We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Alexandria hotels

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5304 Highway 29 South, Alexandria, MN 56308
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alexandria
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jeanie G Northfield, Minnesota, United States
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    12
    21
    13
See reviews for
39
17
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Alexandria, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Disgusting. This hotel has not been updated since it opened. Dirty, Dirty, Dirty. The toilet had pee stains. The shower was falling apart and mildewed. The bed was hard. The entire building reeked of cigarette smoke, which is ILLEGAL. Stay elsewhere until this place remodels.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered during your experience with us. We have noted your complaints regarding the condition of our hotel, and we are making the changes necessary to ensure that the quality of our facility is kept up to the highest standard. Thank you for your valuable feedback. More 

Janesville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

The computer was old and slow in business area. In fact, I could not get my boarding pass. The Breakfast area could be more attractive. It is dimly lit. Breakfast was not available until 7:00 on Sunday morning.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize for the issues you encountered with our business center. Our hotel is in the process of renovation and we are addressing and repairing troubled areas as fast as we are able. I am very sorry if we did not meet your expectations and we will try harder in the future. I hope you have a great week. Thank... More 

Bemidji, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I stay at a lot of Country Inn's and have stayed at this one a few times. It just seems like this one just can't keep up with upgrading. I don't need it to be a 4 star hotel, but I should feel comfortable in it. Even some of the rooms that are upgraded have carpet that isn't and has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize for you being unhappy with your stay. We do try to meet everyone's expectations, unfortuneately the renovations have taken longer than we thought they would.I do apologoze for this. More 

Maple Grove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Great place if you want to be close to all the fun this area has to offer or stay to do business with 1 of the Multi-National companies based or having operations near the hotel. There is also grat food shopping and historcal sights near

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you with us at the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. More 

stoughton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Booked this hotel using points the day before, as we were travelling cross from Wisconsin to North Dakota. Very convenient, seconds off the interstate. We were only there less than 12 hours but got to enjoy the pool / hot tub before going to bed, and breakfast the next day.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

It was great having you with us. I hope you have a wonderful week. More 

Hutchonson, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I do not recommend this hotel unless it is completely remodeled. Many things falling apart, walls peeling and disgusting. Carpet had stains in hallway and rooms. Breakfast not the best with limited selection. Children of employees running around.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are in the process of upgrading the hotel and are trying our best to complete it in a timely fashion. Unfortuneately this is a expensive, time consuming project. We are trying to complete it with minimal inconvieance to our guests. I am very sorry if we did not... More 

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Property has not been updated. Rooms are small, furnishings are outdated. Wouldn't stay here again as many other hotels nearby. Adjacent parking lot is dirt! Very dusty! This property needs to be leveled and rebuilt!

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize for being an older hotel but I asure you we are in the process of updating. I am sorry if we did not meet your expectations on your visit. We wish to exceed all of our guests expectations, and will try and improve to meet your goals in the future. I wish you a wonderful week. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Address: 5304 Highway 29 South, Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Country Inn

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay