We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Alpena hotels

Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 US 23 North, Alpena, MI 49707 (Formerly Holiday Inn Alpena)
Hotel amenities
Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Alpena
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
KevinFrank123456789 Cadillac, Michigan
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Cadillac, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clean room, comfortable bed, great toiletries and surprised our "basic" room had a fridge. Friendly bar and great restaurant. Nice pool/hot tub recreation area including a great gym. And most impressive was the fantastic friendly service staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us that great review. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
73 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are so so. They were clean but we're showing wear. The staff seems very scaled back. I had to wait for someone to man the counter when I checked in and out. The person was off doing other things. The restaurant had slow service but the food was ok. Not many other choices in town. Probably best choice in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that nobody was at the desk to greet you upon arrival. We take all reviews quite seriously, so I looked up your arrival on our camera system. I did see that our guest service rep was vacuuming behind the wall and did not see you arrive.... More 

lyle7692
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in town for a hockey tourney and the whole gang stayed here. The pool area is great! Ping pong, putt putt, pool, sauna, and large areas to bring your own food. The attached bar/restaurant was great and they gave us a package deal that included breakfast. I would agree with others that said the property is a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

As the only full-service hotel in Alpena, we feel we have everything a sport's team could ask for--our huge indoor recreation center tops the list and is always a hit with the kids. I am so happy you and your team enjoyed it! Thank you for this review. We hope you will stay with again when your team is in... More 

Mount Pleasant, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent the night before a business meeting here. Enjoyed having a good restaurant within, as well as a pool and hot tub for relaxing the night before. Bar is also on site. Room was nice, good bed. Really handy to go to my meeting on site the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again soon! More 

Traverse City, MI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

From the moment we came in until the time we checked out, the staff was very friendly and accomidating! Chad at the front desk and Carra the hostess went out of there way for us. Even the cleaning staff was smiling and friendly! Rooms were neat, clean and fresh! They offered us a Plated breakfast since we were traveling with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write about it. Our employees are our greatest asset and we are always pleased when someone acknowledges their efforts. We will look forward to having your hockey team with again soon! More 

Levering, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My stay was in the middle of the week and the property was very quiet. The property has a fresh/newer smell in the hallways and rooms. The room was very clean and well put together. Free Wi-Fi and it works well. The staff I encountered was friendly. Flat screen tvs, fresh linens, and high-quality toiletries, highlight the stay. Though there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

After a long drive for my business trip from down state to Alpena I arrived at Sanctuary Inn. I was a little skeptical due to some of the other reviews and I was told to choose Best Western or Days Inn but not the Sanctuary from the place I was meeting at in Alpena. However I decided to give it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed our hotel, but so sorry your stay was marred by other guests partying when you were trying to sleep. We do have a bar, but it closes at 11:00 p.m. on weeknights. I suspect the disturbance was made by people consuming their own alcohol. Nonetheless I apologize that our staff did not put an... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I checked in after a late night arrival and a recommendation for this hotel. It was comfortable for being so late. The room was clean. There was an on site bar that is the locals choice but the hotel was still quiet. The bed was comfortable. The room was reminiscent of it's prior chain affiliation. And the staff kept the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that it was enjoyable and hope to have you stay with again on your next visit to Alpena. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Despite some poor reviews, we decided to stay here and were glad we did. The room was spacious and up-to-date, and we heard very little noise. Although we would have preferred a firmer mattress, we had little to complain about. The toiletries , towels and in-room coffee were above average. Our breakfast was tasty and served promptly. On another occasion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. More 

South Haven, MI
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

We only stayed one night in Alpena as we were traveling north. Our room was clean and well taken care of. The hall carpets were in good shape. The front desk people were doing everything possible to find info for a group that was coming in. Upgrades are being made. We were even offered a free plant as they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Diana L, General Manager at Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great reveiw. We do try to make sure our guest service reps have a good knowledge of the surrounding area and the events taking place. I am so glad you noticed that they did! We hope to have you stay with us again on your next visit to Alpena. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1000 US 23 North, Alpena, MI 49707 (Formerly Holiday Inn Alpena)
Location: United States > Michigan > Alpena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sanctuary Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Alpena Hotel Alpena
Alpena Holiday Inn

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay