We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
821 East Plaza Street, Exit 157 Off I-90, Albert Lea, MN 56007
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    40
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
45
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel. Convenient to restaurants, shops, interstate. Definitely would stay here again if I am back in that area. Hope it is warmer next time I am in the area. Good place to stay, good place to stay, good place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying and reviewing us. It's a pleasure to serve you with superior customer care. If you are ever in the area let us be a quick call to make your future reservations. More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a light sleeper. It's a curse. My boyfriend on the other hand, is not. We could both hear the guests above our room walking around and talking ALL night. Thin walls? (Or ceilings) I realize rude guests are out of the hotels control, but with the hotel not being that busy, I'm confused as to why they would put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your travels. We understand that you had some issues with the noise. You are absolutely correct! If the hotel isn't busy we do try our best to accommodate all guest with any special request or complaints they may have. I have looked into the room layout this evening you have stayed with us.... More 

Rock Valley, Iowa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We woke up in the middle of the night to a mouse in our room. We were brought keys to a new room. We didn't get the refund we asked for. Instead we were offered points but do not stay in hotels often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Miss R., Again I apologize for the incident that occurred when staying with us. This is not a normal issue here at our hotel. I do sincerely apologize for this happening. We try our best to control what goes in and out of our property. I do understand that you and your friend do not stay in hotels often. Under... More 

Great Falls, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The place is clean, staff are friendly. We checked in quiet late, so we ended up staying in bed late as well. We didn't make it to their breakfast time ( 6- 9 Am). But, when we walked down to check out. Amy, The General Manager, asked if we had breakfast. We told her that we overslept, and didn't make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you guys! It was awesome to be able to share stories at breakfast yesterday morning. It was a pleasure to meet the both of you. May the Best Western friendly and the Minnesota nice stay with you during your travels. More 

Gotham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

This motel is well located right off the interstate. The lobby is nicely furnished. The staff is helpful and friendly. Though we didn't use the pool it looked adequate. The breakfast was very nice. A couple of things I would like to see added are a hot tub and a sleep timer on the television remote.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for filling out our survey we sent you recently regarding your recent stay. We proudly thank you for the nice thoughtful things you have said about our facilities. You are helping travelers know what we are like. We appreciate it! Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Cheyenne, WY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

This is a great place to stay. The staff were exceedingly helpful and polite. Room was excellent and the breakfast was good also. The pool was well maintained, clean and a lot of fun. We had a room with the spa, which was great to come back to after the cold Minnesota winter days.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business. We hope you have a happy New Year. and hope to see you soon. More 

Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

Sheets were not changed and staff is not friendly. Our room had a sofa sleeper which the sheets were not changed. I went to the front desk and the lady asked what I needed for sheets and blankets. No sorry no help to change the sheets. I will NEVER stay here again!! The breakfast lady was not kind, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mcj314, I am very sorry this happened to you. This is not at all a normal stay here at the Best Western Plus of Albert Lea. Our employees strive every day to ensure our guests are happy and satisfied. I will talk with our team and I can ensure you this will not happen again. I hope you give... More 

cherokee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

my stay was and has been very good I have been there at least 20 times. All the staff is friendly and helpful. breakfast could have fresh fruit and the special coffee machine is always broken . And sell water in your pop machines

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

I am very thankful you have made us your choice when in the area. I am very sorry that when you stayed last we didn't have fresh fruit available for you. We have recently added a few different types of fruit like clementines and apples. The cappuccino machine had been cleaned and was put back together incorrectly however, we did... More 

Huron, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We've stayed here a number of times when passing through from SD to WI. Friendly people at all times of the day and night plus a nice cup of coffee and breakfast. Quick food nearby but no outstanding restuarants too close.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for always making us your choice! Merry Christmas! More 

MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We wanted a night away from the kids and had checked into another Albert Lea hotel [ABVI] where the room was scary; it was dirty and a bug was found on the bed under the comforter. I was ready to just go home! My husband, knowing I needed a break, insisted we find another hotel. We are from Albert Lea.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely pleased you found the getaway from home you were expecting here at our facility. It was very thoughtful of you to remember one of many great staff members we have on our team. Deb is a huge asset at our hotel and makes each and every person shes comes in contact to "smile". I am glad you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question