We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Alexandria

Hotel website
Hotel deals
5637 Highway 29 South, I-94 and Highway 29, Alexandria, MN 56308
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    21
    15
    3
See reviews for
26
13
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stains on bedding and cigarette burns. Loud fan that came on randomly, even though we had it on "off." Broken toilet. Thin walls and cheap windows, causing every noise to be heard within and outside the hotel. Hotel also overcharged us. We contacted them. They corrected the charged, but then charged us for the overage again - complete incompetence or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear about your experience during your recent stay. I would like to reach out to you about your stay and specifically about the credit card charges. Please contact the guest services manager or myself, the GM of F&B at 320-763-6577. I want to make things right! Take care and hope to talk to you soon. More 

Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel every week for business. The restaurant attached to this hotel, the food at least, is terrible. Nice bar though. The thermostat in the room doesn't work. My room was pool side and kids threw balls at my door and window. The channel list for the TV was completely out dated. There was no "do not disturb card" for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I am interested in hearing more. We have wonderful comments on the food in general, and I would like to find out what you had and when so I can go back and fix the issue and ensure that it doesn't happen again! I also want to follow up on your... More 

Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The woman at the front desk was friendly and they had some delicious cookies for guests when the check in. Restaurant, bar, and expansive pool area (no slide though) on site. Just off the interstate which is good. I couldn't help but feel as if this hotel needs to be freshened up a bit. It wasn't dirty, just had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I am happy to hear that our staff took good care of you and made you feel welcome! And touching up paint and wood scratches is a 365 day a year job in our hotel, that wonderful pool area means lots of kids and lots of activity! More 

Worthington, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for Minnesota ABATE U gathering. We were treated very well by everyone, from the front desk staff to the restaurant hosts, bartender, and wait staff, to the very courteous cleaning people that we saw in the halls, and everyone in between.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you Becky!!! We really enjoyed having you here and thank you for your comments and hospitality! Take care and we can't wait to see you again! More 

North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We stayed March 20, 2015 for a volleyball tournament. The room was nice and clean with pool view. Nice pool area. Food at Rudys delicious. Nice cozy bar. Only thing I'd like to see is a mini fridge in room like most Holiday Inns have.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words! I am curious about the mini fridge comment. All of our rooms are supposed to have a fridge and microwave and if you would call me at the hotel I would like to look into the room you were in to fix that!!! Take care and see you again soon. Duane More 

Mpls
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

This is a CLEAN, Comfortable hotel with a VERY GOOD restaurant. I was here for business. The desk staff were very pleasant and the hotel lobby had GREAT decorations for Christmas. The hotel IS OLDER, but it is clean. The room had comfortable beds. Bathroom IS VERY SMALL but I was here alone so it was not a big deal

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you found our hotel clean and comfortable, and as always we pride ourselves in our service. Your comments are truly appreciated! More 

Regina - Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
97 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn property. It is huge, old, and very dated. The hallways are long, and narrow (imagine The Shining). The bathroom was very small. The room itself was on the small side. Bed was OK – not bad, not great. Lighting was very dim. The halls smell musty. That smell was masked in the room by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your stay was not what you had expected. We are renovating and making our hotel the best it can be! I was glad to hear that your service and staff experience was positive! We are proud of our place and try to make every guest feel like family. Take care and thank you for your feedback. More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 via mobile

Clean but older holiday inn. Currently under renovation. Service excellent. Convenient location off highway. Nice restaurant in the hotel. Staff very pleasant. Furniture needs updating also. Older but very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Excellent! Glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments to the rest of the staff, we take pride in what we do and your feedback keeps us going! More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Not bad, right off the highway, has a very good restaurant attached (Rudy's Red eye Grill), awesome pool area and conference facilities. My September stay they were doing some renovations to keep the property. Stayed 4 nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments! Sorry about the mess from renovations, we are moving as quickly as possible! Hope to see you again soon and you can check out our progress! More 

Bemidji, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The front counter was very pleasant to work with. They let us check in a little early as we had many things to get done in town. The room was o.k. but it had a musty smell and the carpet wasn't as clean as it should be for the price. The area for the kids to play and have fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duane R, Manager at Holiday Inn Alexandria, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect! We are as you saw remodeling and taking care of the concerns you mentioned. I am curious about the restaurant comments. The majority of our diners love the food and service and we use the best quality product in our menu. I would love to follow up so I can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question