We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 331 Siem Reap B&Bs / inns

European Guesthouse

#0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Groups and Families
Save Saved
You added European Guesthouse to your Saves list
European Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
83%
Ranked #92 of 331 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
federica117 Massarosa, Italy
  • Reviews (113)
  • Photos (33)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    45
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
6
22
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Massarosa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 5 nights in a twin room for single occupancy. I only have nice comments about this guesthouse. Friendly staff, nice chill-out area, very clean and spacious room. You have all the comforts at a reasonable place. Also had all my breakfast there and it was lovely all served with a warm smile. I would definitely go back there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you very much for your kind review. The staff try very hard to get things right and it is very nice when I can show them reviews like this. Please come again and good luck with the rest of your travels. All the Best Murray More

San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I switched to European after getting dumped at some guesthouse the tuk tuk driver at the bus station made a commission off of. I have to say that I am forever grateful that I did! Immediately upon arriving, I met the owner, Murray, and had a lovely chat with him about his involvement in the community (as this is one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your very nice review. I will share this with the staff who will be delighted. We genuinely try to get things right. We also appreciate that people are far from home and when any problems arise medical or otherwise we do feel that we have a certain responsibility to help. You were part of a... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly helpful staff with a good sized quiet room but our air-con was broken (we still had a fan which wasn't very good) - but we were told that we should have let them know the air-con wasn't working so they could fix it. The area was a 15 minute walk from the centre of Siem reap or a $2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there First of all thank you for your review. I am sorry we have taken a little bit of time to reply however I wanted to make sure I had the facts since you have a number of negative comments. First of all your air con was not broken. When you checked out and reported that you had a... More

Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The place is cool, have wifi everywhere and the staff is friendly. The big problem is that the dorm, during the morning and day, is VERY hot! You wake up at 8 o'clock in the morning sweating. The restaurant prices are not friendlies.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the review. However I think you are being a little bit misleading and I think you are aware of this. You opted to go for the budget fan dorm. We told you that outside the cool season the fan dorm is going to be warm and for an extra $1.50 per night you can sleep... More

Ostrava, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Really nice guest house with good restaurant. Very cheap. Hotel is very near to centre of siem reap. I was in dormitory room and price 5$ is realy nice. If i going to siem reap again european guest house is the perfect choice

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you very much for your very nice review. It is always very nice to have a happy guest. I hope the rest of your holiday goes well and maybe we will see you again sometime. All the best Murray More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room was very clean as were the toilets, showers and bar area. The staff were really nice and helpful. Happy to talk to you about your trip, help you plan things or just give advice. They all speak English so there are no communications issues and you can get some really good info from them. I opted for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your very nice review. We always advise that guests take a Tuk Tuk pick up as it gets their stay off to a good start with no hassle. And we also recommend that guests use the Tuk Tuk s for temple visits. The drivers can help you organise your time to make sure that you... More

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Clean spacious rooms, reliable wifi, friendly and helpful staff. Last but not least a really nice traveller vibe. All your needs are covered here and the staff are happy to sort you out with whatever you need, without being intrusive or pushy. Good location, with tuktuks right outside and bike rental onsite. Great value for your money. Would definitely visit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the review. I always enjoy being in the European when we are a little busy as it is great to watch all of the different nationalities and age groups getting on so well. Very pleasant atmosphere for the guests and also for our staff who respond very well to happy guests. Cambodia is that kind of... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are really friendly and helpful. They are happy to arrange tours and tuk tuks for you without being pushy, and they also have cheap bikes for hire. The room was clean and quiet, with fantastic air con! The pizzas are a little pricey, however they are really tasty, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for the very nice review. If we have a mission at all here it is just to keep things as simple as we can and let guests and staff just relax. I note your comment about pizza prices. Unfortunately most of the things we need to make these are imported so it is a bit of... More

Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Yet again, for the second year in a row, this guesthouse is THE ONLY place to stay in Siem. Perfect quiet location, the most brilliant staff you'll ever meet, friendly, helpful beyond the call of the duty. Home from home. The carbonaras are damn good too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear TravellerWicker Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It brought a big smile to the faces of all the team at European Guesthouse. If we can make you feel like you are at a home away from home then we are definitely doing our jobs. Great to hear you enjoyed the Carbonara's :). Safe Travels and Hope to... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Initially we had stayed a couple of days over the road at 'happy guesthouse'. After they wouldn't let us know if we could stay an extra night we looked elsewhere and tried the European guest house. Straight away they confirmed they had a night available and we reserved the room, the staff where friendly and when we arrived the next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murray_Macmillan, Manager at European Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sam L, Thank your for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Please note with bus collection this is something included in the price of the bus ticket when you purchase it i.e. it is offered by the bus company who you are travelling with. It is not something that is in our control but the staff will always make... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage European Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Siem Reap with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
European Guesthouse is a cosy, clean and affordable guesthouse located in the backpackers' heart of Siem Reap - surrounded by vibrant Cambodian culture and enriched with magnificent temples and ancient history. Conveniently located in the popular Wat Bo area just a 10 minute walk from Pub Street. Whether you are looking for an adventure or just a place to unwind after long days in the temples, there is a friendly ambiance at the European Guesthouse. The bar is a popular hang-out place where you will meet other travelers as well as expats and long-term volunteers. Here you will have the chance to read a book, whilst you enjoy an ice-cold beer or a refreshing fruit shake. For those who want to go and see the spectacular sunrises at the Angkor temples, both bicycles, motos and tuk-tuks can be arranged, and breakfast can be prepared for you to go. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from European Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer