosi's but no matter how hard we try to be rid of them , they keep coming back! Thankfully there is no malaria in siem reap, it is just a nuisance. But handled very well on your part,. :) We... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Staff is so nice and helpful, food is excellent, and I have everything I need within 1-5 min walking distance. Pub Street a few min away, still totally quiet here at night. Angkor Temples a bike ride away, rent one here. The restaurant is a great place to be all hours of the day, to eat, read or whatever. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Guest Relations Manager at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hey Jorunn We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. thanks for the great review. Safe travels Dave More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

I arrived late to Ivy and took my reserved a/c room hoping for a good night of sleep. But immediately I wanted to get out of there. The air was stuffy and smelly. The general apperance of the chipped and damaged floor and walls was so dreary and depressing. The bathroom especially. Maybe some might say it wasn't dirty, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VannaryIVY, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Mr Rrrrenter. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very sad that you didn't enjoy your stay with us in our wooden traditional Khmer styled house..All our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and serviced daily (if requested!) although due to the age of our building it may not appear the case. The cool... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I booked Ivy Guesthouse at the recommendation of Lonely Planet, and all my expectations were surpassed. Perfect for backpackers after a cheap, quiet, clean room in a great location- short walk from pub st & markets. A welcome change of pace from some of the other hostels I have stayed at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Alice Thanks for staying at the Ivy & thanks for the great review. Warm Regards Vannary More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities