We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Kasane B&Bs / inns

The Old House

President Avenue | Between Hunters Mall and the Golf course, Kasane, Botswana
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old House to your Saves list
The Old House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
92%
Ranked #1 of 2 Kasane B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
ole H Entebbe, Uganda
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Entebbe, Uganda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stopped just for one night on our way to Zambia Very friendly staff good food in the restaurant. The wifi worked very well and we had a morning walk to the river The early checkout did not go so well. The manager was late. can be recommended and we wi come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke R, Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review and kind remarks. We are only a B&B with a resturant so therefore do not have a 24hr reception for the early check outs like the big hotels that are very expensive. We advise that if you need an early check out please settle the night before and we will even do a packed breakfast... More

Seattle
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All the previous reviews are correct, this place is a great value. Wonderfully clean, well kept with attention to detail. Good color scheme, and artist drawings on walls in odd places. We took shuttle bus Maun to Nata, and waited at connivence store stop with picnic tables 1:15 for a connecting shuttle on to Kasane. If staying at Old House,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the great review and look forward to the Lady Traveler in Kasane back one day. More

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are Canadians who stayed at the Old House, Kasane, in February, 2014, with friends who live in Botswana. They had stayed there before and we had also become aware of it because of the positive comments on Trip Advisor. Our next destination was to be Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, but hotels are expensive there and Kasane is only about an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We loved this guesthouse! After staying several days in a hostel in Livingstone, we found this place a little slice of heaven! The rooms were clean, reasonably priced, and decorated very nicely. The shower pressure was very good which was so refreshing after having a horrible shower at the hostel! The restaurant served very good food for every meal and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the wonderful review, we all enjoyed having you stay with us. Wish you all the best and safe travels. More

Orem, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed at The Old House in October 2013, but better late than never for a review. This is a great place to stay in Kasane -- very reasonable prices and a lovely atmosphere with the quaint guesthouses and lush vegetation leading down to the restaurant and volleyball/small pool area back by the Chobe River. Overall the staff was extremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

We do hope that you will return to Kasane one day again and ensure that you game drives will be as good or even better when you return. Many thanks for the kind review. More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I've been to Kasane twice and its one of my favorite places in the world. One of my best memories was the burgers at The Old House. The service was great, the atmosphere was chilled. and the food was awesome. Never stayed there but will recommend in as a spot to eat. You need to book for dinner however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I loved the Old House. It is more of a 'backpackers' destination than a luxury lodge, but great none the less. I stayed with my husband, our two boys (11 and 8 at the time) and two friends in October 2012. Very helpful, friendly staff ( they advised and lent us equipment for our self-drive trip to Zimbabwe), the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that even on your second visit you still thoroughly enjoyed yourself s and we hope that even on your third visit it will be better. Many thanks for the great review. The Old House More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The rooms are very big, clean and comfortable. The air conditioning is a plus. Wifi works quie well from the rooms. It is not superfast but good enough to check email and facebook. However the number of safaris run by old house was quite disappointing. I did visit during off peak but was quite disappointed that the staff really did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

Yes i cannot agree with you more, all our activities are a minimum of two and its not viable for us to do an activity for one person however we have had many guests who pay the extra to go. Sadly enough there are not many reputable operators in Kasane and we will not book our clients with a company... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were debating between a few options of places to stay in Kasane and I'm glad we went with Old House. Compared to the big safari lodges, Old House is much more reasonably priced and you still get a nice room with AC. We stayed in the "Loft" room which actually had space for 5 people (although it was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

We are glad to hear that you did make the best choice of accommodation, as a small establishment we try and do better than the big lodges and provide a better service. Many thanks The Old House. More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Luke and his staff deserve all the excellent reviews they get because this family run establishment has well trained, friendly staff and the small menu produces very enjoyable food. the accommodation is spotless and aircon standard in all rooms. We spent 3 days at the Old House and did our own game drives but used their services to see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luke R, General Manager at The Old House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the superb review, hope to see you again one day and safe travels. The Old House team. More

Been to The Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House

Address: President Avenue | Between Hunters Mall and the Golf course, Kasane, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kasane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE OLD HOUSE is a small family owned and run Bed and Breakfast situated in Kasane, overlooking the Chobe River. Conviniently located within walking distance to all shops and a 10 minute boat ride to the entrance of the Chobe National Park. We offer accommodation, boat cruises, game drives, fishing and canoe trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.