We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Tower Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
300 South Thayer Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bell Tower Hotel
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    108
    34
    17
    7
See reviews for
101
47
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (293)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel has an excellent location, very close to the campus and main shopping area. The bathroom was especially modern, even had a TV screen in the mirror, an unexpected luxury! The bedroom was standard, with the basic amenities we needed. Front desk service was friendly and helpful with their recommendations. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pinconning, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were in town for a concert at the Ark and wanted a hotel within walking distance. The Bell Tower was perfect for our needs. Right next to the U of M campus and 6 blocks from downtown the location was just what we were looking for. The rooms were clean and nice, the staff helpful and friendly and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am pleased to hear all of the great comments. I look forward to hosting you for any future visits to Ann Arbor! Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager More 

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone we encountered at the Bell Tower was friendly and helpful. Our room had an odd smell, musty, and it was warm despite turning on the a/c. The walls are thin -- I awoke when someone arrived at the room next door at 1 am. We had to step up into the bathrooms, which felt like trailers retro fitted into... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your room during your recent stay. The good news is that we have plenty of room types that I am positive we can exceed your expectations if you give us another chance. It is nice to hear that you received excellent service during your stay. We pride ourselves on offering the best... More 

Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great room, excellent breakfast, nice people, great location but a tad pricey. It started to rain just before our walk around town and front desk graciously provided two umbrellas. Staff was exceptionally courteous and pleasant. About $250 per night to stay there. Fantastic location for exploring U of M campus and surrounding restaurants, bars and stores. Would stay there again... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am sorry if we were not able to offer you any standard rooms during your recent stay. Our rates for the standard rooms are well below $200 per night. I am glad to hear that you found our services were top notch and I hope you are able to reserve a standard room... More 

Flushing, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bell Tower was a warm friendly place to stay. The location is perfect for downtown. We were in town for a college visit and the location was great. Less than a 5 minute walk to the Michigan Union. There was a good variety of food for breakfast. There was fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, yogurt and pastries, but... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Bell Tower. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and breakfast. I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. DeWayne Grann General Manager More 

Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Bell is in the heart of Ann Arbor surrounded by really great restaurants and shopping, and most importantly, the Michigan Campus. You are literally right next to the Diag. The room was super comfortable and the service could not have been better.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear that you love the hotel and our location. We look forward to your returns! DeWayne Grann General Manager More 

Spring Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bell Tower is a charming place to stay in downtown Ann Arbor. Staff are friendly and courteous. Very nice continental breakfast - cereals, fresh strawberries and blueberries, breads, juices and more. Much of the downtown area is very walkable from here and the complimentary valet parking is a bonus in Ann Arbor. The room was very quiet and the bath... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel and our breakfast. I hope to see you during your future stays in Ann Arbor. Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager More 

Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in a good location and the beds are very comfortable. Customer service was warm and friendly. However, the free breakfast was not good. Particularly, the fruit was poor quality. Fresh food needed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the fruit we offered. We cut fresh strawberries and blueberries every day. I will make sure we are buying the best fruit because we know our guests appreciate fresh fruit. Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager More 

Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Couldn't be more happy to stay right in the middle of the Campus for a U of M. visit. We walked from the Amtrack station (about 12mn), took University shuttles to North Campus and back from South athletic Campus (free and 2mn on foot from hotel),watched students walking around...Morning breakfast is a basic buffet style. 3 machines in fitness room... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

I hope you enjoyed the tour of the university. Hopefully your child will select U of M and we will see you often. DeWayne Grann General Manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff and service at the Bell Tower was wonderful. I LOVE this location since my daughter lives on campus at U of M. They have free valet service, too. The rooms are a bit older, but the bed is super comfy and the bathroom is redone. I'd highly recommend staying here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
belltowerhotel, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoy the location on the campus, close to your daughter. We look forward to your return. Regards, DeWayne Grann General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question