We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Queen Guesthouse

House No: 421, Sivutha Boulevarde, Sangkat Svay Dangkum | Siem Reap, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
River Queen Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
River Queen Guesthouse
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
22
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at The River Queen for four nights, and we were so happy we did! The room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The location of the guesthouse is great, it's a very short walk to all the action. However, what really makes this place so great are the kind, welcoming staff and owners. We felt very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Expat1963, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

So glad that you had a relaxing stay with us. We really appreciate your positive comments about our staff and will let them know what a good job they are doing. It's always a pleasure to have lovely, friendly guests and we enjoyed your time at River Queen Guesthouse. Have a continued good holiday and we would love to see... More

Boonah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

a home away from Home, from the moment I arrived to the moment I left( 1 Month) Richard and Alex could not do enough to make you feel welcome and wanted at Their Guesthouse, their staff were lovely. Breakfast suited me well. I will stay there next time( so watch out fellas ) They arranged my Trip to Phnom Penh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Expat1963, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Loved having you stay with us. Great company, great guest and great review. Thank you so much. More

Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Great value for a big, clean room with internet, cable TV, air conditioning nice breakfast included. Stayed 10 nights. Location was perfect 5 minute walk to restaurants and shopping. Owners/hosts Alex and Richard were informative, helpful, and wonderful. Stairs were a bit steep for me. I was able to locate to a ground floor room. Bathroom was spacious, but bc... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander K, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear from you after such a long time. We haven't forgotten your wonderful smiling face and bubbly personality:). Thanks for giving us a great review. The bathroom issue in R1 (this is the only room where the drainage connects directly to the local stormwater drain) has been fixed since your stay. The council re-laid pipes early this... More

Phan Thiet, Vietnam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

It´s a great place to stay visiting Siem Riep and Angkor. The place is really nice, clean, nice helpful staff. I think it really deserves to be a hotel and not a guesthouse. We stayed there for three nights and were happy to spend a lot of time in it taking a rest from a long Cambodian road. Definitely recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander K, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your really positive review. We try our best to provide quality service and your positive comments reflect that we are able to do so with the help of our great staff. We are trying hard to maintain and improve both our service and our rooms to ensure that all guests have a relaxed and enjoyable stay. Your... More

Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was my second time in Siem Reap and in River Queen. Owners have done some improvements to the roof-top area and made this guest house even more comfortable. They organised my airport pick-up, tours to the Angkor Wat temples with the same tuk-tuk driver as last time and bus tickets for Phnom Penh. Very comfortable bed and room is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexander K, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

We love having return guests and as always enjoyed your company. We are pleased that you appreciated our service and amenities and are glad this helped make your stay in Siem Reap pleasurable. Yes the rooftop garden and jacuzzies are not only relaxing, but a fantastic way to wind down after a hot day touring. We will be doing more... More

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Made a booking for River View for a five-day stay. This included a free airport pickup. Landed at Siem Reap at 8:40pm. No sign of a pick till I stopped looking around 9:30 when I took an airport taxi at my expense to River Queen. On entering the guesthouse I asked one of the co-owners as to what happened to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Expat1963, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Well we are at least glad that you found the bathroom and breakfast to your liking. The driver you claimed was not there is not only one of our most reliable drivers, he is mentioned many times on other guest reviews as being very helpful, knowledgeable and reliable (Mr Thy) but rang me at 8.30pm to let me know he... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

River queen guest house is very well situated. Seriously 5 minute away from bustling pub street and yet the surroundings of the house are very quiet. The room and bathroom are decorated with taste and very clean, the room was done every day. The only minor drawback is maybe the lack of light in the room. At night it get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Expat1963, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for a lovely review guys. We really enjoyed your stay with us and were glad to be of help. We do admit that our choice of lighting was based upon aesthetics rather than functionality, but have already started to replace lighting in the rooms as you suggested. Getting constructive criticism is always welcome and we try and act upon... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stayed for about a fortnight at River Queen after paying much more for a four star hotle and enjoyed River Queen much more, at half the cost. The staff are great and the owners can organise anything for you. They were amazing and allowed me to come back to the hotel and hang around all day after my travel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Expat1963, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

It's great to get such a wonderful review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We really appreciate the positive feedback on our staff, they are a great team and we will ensure that they are told how happy you were with their service. We know what it's like to have your travel plans go awry... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I arranged for a one-way airport pick-up for $5 and arrived in less than 15 minutes. The room was ready when I arrived at 9:00a.m. and the part-owner, Richard even offered me breakfast. I was given a room with balcony, fronting the river. Linens/towels were changed and toiletries were supplied daily. He and his assitant, Pro arranged for my temple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Expat1963, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you found our service helpful and that you were pleased with your room. We are more than happy to assist our guests in anyway possible especially when they are as friendly and polite as you were. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see... More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I spend alot of time checking out hotels online before we book and were really impressed when we saw how highly rated this hotel was on alot of websites. While we've been in SEA we've been staying in places for about £5 but for Siem Reap we thought we'd get somewhere a bit nicer and were happy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Expat1963, Owner at River Queen Guesthouse, responded to this review

We are truly sorry you did not your experience enjoyable as most of our other guests do. As you mentioned we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel and were as upset as you that you were given stained sheets. You mentioned that the staff member when told did not seem to care - but he immediately changed... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to River Queen Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Queen Guesthouse

Address: House No: 421, Sivutha Boulevarde, Sangkat Svay Dangkum | Siem Reap, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your River Queen Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near River Queen Guesthouse

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby