We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Absecon hotels

Royal Lodge

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   553 E Absecon Blvd, Absecon, NJ 08201
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Lodge to your Saves list
Royal Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
9%
Ranked #24 of 24 hotels in Absecon
  • Overview
  • Reviews (32)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    5
    24
See reviews for
8
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the room on line, photos looked very nice at such a cheap rate. Forgot to bring receipt of confirmation with me. Called manager thursday to confirm saturdays booking, he said "I see you in the system just come in on saturday." Arrived saturday. Not only did he not have me in his system, he was rude, said its my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Long island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This place is pure garbage. The staff is by far the worst I've ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Honestly I have never been treated with such disrespect its troubling that they're even still in business. The manger bob is just down right nasty. I called about 10 times to speak to him and I was hung up on,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed. I called for a one night stay and they stated the price was 129.00. When I got there it was increased to 199.00. The service was terrible. Owner stated I could check in by 11:00pm I was there at 10:45am and I could an extra bed. I wasn't able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marietta, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The person that wrote the review on September 1 must be one of the staff. There is no way someone would think this was a great place. The last good review they got was in 2007 until the one from Sept 1, 2013. This place was horrible. Friends of ours booked this place. Never again! The carpet was so dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Parlin, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Lodge and it was very pleasant. The owner is very nice and was very considerate to our needs. The hotel is about 10 minutes away from Atlantic City. So if your looking for a hotel that is reasonable I recommend that you stay at the Royal Lodge. Eleonora C.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

Eleanor, thank you for this thoughtful review. I appreciate you mentioning that I did my very best to make sure that you were taken care of during your stay. Thanks for spreading the word about us! Next time you're back in Atlantic City, our door is always open. Until then, Baldev Patel, Owner More

Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First off, I read the reviews before coming to this motel and was expecting bad but not this bad...This place had to have been the worst place I have ever stayed at! We got to the door and the window of the room was wide open, we couldn't even enter the room with our key so we decided to crawl... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about this. When you arrived at your room, did you let our staff know that the key didn't work and that the room wasn't cleaned? We would have promptly issued you a clean room—you definitely shouldn't have to sleep in a place where you feel uncomfortable. This is inexcusable. Above all, our guests' happiness comes... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

.upon arriving there were kids with their toys playing in front of the office door which was locked you had to ring a buzzer to get in. Asked if we could see our room first.. he told us to go one way and he went another and would meet us there but not before telling us that if we cancelled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

Cindy, I'm sorry to hear about your rather disappointing experience with us. Above all, our guests' happiness and well-being is always top of mind, so this review raises a red flag. I apologize if you thought the first room we showed you was untidy. I can promise you we take cleanliness very seriously — we've passed every health code test... More

Pennsville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If your looking for a cheap place this is it ,First you must know there is a sign in the office that state " NO REFUND" ten minutes after we hand you the key ! every extra hour past checkout time is $10.00 per hour. We had a Jr jacuzzi suite. First we couldn't even unlock the door the motels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

I apologize for just now getting back with you, but I wanted to respond to this review personally. I'm sorry you were so disappointed with us. Above all, we want our guests to have an enjoyable and relaxing stay, so the fact that you had such an unpleasant experience raises a red flag. Did you let us know that your... More

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The only thing I could say that the owner try to be helpful but he dose not realize that the place ( I can not call it Hotel or Motel ) need to be turn down and rebuild it again .....There is nothing in the room and what we had in the room did not work ...I could say they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Ali. While I appreciate you mentioning that I was trying to be helpful, I'm sorry you were so disappointed during your visit. Did you let us know about your WiFi or that nothing in your bathroom was working? We would have been happy to assist you or help you switch rooms. I... More

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I took my family to this place on 5/17/13. I should have just walked out when I was watching the drug head learn how to check people in. When we went to our room OMG. Nasty I wouldnt let my dog stay there. Smelled like urin the sheets had dirt and hair all over them. The ceiling had food or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Baldev P, Owner at Royal Lodge, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had such a poor experience with us. I would have responded sooner, but I'm just now seeing this review. I'm not sure who you were referring to during your check-in process, but I can promise you we don't allow drugs of any kind at our hotel. We also take cleanliness very seriously, so I want to apologize... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lodge

Address: 553 E Absecon Blvd, Absecon, NJ 08201
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Royal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Absecon

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are in town on vacation or are stopping through for business, the Royal Lodge provides a friendly and inviting retreat for you and your family. We offer an affordable, pet-friendly and personalized alternative to larger chain hotels in the area. Situated near the Atlantic City Boardwalk Hall, the Convention Center, and the Steel Pier, as well as countless shops and restaurants, our location is hard to beat! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

See which rooms travelers prefer