We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ivy Guesthouse

Central Market Street, Before the river on the right, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Ivy Guesthouse
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
3
31
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was very grungy with no ac. Windows were cemented over and covered with a very dirty screen. Beds had no mattress just a crappy foam pad, extremely uncomfortable. Staff were helpful at times but not friendly. Restaurant was good, lots of vegetarian options. Rooms are very cheap but no airport transfer, no breakfast. For a bit more money you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Cheap rooms, a bit on the small side, but I'd say worth 13$. The decor was old and worn, however our room did seem quite clean. The water in the shower and taps had a distinct sulphur smell to it. Overall the room is nothing special but the location is very ideal and the A/C in the room was an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VannaryIVY, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Hellonmad, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our traditional Khmer house hostel is ageing a little but be restassured that it's super clean and still retains it character. Thanks also for your kind words regarding our staff and restaurant. We pride ourselves on serving delicious meals... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately we arrived and spotted a bed bug straight away. After speaking to a few more visitors, they also had bed bugs. The room was dark, the floors old and creaky on the second floor. Nice vibe in the shared areas. Better off paying a couple more $ on a better place which includes breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VannaryIVY, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very sorry you had an unpleasant experience at our hostel. Unfortunately a problem like this occurs from time to time in the travel industry. We immediately rectified the situation once alerted of the issue and things are back to now back to normal. Thanks for bringing it to our... More 

Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

We stayed for three nights and were happy with the service at Ivy after a slightly dubious start. When we were initially shown to our room it was dark and stuffy with hundreds of Mosquitos drifting around and no mosquito net. We spent about 40 minutes killing all the Mosquitos we could find and blocking the passageway under the doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Guest Relations Manager at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Sarah Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thanks for the positive feedback. Sorry about the mosi's but no matter how hard we try to be rid of them , they keep coming back! Thankfully there is no malaria in siem reap, it is just a nuisance. But handled very well on your part,. :) We... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Staff is so nice and helpful, food is excellent, and I have everything I need within 1-5 min walking distance. Pub Street a few min away, still totally quiet here at night. Angkor Temples a bike ride away, rent one here. The restaurant is a great place to be all hours of the day, to eat, read or whatever. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Guest Relations Manager at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hey Jorunn We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. thanks for the great review. Safe travels Dave More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

I arrived late to Ivy and took my reserved a/c room hoping for a good night of sleep. But immediately I wanted to get out of there. The air was stuffy and smelly. The general apperance of the chipped and damaged floor and walls was so dreary and depressing. The bathroom especially. Maybe some might say it wasn't dirty, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VannaryIVY, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Mr Rrrrenter. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very sad that you didn't enjoy your stay with us in our wooden traditional Khmer styled house..All our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and serviced daily (if requested!) although due to the age of our building it may not appear the case. The cool... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

I booked Ivy Guesthouse at the recommendation of Lonely Planet, and all my expectations were surpassed. Perfect for backpackers after a cheap, quiet, clean room in a great location- short walk from pub st & markets. A welcome change of pace from some of the other hostels I have stayed at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Alice Thanks for staying at the Ivy & thanks for the great review. Warm Regards Vannary More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I had originally booked for two nights at the ivy guesthouse but extended for another 2 as we were very comfortable and happy there. We were able to stay in the same room and the staff were helpful with this. The bar and restaurant attached has amazing food!! $1 tapas night is a must. Location is good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VannaryIvy12, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write a review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope you have a good 2015 Regards Vannary More 

davidperu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here a few days over new year. We booked a double room 10 days in advance and upon arrival were given a twin room with two tiny beds, when I asked about this the girl of the hotel just said that's all there is. Room and toilet had no window and smelt like drains. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VannaryIVY, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello DavidPeru, Thank you for taking the time to right a review. We are extremely sad that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and our apologies if you didn't like our services. The New Year period is a very busy time for us and we are training some new staff at the moment so sometimes there can be some... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Ivy Guesthouse is in a nice quiet part of Siem Riep, the staff are great and we arrived on a Friday it was Tapas Night where the food was awesome and locals eat there However, the room we we in (Deluxe Double with air con) lacked in a few ways. It was clean, good size but the toilet didn't work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VannaryIvy12, Owner at Ivy Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Guys Thanks for the review. Apologies the toilet and door issues weren't resolved during your stay. Have a great 2015 Van More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities