We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Ann Arbor hotels

Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Waymarket Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Ann Arbor
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012
UncleRex Sioux City, Iowa
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
11
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
See the most recent reviews
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our third stay here, and most likely the last. They did upgrade the facillities - new TVs (OK, now update the channels in the book), new kitchen stove and sink (very modern - need instrucrions), new furnishings. That's it. Now, get a staff that (a) knows how things work, and (b) actually cares enough to respond. Front desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Before I begin this review I urge you to read any of my other reviews to assure you I am not someone that complains about the littlest things. With that said... My wife and I stayed the weekend at this hotel for parents' weekend at the University of Michigan. On football weekends in Ann Arbor rooms are at a premium... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor, responded to this review

Dear topfan, Thanks for your review and staying with us. I am sorry to hear you were not happy with our hotel.We are an extended stay hotel, and we do only offer housekeeping weekly.However if you need it daily, that can be arranged for a nominal fee. While we do not offer a free breakfast we do have the Candlewood... More

Sioux City, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Always stay here when visiting our son and his family. Right next door to their apartment. Hairdryer did not work and toilet seat was loose. They are remodeling but did not bother us as guests. Enjoy the free access to washer and dryer. Will continue to stay there but reserve early because of multiple activities in this college town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roseland, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel is located at a very good location. It is right in the middle of a market, a supermarket and many eating joints. It has a in house grocery store that serves that serves good purpose. But that is where the good things end, the infrastructure is poor. The building is old, housekeeping is done once a week, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor, responded to this review

Dear Junaid W, Thank you for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the in house store. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received quality which was unacceptable and apologize you were not satisfied with the hotel conditions. If there... More

Leeds
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have stayed here 3 times in the past and would have given it a 5* rating. Sadly, on this occasion, things were not just right. The hotel is well located near the freeway but just far enough away that its not too noisy. The car parking is excellent. Its about 3 miles from downtown so easy to get there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel is great. I would say it deserves a solid 3 star. It's clean, somewhat updated (no flat screen tv, but amenities nice), comfortable bed with multiple types of pillows available. It has a gym, a little store with snacks that's open later, and now they have a huge delivery service for food that will deliver until 4am! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We actually had no idea how close to the Stadium we actually were and we saved time and money and actually walked to the game on a Saturday!! (It's about a mile and a half) The hotel is not a "grand dame", but it was clean and comfortable and very close to Campus and Downtown Ann Arbor for a reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seaside
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is the 2nd time we've been here since 2009, and the place is showing its age. It's an OK place to be, and it's convenient for us, but...water pressure lousy, trash in the halls all night, and the overall appearance is not what it was. It needs an overhaul to be sure. Staff was nice but we didn't need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Sales and Management staff had a verbal agreement with our Engineering Firm to provide room when available at a negotiated rate. After many nights of staying with them, we booked a room and were abruptly told at the last minute that they could not honor our rate, giving no written or verbal warning of this change what so ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Didn't spend much time in the room, and that was fortunate. Just keep in mind before you book that this hotel only provides housekeeping weekly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Address: 701 Waymarket Way, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Candlewood Suites Ann Arbor
Candlewood Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Candlewood Suites

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay