We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    117
    34
    19
    11
See reviews for
1
61
182
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (620)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (170)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (146)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap
See the most recent reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

So I read the reviews and booked this place without hesitation. Best place ever! And its all about the people that create the best experiences you can get: both staff and fellow backpackers. The beach bar was great and the beer pong table kept us entertained thoughout. Location is good too but alil bit too tucked in a small alley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

t was a real pleasure to host you here with us - do find the time to come back and visit us again soon. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

If you're looking for a nice, clean room, this hotel may be a disappointment. Budget single room number 5, which didn't look bad in pictures, was dusty and located by the entrance, a fact that could have been mentioned on the website. Now I didn't expect that cheap room to have everything, but there was absolutely no toiletries and you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry the room was not cleaned to an acceptable standard, we do have toiletries available and had you of informed us we would have been happy to clean your room again and provide you with more toiletries. I have passed your issue to the rooms management team today to ensure we do a better job in... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014 via mobile

This place is very sociable great if you are travelling on your own. A little expensive but worth it. Stayed here for 4 nights. Also do the social booze cruise great value, great view, meet good people. Say hi to Elliot and he will make sure you have fun

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - i am delighted you enjoyed your time here, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

So after staying in koh rong this was just what I needed. Nice clean accommodation with hot showers and flushing toilets. I really enjoyed my stay here. The bed was big and super comfortable. The staff are so so so friendly. Had a nice evening drinking and making the most of the happy hour whilst meeting some great people. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have you stay here we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

It s easy to meet people there, hang out at the rooftop together or go swimming in the pool. It s just a 5 minutes walk to the pub street and the city center. I recommend to rent a bicycle in the hostel to explore the temples by yourself!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Dear guest! Thanks for your lovely fantastic review! Do come back and visit us soon! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This hostel was recommended by a friend so we were looking forward to a nice private room with comfort as we had paid a little extra than our previous stay in siem reap. Unfortunately we were disappointed by our room, as bathroom dirty, rusty and cold brown water. There were refurbishments in a room opposite and staff did not tell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - We are pleased you had a blast is always good! Sometimes its the guest that ensures that they have a good time just as much as the staff and you were an awesome guest! Thanks again come back soon - we miss you! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

stayed at this property as well as the one in Phnom Penh. the facilities were great and staff friendly, overall a nice young hip vibe. the pool was a great spot to relax to cope with the heat especially after the long day touring the temples. the Beach Bar on the roof is a really cool idea complete with sand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - it really helps us and we always listen to our customer. All of our management team check this 2-3 times a day - thanks for the feedback and we are happy you loved it here. Thanks again! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Bunkrooms are much too large at 20+ beds. Too much opportunity for returning drunks and other intoxicated inconsiderate to disturb others. The swimming pool and roof top sand bar are on the other hand a fantastic addition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Thank you kind guest for your awesome review! We really would like to thank you for supporting us. Your spend with us creates a major difference here in Cambodia. Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel. More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Really enjoyed our few nights in Mad Monkey! Staff were brilliant - some of the most professional we've had along our travels in Asia! Hostel food is really good (both western and Asian!) but you may be waiting a while! The pool and rooftop bar are great places to meet other people and your within walking distance of pub street!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - it was really kind of you. We loved having you here and want to say please come back soon. Thanks again for staying at our socially responsible hostel. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

After reading great reviews, we decided to stay the mad monkey hostel and it didn't disappoint. The pool and roof top beach bar were great and all staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that our bathroom door in our dorm didn't shut properly which was sometimes a problem when other people were in the room, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap, responded to this review

Dear Guest - It was an absolute delight having you stay here with our team at The Mad Monkey. We wish you the very best for your onward trip :-) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap

Address: No19, Mondul 2 | Khoum Svay Dangkom, Siem Reap 0011, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

165 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay