We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Tower Hotel

2.5 of 5 300 South Thayer Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
#7 of 30 hotels in Ann Arbor
212 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bell Tower Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bell Tower Hotel
  • Overview
  • Reviews (212)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (48)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Bell Tower Hotel to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    85
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
70
26
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice little hotel directly adjacent to U of M. Its location cannot be beat if you have business on campus. It is also within walking distance of the downtown restaurants and shops...although downtown is a bit more of a hike ~15 min or so depending on your pace. Overall, I found the property to be clean, well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the noisy restaurant and alley on the south side of the hotel. We are planning a window replacement project after the football season this year to install sound proof windows. I look forward to resolving... More

Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The decor may not be everyone's type. I'd probably mislabel the era if I tried, so let's suffice it to say that the furnishings are very, very old-appearing. But the staff is as friendly as any you'll find, the room is everything you'll ask for, and the location...well that's why everyone chooses the Bell Tower Hotel. Because it's theoretically impossible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed it and look forward to your return soon. Regards, DeWayne Grann General Manager More

UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ann Arbor is delightful, and this hotel is VERY well placed, just off the main square and surrounded by the university campus. However, it is strangely old-fashioned, and more than a little jaded. At reception, we were told we had been "upgraded" to a suite, and I was assured that it had two beds, as booked - I was travelling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we made a mistake with your room type. I am glad to hear that we were quick to react to making sure you were in the room type you requested. I also understand that that we are located downtown Ann Arbor and don't have the most scenic views. That is often the case with... More

Detroit
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Consistency is a virtue. This is a quiet hotel right in the middle of Ann Arbor activities. Great location for concerts, the Art Fair and other central campus events. I have already booked for next year's Art Fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your business. A sign of a great hotel is consistency. We pride ourselves on always offering excellent guest service. I truly believe we offer the best guest service in Ann Arbor. We look forward to your return next year! More

Evanston, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Bell Tower in Ann Arbor was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in for 2 reasons: 1) The bed had zero support and created a concave pit around me and my wife. Not only did we not sleep a wink, we now need chiropractors. 2) The customer service does not solve problems or empathize. We told the manager about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize that the mattress failed. You were the first guest to report a problem and in fact you received a complimentary night for your inconvenience. Since we recently purchased Serta, Presidential double pillow top mattresses, they are still under warranty so we promptly replaced it. There are items we are able to be proactive with and unfortunately others we... More

Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The location is amazing, right on campus. The room is somewhat small, but in this type of hotel, it really is part of the old charm. The staff could not have been nicer and more accomodating, and greeted us warmly each time we walked in without being obtrusive. The housekeeping staff was also so nice and bent over backward to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. It is always good to hear guests acknowledge our staff. It is great to share positive responses. While planning your next stay, please make sure to request a room with a king or two double beds. The rooms are slightly larger and have great bathrooms with televisions in the mirror. I look forward to your... More

Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We traveled to Ann Arbor for freshmen orientation in June. The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is walking distance to everything The University of Michigan has to offer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only reservation we have about the hotel is that the bathroom and shower were very small (shower around 3ft X 3ft).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I hope you enjoyed Ann Arbor while staying at the Bell Tower. We have recently renovated all of our bathrooms and some do have stand up showers. The showers may seem a bit smaller because we built in a tiled shower seat but it is the same area as a tub. If you prefer, we kept a few bathtubs for... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Charming vintage hotel in a great location to walk to restaurants and shops in Ann Arbor. The room with the one queen bed was minimum on space - and a step UP to the small spaced bathroom - wouldn't recommend it for seniors - could see them tripping on the step everytime - need a note on the outside of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I agree that our Queen bed is great for a single traveler but can be tight for multiple guests. We have a few options that allow someone to choose a larger room for just a few dollars more. Sorry that you had to wait for the... More

Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We travel back to Ann Arbor where we lived for many years a few times a year, always trying to get into the Bell Tower. We finally succeeded, and it was a great stay. Location is excellent - easy walking distance to all areas of downtown. Prompt valet service. This is a historic hotel as many have mentioned, but many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were/are having trouble finding rooms online. We have recently inspected every day through the end of the year to verify they are online and didn't see anything out of the ordinary but I will have our reservations manager double check. Please feel... More

GRAND RAPIDS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best location if visiting fun city of Ann Arbor or the University. My two female friends and I stayed one night and had excellent room with comfortable pullout couch/bed. Not cheap by any means but the location and quality make it worth it. Had included breakfast in dining room and had nice, but not great a breakfast as they make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. I am sorry that the breakfast did not exceed your expectations. We feel that with the addition of the potatoes, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh cut blueberries and fresh cut strawberries, guests would be happily surprised. I am glad you found the location to be outstanding. It is nice to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bell Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Address: 300 South Thayer Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ann Arbor with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Style
#5 Romantic Hotel in #9 Business Hotel in
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
66

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bell Tower Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer