We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

European Guesthouse

#0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
European Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
European Guesthouse
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    48
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
7
27
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Isla Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a refreshing hostel! Is is small but very homely and the staff were beyond nice. After a long day at the temples, this is exactly the type of place you want to come back to. The hostel is run by an English lady and a couple of locals. All speak very good english and are helpful. Stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there 3 nights while visiting Angkor. We chose it because of the price, it was really cheap. We found that there was no mirror in the bathroom when we arrived so we told Nicole and it was fixed really quicky. Nicole the owner was very nice and helpful all the time. There is a local staff at the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here last week during our visit to Siem Reap and were very impressed. The guesthouse provided a free tuk-tuk pickup at the airport, a great introduction to Cambodia! Our room was spacious and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The garden area was a lovely area to hang out in -- we spent a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your great review. If we did reviews of our guests you would be up there with the best. It is so nice to have people here who really just want to have a wonderful time and make the most of what is available. See everything. Try everything. Even spiders!! I hope you enjoy the rest... More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. We got a bus Phnom Penh to Siem Reap. On arrival at the Siem Reap bus station European Guesthouse had a tuk tuk waiting for us to drop us to the accommodation free of charge which was great! The room was cleaned everyday. There was a lovely garden area to chill out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the very nice review. I always think that we get the best of both worlds here. If you want to have a quiet afternoon reading or whatever no problem. If you want to party pub street is 15 minutes away but when you have had enough you can come back to where it is quiet... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second stay at the European and will stay here any time in Siem Reap. Staff are fantastic friendliest we have found , food was great and the downstairs sitting bar area is the most relaxing. Great rooms , close to Pub Street Give it a try you will not be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for such a great review. I like to pass these on to the staff who take a great pride in what they do. It it always great when they are appreciated. So you can come again !! Safe Travelling Murray and the Team More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I stayed here for one night, the place is far from the pubstreet, and its not safe to walk alone. Tuktuk rates from hotel to pubstreet and back is 4$, european staffs are rude like i ask her to book me the earliest trip to sihanoukville and she told me its closed but when another guest ask to book her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

I note your review and the staff remember you being here. I think you will be aware that you have either described things a little inaccurately or missed a few facts out. So I will try and get this right. The European is 10 - 15 minutes walk to the town side. I don't consider that far however that is... More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I stayed at the European Guesthouse for two nights; I was in the dorm room with fans for $3. Air-con is available for a dollar or so more, but I was counting my pennies. The room was pleasant enough though, and HOT showers are available (which is always a plus on the SE Asia guesthouse trail). The main patio/lounge area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the very nice review. I enjoy speaking to the guests and hearing about travel plans. First time to hear about a lady hitch hiking over Afghanistan. Well done. Anyway we try our best to make this a nice place. We will never be the Hilton and dont want to be but we can always help... More

Batanbang
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

This hostel is 10 minutes walking from the central market and two minutes if you take a tuk-tuk, the owner of the place is very nice and also the stuff are very friendly. For me the best was the huge terrace around the bar where you cam chill out, have dinner etc..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the review. The fan dorm is kind of basic but we try to keep a balance so that we have a budget option for travellers who want it. I could make it air conditioned but then it would be more expensive. Anyway hope you enjoy the rest of your SE Asia experience. Viva Espagne. :)... More

Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The garden in front is a pleasant place to sit and talk about your day. The only improvement we have is that the air conditioner didn't seem strong enough. Yes, it cooled, but not enough. We were in room #1.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for taking the time to do the review. We do try and keep things as relaxed and simple as possible. I note your comment about the AC. We have had a look at this and you are correct the filter is a little bit clogged. Sorry about that. We have a maintenance contract for all of... More

Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Everything on the listing was accurate. Very friendly. Don't be put off by the dirt/mud side street, the place is clean and a wonderful experience. Set up a great day trip for us with Ponloue Hip to see 4 temples in the area. Couldn't have been better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the review. It is a good point about the road. It is actually difficult here to find out who exactly is responsible for the road's upkeep and this makes it difficult to get anything done. As the traffic gets heavier it has a knock on effect on the state of the road. However the infrastructure... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay