We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

European Guesthouse

Certificate of Excellence
#0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
European Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    64
    21
    11
    1
See reviews for
11
39
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (185)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked this hostel so much we went back to stay again for our final night before flying home. The staff a extremely friendly and very keep to make sure your stay is a good one. We stayed in two different three bed rooms, with two large beds and a rickety camp bed, presumably moved around the hostel according to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rooms are a bit run-down, but still okay. During our stay, our room didn't get cleaned and towels were only changed upon request. Wifi did not work in the room, only around the reception. Convenient location. Nice small pool to cool down in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review. Just to clarify a few points. The guesthouse was closed for the whole month of May to renovate and decorate all of the rooms. I am not sure what you mean by run down. We renovate very year. One of the problems of Trip Advisor is that we never actually know when the guest... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

The guesthouse itself is actually nice. Good sized room, pool is really good for a cool down even though only waist deep. Found it easy to meet and talk to people there, however...we had a few issues starting immediately from the really late pick up from the bus we'd been on from Kampot for the day. We had a fair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review. I should probably just stop at the bit that says "the guesthouse is actually nice". We provide a free pick up service that is very popular and we pick up loads of people every day. This normally works very well. The pool is new and was designed to be as something of a luxury... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The staff here, despite not speaking much English, go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and help in any way they can. There is a good atmosphere and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We had few problems like the wifi not working in the rooms and the laundry taking 1 and a half days to return.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the review which was generally positive. However there were a few areas that you commented on which I think need to be clarified a little bit. We have guests coming who rely on trip advisor and I as the owner have to make sure that they get a realistic view. Out of our 5 reception staff... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

The staff here are great. Always greeted with a smile and the manager is a really friendly and helpful member of staff. The pool is clean and refreshing and the breakfasts are yummy! Only a short walk into town or $1 tuk tuk to Pub Street. The room and bathroom are clean and comfortable. Only issue is the poor connection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the very nice review. We have made some changes to the European with the new pool and we are very glad that this has not changed the overall relaxed mood of the place. We have also been working with our internet provider to try and stabilise the WIFI. We have increased the bandwidth and replaced all... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

This spot is a really great value for money! It's a bit far out to feel that night life is easy to get to as a solo female, but it's quite busy so there's always someone to go with! And there's tuktuk drivers outside who are really friendly and with the same guys everyday it's a bit easier to trust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for the very nice review. We recently closed for a month to renovate and to add the pool. I am really glad that you liked it. Also delighted to hear your comments about the Tuk Tuks , staff and food. We have a policy with our staff of bringing in youngsters with no experience and training... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We stayed at European Guesthouse for a couple of days and the staff, especially Sokert, the manager was very helpful and accommodating arranging our trip to Angkor and our travel onward and also our lovely and efficient tuk-tuk driver Sovann, who works for the guesthouse.The new pool was a great relief after a sweltering day at Angkor Wat and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray561, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the kind review. I pass all of the reservations on to the staff so they will enjoy this one. Glad you liked the pool. This is a new thing for us and we were all a bit nervous but things have turned out well. Safe travelling. We hope to see you again some time. The European... More 

Between Siemreap and Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Euro GH was highly recommend by the founder of an NGO, I stayed here for almost 6 months, in Private room and AC Dorm. After staying few nights in PP in a small GH, I didn't expect anything. But when I arrive here. I met this amazing staff: friendly, polite, helpful... (there are so many words to qualify them). All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murray561, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review with such nice comments about the staff. I will post this one on the notice board so that everyone can see. The renovations are now finished and we are slowly getting opened again. Got some great pictures to put on the web site and Facebook in... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I stayed for five nights in the European Guesthouse, in the AC dorm for six. The dorm is nice but the service you get for it is extraordinary! Even though it's only 6$/night, you get a free pick-up from the airport (by tuk tuk). The staff is always very friendly and helpful, and the Guesthouse supports social projects in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you very much for the nice review. We were glad to help you with your glasses. We note the comments about the air conditioner. We are in the middle of our annual closedown and renovation gap so we will have all of the air cons serviced. Sometimes they just get a little clogged and don't work as... More 

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. They have tuk tuk tour if you want to book in advance to see the temples around, which is 15 - 18 USD/trip, which is reasonable. The room is clean and tidy, however you don't have your own fridge so can't keep food or even keep the drink cold in your room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the review. We are very glad that you were happy with your stay. We note the comment about the fridge in the room. We have thought about upgrading the rooms before but we have decided that most people are on a tight budget and adding this kind of thing will make our rooms more expensive.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Siem Reap Green Home Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Velkommen Guesthouse Siem Reap
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#65 of 403 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bun Kao Guesthouse
Bun Kao Guesthouse
#92 of 403 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Eco Resort Siem Reap
Paradise Eco Resort Siem Reap
#231 of 403 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cashew Nut Guest House
The Cashew Nut Guest House
#53 of 403 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay