We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai

3.0 of 5 Khalid Bin Waleed St, Dubai 00971, United Arab Emirates
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    70
    54
    29
    15
See reviews for
46
51
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel USP is its central location, close to Deira(Gold Souk), Meena bazaar, Bur Juman and a 20 to 30 minute drive(depending on the traffic) from anywhere in the city, be it Marina or the Dubai Mall. If that was not enough, the hotel charms you with its impeccably kept rooms and hospitality of their staff. In room dining is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Howard Johnson in Bur Dubai is a 3 star hotel so when holidaying on a budget that's the place to stay. The rooms are spacious enough and clean. They have a travel agent at the hotel who was very helpful in doing bookings for the many activities you can do while in Dubai like the desert safari and dhow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vinay D, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for taking time to send us your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back here again soon. Thank you. More 

Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have given this review a 2 star just because the rooms were a very size, in general cleaned to a reasonable standard and the staff were as helpful as they could be. My wife and I stayed at the hotel from December the 28th 2014 until January the 6th 2015 on a bed and breakfast basis and my Father... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vinay D, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your visit and thank you for the feedback. We noted your comments and found that the booking for your father-in-law was received as BB by the hotel. After you clarified, we checked back with the agent and thereafter, the agent sent us the updated information and hence, the dinner was issued for your father -in-law.... More 

Durban, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before I complain, I must compliment Joyce for her wonderful treatment at reception and for printing of my e-mails. I stayed at HOJO in 2011 and loved the hotel and came back. The room was clean and comfortable but service was pathetic. The room was booked for four people. However, we only received towels for two, cups for two, tumblers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vinay D, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your valuable feedback and for staying with us. We apologize if you didn't like the New Year's eve party. I believe you had to leave early as you had a Burj Khalifa tour scheduled for the same night and as you know, 31st parties warm up with time and we also had a Dj in... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were there in April 2014 with my wife and daughter. Good Indian breakfast and choice of English breakfast as well. I Liked the concept. Rooftop pool and gym very good. Indian restaurants with live music and dance we chose the song of our choice. Good service. Near to many places. Taxi easily available near the hotel. Disappointed coz no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOJOBURDUBAI, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for the kind words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great experience at our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back here again soon. Thank you. More 

Greater Accra, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is with great pleasure that I pour out my heartfelt peace for others to consider not only for the fact that i have taken time to put this piece together but for them to experience the kind of peace of mind that allows a bird to smile while sleeping in its nest on a branch in a tree in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOJOBURDUBAI, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you had a wonderful experience here during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Thank you. More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since ur hotel was a service provider for all my sighseeings, it was a very disappointing experience as regards to pickup drops & not getting any preferance for any of the events at sight seeings since i had booked a customized tour thru Thomas Cook. I was always made to link up with some other guests which was not expected... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

A local friend picked this property for us, and it was worth spending some good time here. Proximity to Carrefour, and Meena bazaar was added advantage. Comfortable stay, rooftop swimming pool, small but decent gym. Quiet atmosphere. Complementary water battles were less in qty. Wifi charges are enormous. 20:20 charges are charged everywhere at Dubai,,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HOJOBURDUBAI, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your taking time to send us your reviews. We are glad you had a good stay and we look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Thank you. More 

National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We were received warmly at the reception. Did not have to wait much for room keys. But passports were retained at the reception for one day. Don't know the reason for that. Room layout was good but lighting was not upto the mark especially in the bathroom. There no light over the mirror at the wash basin. Even in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOJOBURDUBAI, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for making us your choice of stay. We appreciate your feedback and we will look into all the points that you have raised. We sincerely apologise for any discomfort that you might have experienced. Do feel free to contact us anytime and we look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Thank you. More 

Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Front office staff is very rude and unprofessional, including front office manager. Rooms are dingy, air conditioning system sucks, so if you are planning your trip in summers, “THINK TWICE MAY BE THRICE”, internet is payable and still doesn’t works in the rooms. Good room service and room service staff is humble and courteous. Food from room service is over-priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HOJOBURDUBAI, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Howard Johnson Hotel. Thank you for taking time and sending us feedback on your stay. We sincerely apologise for the experience that you had with us this time. We are looking into it and we guarantee that your next stay with us will be a more enjoyable experience.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai

Address: Khalid Bin Waleed St, Dubai 00971, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Dubai > Dubai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Bur Dubai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

595 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (28)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (451)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Double King Deluxe Room (29)
Viewed
oyster_album_17254 (50)
Viewed
oyster_album_17258 (47)
Viewed
Junior Suite Deluxe Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite Room (33)
Viewed
oyster_album_17202 (33)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
oyster_album_17246 (36)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Twin Deluxe Room (35)
Viewed
Twin Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay