We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Ann Arbor hotels

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South)

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3505 South State Street, I-94 at South State Street, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
61%
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Ann Arbor
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Michigan-I94 Ann Arbor, Michigan
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    24
    8
    12
See reviews for
36
20
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed three nights. The location is good and close to downtown and mall. The room was clean and the stuff was friendly. Free coffee in the lobby is available for 24 hours. Free breakfast and free wifi. But the bathroom was small and shower curtain smelled bad. Totally I guess good hotel and reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent three nights here. On two of those nights got less than three hours sleep. Drunken parties in the parking lot. Foul language and sooo loud. I spend over two hundred nights a year in hotels around the world and this had to rate as the worst ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Small, stinky room. Rundown exterior. Interior had some minor upgrades, but also seemed old and tired. Price was good. This is one of those old-fashioned motels with doors to the room directly accessed from the outside. There are plenty of other hotels in the immediate area, choose one of those instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The location was great, room average, and price was right. Service was good as I didn't have a remote in my room for the TV and within minutes they got me one. The carpets were filthy (invest in laminate or ceramic floors!!), paint wearing off ceiling, moths in the room, and overall dungy appearance. Location and price kind of made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our Inn. I am sorry to hear that we fell short of our goal to provide you with an accommodating room. I welcome the opportunity to speak to you regarding which room # you stayed in so that we may correct the carpet, paint, and insect issues you mentioned.... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfiend to attend the Michigan summer beer fest in the next town over. It's really close to that town named Ypsilanti, and it's less than 4 miles directly south of the U of M campus. The price from Hotels.com was also very reasonable. However, I am not a fan of these motel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. Please know that we value your opinion and will share it with our entire staff in an effort to improve our services. We are glad to hear that you recommend our Inn for its location and value. I personally apologize for our failure to return your ID to... More

Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great location, acceptable exterior appearance, and attractive pricing. BUT don't let those fool you. The room we were given was dingy and dirty with poor ventilation. Examples: hair on bed linens, stained towels, filthy carpeting (turns feet black), bathroom lighting of about 15 watts, bathroom walls were more crackled than a lizard's skin--and it clearly wasn't a design feature. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), responded to this review

Dear ic_anglophile, thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I can assure you they will be used in our continuous effort to improve our services. Although I am disappointed to hear that you do not recommend us, I would like you to know that your opinion is valued and recognized. We are currently in the... More

South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed one night with my son to tour the campus. We arrived late but the front desk staff was quite accommodating and friendly. The room was clean and the furniture was in good shape. The bathrooms were typical for this kind of motel but the sink appeared updated and quite clean. The beds were comfortable and the TV and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments and recommending our Inn. I will be sure to share them with our entire staff. I am glad that our location provided you a convenient way to tour University of Michigan and that it was as rewarding as your stay with us. We hope to see you again if your travel needs require a... More

Bay City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Love they give a discount if you are staying due to a family member at U of M Hospital. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The furniture was a bit worn but not falling apart and not dirty. The price was great and the room was more rhan adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our discounted rates for Hospital visits and that we were able to meet your needs with a clean and comfortable room. Since we are conveniently located less than 3 miles from University of Michigan Hospital we hope you will... More

Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here the night after Michigan beat Notre Dame is Sept 2013. Very nice rooms, they were clean and updated. Very impressed with the service and the atmosphere. This will definitely be our tailgate hotel from now on! GO BLUE!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you had such a great experience at our Inn. Great service is our most important goal and we thank you for sharing your positive feedback. We are currently improving our Lobby/ Continental Breakfast area in order to provide an even better atmosphere for GO BLUE fans such as yourself. We look forward to... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here over the weekend with family. Good location, good value for money. Continental breakfast was great. The rooms could be a bit more spacious. The bathrooms need to be renovated. Wifi was horrible, didn't get to connect to wifi in my room, but was able to connect to other rooms. Good getaway for a weekend or just a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MAGGIE S, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our Red Roof Inn. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the WIFI issues during your stay with us. I’m glad to hear many of our other services and amenities could be of use to you, but wish we could have provided you with one hundred percent satisfaction... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South)

Address: 3505 South State Street, I-94 at South State Street, Exit #177, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (University South) Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Red Roof Inn

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ann Arbor with
any amenities