We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 340 Siem Reap B&Bs / inns

European Guesthouse

#0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Huge September Savings!
Save Saved
You added European Guesthouse to your Saves list
European Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
83%
Ranked #87 of 340 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
jhebs New York City, New York
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    47
    12
    8
    0
See reviews for
7
23
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night, the place is far from the pubstreet, and its not safe to walk alone. Tuktuk rates from hotel to pubstreet and back is 4$, european staffs are rude like i ask her to book me the earliest trip to sihanoukville and she told me its closed but when another guest ask to book her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the European Guesthouse for two nights; I was in the dorm room with fans for $3. Air-con is available for a dollar or so more, but I was counting my pennies. The room was pleasant enough though, and HOT showers are available (which is always a plus on the SE Asia guesthouse trail). The main patio/lounge area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the very nice review. I enjoy speaking to the guests and hearing about travel plans. First time to hear about a lady hitch hiking over Afghanistan. Well done. Anyway we try our best to make this a nice place. We will never be the Hilton and dont want to be but we can always help... More

Batanbang
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is 10 minutes walking from the central market and two minutes if you take a tuk-tuk, the owner of the place is very nice and also the stuff are very friendly. For me the best was the huge terrace around the bar where you cam chill out, have dinner etc..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the review. The fan dorm is kind of basic but we try to keep a balance so that we have a budget option for travellers who want it. I could make it air conditioned but then it would be more expensive. Anyway hope you enjoy the rest of your SE Asia experience. Viva Espagne. :)... More

Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The garden in front is a pleasant place to sit and talk about your day. The only improvement we have is that the air conditioner didn't seem strong enough. Yes, it cooled, but not enough. We were in room #1.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to do the review. We do try and keep things as relaxed and simple as possible. I note your comment about the AC. We have had a look at this and you are correct the filter is a little bit clogged. Sorry about that. We have a maintenance contract for all of... More

Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything on the listing was accurate. Very friendly. Don't be put off by the dirt/mud side street, the place is clean and a wonderful experience. Set up a great day trip for us with Ponloue Hip to see 4 temples in the area. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the review. It is a good point about the road. It is actually difficult here to find out who exactly is responsible for the road's upkeep and this makes it difficult to get anything done. As the traffic gets heavier it has a knock on effect on the state of the road. However the infrastructure... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a single room. Very large room with ac and tv. Some very nice guests and a laid back vibe. Has a great little bar and restaurant with some nice meals. Pros: Cheap, quiet and friendly staff. Cons: None really, except my room never got cleaned during my 4 night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your very nice review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you had a problem getting the room cleaned. We have had an in house chat about this and decided that we need to change our process to avoid this happening again. Without making excuses sometimes guests want the... More

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelling solo, I was desperately in need of some people to talk to when I got to Siem Reap. It was very easy to meet fellow travellers at European Guesthouse. I got a clean, comfortable double room with good ac and a fan. I ended up extending my stay there. Only minus is that the Lonely Planet said breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your very nice review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. I note your comment about the Lonely Planet guidebook. Unfortunately once it is printed there is no way can make any changes. We used to give a free breakfast. However costs are rising... More

Massarosa, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I spent 5 nights in a twin room for single occupancy. I only have nice comments about this guesthouse. Friendly staff, nice chill-out area, very clean and spacious room. You have all the comforts at a reasonable place. Also had all my breakfast there and it was lovely all served with a warm smile. I would definitely go back there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you very much for your kind review. The staff try very hard to get things right and it is very nice when I can show them reviews like this. Please come again and good luck with the rest of your travels. All the Best Murray More

San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I switched to European after getting dumped at some guesthouse the tuk tuk driver at the bus station made a commission off of. I have to say that I am forever grateful that I did! Immediately upon arriving, I met the owner, Murray, and had a lovely chat with him about his involvement in the community (as this is one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your very nice review. I will share this with the staff who will be delighted. We genuinely try to get things right. We also appreciate that people are far from home and when any problems arise medical or otherwise we do feel that we have a certain responsibility to help. You were part of a... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Friendly helpful staff with a good sized quiet room but our air-con was broken (we still had a fan which wasn't very good) - but we were told that we should have let them know the air-con wasn't working so they could fix it. The area was a 15 minute walk from the centre of Siem reap or a $2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there First of all thank you for your review. I am sorry we have taken a little bit of time to reply however I wanted to make sure I had the facts since you have a number of negative comments. First of all your air con was not broken. When you checked out and reported that you had a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage European Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Siem Reap with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
European Guesthouse is a cosy, clean and affordable guesthouse located in the backpackers' heart of Siem Reap - surrounded by vibrant Cambodian culture and enriched with magnificent temples and ancient history. Conveniently located in the popular Wat Bo area just a 10 minute walk from Pub Street. Whether you are looking for an adventure or just a place to unwind after long days in the temples, there is a friendly ambiance at the European Guesthouse. The bar is a popular hang-out place where you will meet other travelers as well as expats and long-term volunteers. Here you will have the chance to read a book, whilst you enjoy an ice-cold beer or a refreshing fruit shake. For those who want to go and see the spectacular sunrises at the Angkor temples, both bicycles, motos and tuk-tuks can be arranged, and breakfast can be prepared for you to go. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from European Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer