We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Alexandria hotels

Holiday Inn Alexandria

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Alexandria to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Alexandria
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014
Lisa L Minneapolis, Minnesota
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    20
    14
    2
See reviews for
24
13
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Regina - Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
91 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn property. It is huge, old, and very dated. The hallways are long, and narrow (imagine The Shining). The bathroom was very small. The room itself was on the small side. Bed was OK – not bad, not great. Lighting was very dim. The halls smell musty. That smell was masked in the room by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your stay was not what you had expected. We are renovating and making our hotel the best it can be! I was glad to hear that your service and staff experience was positive! We are proud of our place and try to make every guest feel like family. Take care and thank you for your feedback. More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Clean but older holiday inn. Currently under renovation. Service excellent. Convenient location off highway. Nice restaurant in the hotel. Staff very pleasant. Furniture needs updating also. Older but very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Excellent! Glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments to the rest of the staff, we take pride in what we do and your feedback keeps us going! More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Not bad, right off the highway, has a very good restaurant attached (Rudy's Red eye Grill), awesome pool area and conference facilities. My September stay they were doing some renovations to keep the property. Stayed 4 nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments! Sorry about the mess from renovations, we are moving as quickly as possible! Hope to see you again soon and you can check out our progress! More

Bemidji, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The front counter was very pleasant to work with. They let us check in a little early as we had many things to get done in town. The room was o.k. but it had a musty smell and the carpet wasn't as clean as it should be for the price. The area for the kids to play and have fun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect! We are as you saw remodeling and taking care of the concerns you mentioned. I am curious about the restaurant comments. The majority of our diners love the food and service and we use the best quality product in our menu. I would love to follow up so I can... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. That's as good as it gets. The room had a horrible musty damp smell and the carpet seemed wet. Coffee pot had not been cleaned in days as there was moldy coffee still in it. There are much better options in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

We do take pride in our service, and the issues you mentioned are being repaired starting last Tuesday. We had trouble as well as the contractors pinpointing the cause, and I am very sorry that you experienced what you did. If I can do anything for you please contact Duane at the hotel. Thank you for the comments and take... More

Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

They were going through some renovations the weekend we were there. I think they are re-doing all the carpet in the hallways. It had a musty smell but it was to be expected. Rooms were average sized but the bed was super comfortable. It wasn't too far away from anything in town as the hotel was right off I-94 and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am glad your experience was positive overall, and yes, we are in the middle of a large remodel to update and take care of the issues you mentioned. The beds are wonderful as well as the pool area and restaurant, and when the walls and carpets are done, we will be able to give you a truly 5 star... More

Fargo, North Dakota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Staff was very friendly at front desk and in restaurant/bar....couldn't ask for friendlier people. Long miserable walk to room, room had horrible musty order to it like it was a previous smoking room and not cleaned before conversion. Sheets were stained with nail polish or something and carpet was stained. Buffet in a.m. in restaurant was okay but omelet bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that parts of your stay were not up to our standards! We are taking care of the property issues as quickly as possible, but the buffet quality is normally top notch and our staff tries hard to be as helpful as possible in every situation. I would like to discuss your experience to fix... More

Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding up at Arrowhead, booked us a 2 bed hotel room per stating they didnt have 1 queen bed rooms, but asked at front desk to change to single bed hotel room at check in. They changed rooms alright, but just moved us to another 2 bed hotel room. Room must have been cleaned in 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear your experience wasn't up to par...We did have some issues with room bookings and moved some people to accommodate and had to re clean several rooms. We are proud of our hotel and never want our guests to feel like they are just a number, and I am embarrassed you felt that way. If... More

Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Dingy, smelly carpet, small bathrooms, poor coffee maker. Mattress was excellent and ample nice pillows (I realize this is a very personal thing- bring your own if you can't sleep on anything else!). Staff friendly. Restaurant, pub/bar. Pricey for this rural (albeit it was August in a big regional resort hub) location. Noise was not a problem either from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am both pleased and sad to read your review. We are proud of our hotel and I am glad our staff took care of you. We are working through some of the other issues as quickly as we can and I thank you for your comments, they only make us better! More

Minnetrista, MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We absolutely loved the pool area. There is a large pool that goes to 8 feet deep that was very comfortable temperature-wise. There is also a sauna and a large hot tub to relax in. Also in the pool area is an open space to play volleyball, basketball or hockey, you can rent sticks from the front desk for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your comments! I too love our pool area and we all take a lot of pride in our hotel! I am sharing your words with our staff, thank you again! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Alexandria

Address: 5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay