We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Auburn Hills hotels

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3315 University Drive, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive to your Saves list
47%
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Auburn Hills
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014
jdb327 Chicago, Ill
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    8
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
6
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location was great, price was great, hotel was NOT great! The beds were OK, but the room was dirty and there was no maid service. The floors had not been swept and the tub did not drain until I pulled a rat sized hair ball from the drain. Avoid Avoid Avoid!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I'm still at a loss for words. I drove from Toledo, Ohio to attend Oprah's Life You Want Tour - so I needed a hotel nearby. I booked this hotel for $84.99 the first night $89.99 the second night for a total of $192. When I entered the hotel - it appeared clean until you walked passed the front desk.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, Owner at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly regret to read that you experienced so many issues with cleanliness and maintenance in both your room and our common areas. I sincerely apologize that your phone was not working, and that my staff was not able to repair it for you... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

If there was a negative choice for a review rating, this hotel would have it! Exterior of hotel looks modern and new, inside common areas were typical, inside rooms were shocking!! The floors and furniture were soiled and disgusting. The beds were made with the cheapest, thinnest sheets available and to my late nite shock; was all that separated my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. We are scheduled for a full renovation to improve our hotel and our guest's experience. We will also inspect your room with our pest control provider to ensure there is no... More

Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The bed and pillows were horrible - we didn't sleep a wink. When we first checked in the door to our room did not lock and when we approached the front desk she asked if we were ok with it not locking.... Um NO! She did put us in another room after we requested one. We stayed here because it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize that you found your bed to be uncomfortable. As well, I'm sorry that the lock on your door did not work; however, I'm happy to hear that we were able to move you to a new room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.... More

Hastings, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is understaffed. It took almost 2 hours to check us in as only one very slow, poorly trained person at front desk. Stayed two nights and housekeeping never showed. Bed was extremely hard, sheets did not fit bed, and phone would not allow you to get an outside line.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

Jon - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I want to personally apologize that your check-in process took so long. As well, I apologize that you had issues with your bed and the phone in your room. I will be meeting with my staff to ensure these issues are resolved... More

Chicago, Ill
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The hotel looks nice on the outside and they are doing some renovation work on the common areas. The room I had on the first floor was very large. The King bed was nice and it was nice having a fridge and microwave in the room. The furnishings were well worn. The carpeting was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our grab-and-go breakfast and the size of your room. Still, I am sorry to hear that the overall condition of your room did not meet your expectations. As well, I apologize that you experienced some noise disturbance from... More

Auburn Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Poor room quality nothing to do no pool no hot tub showers dirty doesnt drain well sold out hotel one person on staff barely speaks english very very slow all around bad expierience would never come back you can hear people walking in the room next to you upstairs hallway its loud dirty and cheap looking and feeling

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am sorry that the condition and cleanliness of your room did not meet your expectations. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. As well, I apologize that your shower did not drain well and that... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Very dissatisfied. Kitchen was not equipped with much at all. No cleaning products no dish soap no glasses. Only 2 burners and one didn't work. Bed was broke. Room was very dirty. No ice machines Nice fridge that's about it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing due to the kitchen not being properly equipped and having items in need of repair in your room. Please know, we do not offer cleaning products in our guest rooms, but we do... More

Boyne City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The outside of the building looks like a nice, reputable hotel chain. Inside is a different thing! The idea of a little kitchen is great and this could be a great place however, as soon as you enter the lobby it's all down hill from there. Cold, uninviting front desk area, thin walls (had to listen to people walking and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that your comments have been addressed with the entire staff and we are working to enhance our offerings. As well, I am coaching them... More

Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was a pleasant stay. Just a normal hotel, with the bonus of a kitchen. One notable that so many hotel properties just can't get right; the water pressure was excellent in the shower and the temperature stayed consistent to what it was set at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am so pleased to hear that your stay was pleasant. I know we are just a normal hotel, with a bonus of a kitchen however, our company strives to provide great customer service and clean comfortable rooms. Also, We strive to provide a... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive

Address: 3315 University Drive, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Auburn Hills
Homestead Suites Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Homestead Suites

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay