We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Tower Hotel

2.5 of 5 300 South Thayer Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bell Tower Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bell Tower Hotel
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    105
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
94
44
17
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Pasadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars NEW

The Bell Tower is just steps away from the University and the great shops and restaurants that surround the campus. The hotel is clean, the bathrooms are fantastically updated, and the beds are comfy. The hotel and some decor is old--but classic. Having complimentary valet and breakfast are always a plus. We'll definitely stay at the Bell Tower again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location right next to UM campus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was a little tight, but it was clean and comfortable. Overall, I was very happy with our choice of the Bell Tower Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed at the BT nearly 400 nights in the past 15 years ...great staff and location...comfortable rooms...like Cheers, Everyone knows your name...and that's nice BTW, are you licensed to use the block M?

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Bell Tower Hotel. The staff are friendly, and the location is unbeatable. The rooms are comfortable, if not the most modern facilities. The breakfast was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pluses: pleasant staff, proximity to University, restaurants and shops, free valet, ample breakfast, suite option, quiet. Minuses: a bit worn, high cost compared to other, newer AA properties (location surcharge), small gym with low-quality equipment

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I am sorry that our fitness facility did not meet your expectations. You are correct, it is sized proportionate to the property. We only have one treadmill, one elliptical and a nautilus set. With that being said, we don't often see or hear of guests having to wait for machines. We would be... More 

Boonton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for my boss to stay in for one night while on a business trip. His trip was cancelled due to weather the morning he was supposed to check-in. Clearly it was within the 24 hour window to avoid being charged. My boss didn't know he wasn't going on the trip until the airline cancelled his flight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not handle your reservation very well. I am afraid you may have spoke to an incorrect person because we were well aware of the weather conditions on the east coast and made numerous adjustments and complimentary cancellations due to that reason. Please contact me at 734-769-3010 and I would be happy to resolve this... More 

Woodbury, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I stayed at the Bell Tower Hotel while visiting the University of Chicago. The staff could not have been more gracious and helpful. I would love to stay there again. And I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting the school. Great location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Bell Tower Hotel. We hope your daughter chooses the University of Michigan and you are able to stay with us again in the future. Best Regards, DeWayne Grann General Manager Bell Tower Hotel More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was expensive for a tiny, outdated room. There was a broken light and we were next to the ice ice machine. There was no one to great us upon arrival until we walked over to the desk. We had to unload and carry the luggage to the room. No luggage cart was made available. In the morning my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay. I would like to speak to you regarding your stay. To respond though, we do offer complimentary valet service between the hours of 7:00AM and11:00PM. I am sorry that we don't offer baggage service before or after those hours. I am also sorry that you felt the room is... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay was over night, heat did not work, would blow hot to cold air without notice. I was given a heater and I spent the entire night turning the heater off and on. For the amount of money I paid, I feel a price adjustment should have happened.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. I am sorry that you experienced this inconvenience during your stay. It is our mission to exceed our guests' expectations each and every stay. Since this is the first time I have heard about your experience, I am going to review what happened. It is still my mission to... More 

Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Very nice hotel. A little pricey. Liked the TV in the bathroom mirror! Needs warmer comforter on bed in the middle of winter. Not happy about having to add language to this review in order to be done!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am sorry about the policies of our review sites. I find it annoying as well (when I review establishments) that I need to add text to my reviews to meet their requirements. I can assure you that we do not set minimums on characters for reviews. Thank you again for your review and I am... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Address: 300 South Thayer Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bell Tower Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Ann Arbor
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#6 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#7 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay