We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Absecon hotels

Royal Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   553 E Absecon Blvd, Absecon, NJ 08201
Hotel amenities
Royal Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Absecon
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    5
    27
See reviews for
12
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

After a long flight we wanted a place near the shore. It wasn't elegant but the staff was very eager to please and it really worked out well - especially for the price. Don't count on the breakfast though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We paid 280.00 for 2 day rental 1 room double bed x2, on 8.9&10 14. live roachs on the walls & Floor but since we checked in 5:00pm office was closed more live roachs Plumbing Poor mangement Stay Away

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

HORRIBLE confusion upon ck in..owner nasty and wanted to charge us more and in the end that would have been 30% sales tax on what he could not even eplain. Called expedia and they said he should not have charged more just walk out as nothing on the credit card. DO NOT give that info as dont trust them. we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Berwick, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was the worse motel I have ever encountered. We were renting 3 rooms (7/03/14), but spent less than 2 minutes in each one. It appeared to have feces on the bathroom wall, tubs were dirty, toilets filthy. One bed looked as if it had been slept in. Red looking bug on the top by pillow, possible bed bug. All... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Booked the room on line, photos looked very nice at such a cheap rate. Forgot to bring receipt of confirmation with me. Called manager thursday to confirm saturdays booking, he said "I see you in the system just come in on saturday." Arrived saturday. Not only did he not have me in his system, he was rude, said its my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Long island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This place is pure garbage. The staff is by far the worst I've ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Honestly I have never been treated with such disrespect its troubling that they're even still in business. The manger bob is just down right nasty. I called about 10 times to speak to him and I was hung up on,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed. I called for a one night stay and they stated the price was 129.00. When I got there it was increased to 199.00. The service was terrible. Owner stated I could check in by 11:00pm I was there at 10:45am and I could an extra bed. I wasn't able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marietta, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The person that wrote the review on September 1 must be one of the staff. There is no way someone would think this was a great place. The last good review they got was in 2007 until the one from Sept 1, 2013. This place was horrible. Friends of ours booked this place. Never again! The carpet was so dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Parlin, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lodge and it was very pleasant. The owner is very nice and was very considerate to our needs. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from Atlantic City. So if your looking for a hotel that is reasonable I recommend that you stay at the Royal Lodge. Eleonora C.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

Eleanor, thank you for this thoughtful review. I appreciate you mentioning that I did my very best to make sure that you were taken care of during your stay. Thanks for spreading the word about us! Next time you're back in Atlantic City, our door is always open. Until then, Baldev Patel, Owner More

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First off, I read the reviews before coming to this motel and was expecting bad but not this bad...This place had to have been the worst place I have ever stayed at! We got to the door and the window of the room was wide open, we couldn't even enter the room with our key so we decided to crawl... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about this. When you arrived at your room, did you let our staff know that the key didn't work and that the room wasn't cleaned? We would have promptly issued you a clean room—you definitely shouldn't have to sleep in a place where you feel uncomfortable. This is inexcusable. Above all, our guests' happiness comes... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lodge

Address: 553 E Absecon Blvd, Absecon, NJ 08201
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Absecon

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay