We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Casa Rustica

6th Ave Norte # 8 | Sacatepequez, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Hotel amenities
Hotel Casa Rustica
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #52 of 76 Hotels in Antigua
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015
greenluck007 somewhere
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    72
    66
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
24
67
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is worried more about money than their service. Be very careful when reserving, even mistakes that aren't your fault will cost money. They are not customer oriented. I have repeatedly emailed after seeing charges on my card, they say it doesn't matter if it was a mistake and the charges will not be reversed. It seemed like a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Casa Rustica, responded to this review

Hi Christina, Thank you very much for your review, something we appreciate very much is honest reviews, which in this case does not seem to be, there is no point of arguing with you as we already tried talking. We really do hope you one day understand that blaming everyone for a mistake you made and failed to acknowledge isn't... More 

somewhere
Level Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Good location in the heart of the action in Antigua, Guatemala. Bed was comfortable, and never had to wait for the clean shared bathroom. Not a party hostel but not a retirement home either. Close to several bars and nightclubs which can get loud at night. Front staff could have been better with English and overall friendliness. They sell beer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Casa Rustica, responded to this review

Hi greenluck007, thank you for your honest and kind review, yes its true that there are bars around us and they do have loud music but it is only Saturdays and on festivities, we apologize if the loudness of the music didn't let you have a good night sleep, we always try to make the people at the bar understand... More 

Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Nice hotel close to the bus station, restaurants, and city center square. They book tours to the volcano hike from the main desk. It has a lovely patio on the top of the hotel. They have some pet friends in the hotel. Most of the staff all speak some English, front desk speak it very well. They have a communal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geneve
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Stay away. Was given the choice of rooms on either the first or second floor. Was not informed that there was a nightclub next door, and that the sound carried through the entire building. Considering the price, having a shared bathroom and being forced to listen to the club is ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Casa Rustica, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate customer feedback since it gives us the opportunity to see what we can improve. We know we have an issue with the noise and we let people know that there is a bar close to us and we even have ear plugs for any one that needs it. The night person is... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

I stayed here after a month of staying in other hostels. It was a nice change and comfortable stay. Hot water!!! I enjoyed swimming at their sister hotel's pool and the views of Antigua from the roof were relaxing and pretty. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They allowed me to store my luggage while I took a day trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

A great location one block from the square. Quaint decor and layout with wonderful views from roof terrace. A bit pricey for a shared bathroom maybe. Can be a very noisey location with a number of bars close by. Staff very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

We stayed here on on our first night in Guatemala. We are two young couples. It cost us about 13 CND each to share a room and felt it was worth the money. It was clean, had friendly staff and was in an excellent location- about 5 minutes from the centre. The terrace was also quite nice. Despite the name,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

What I liked about Casa Rustica is mainly the service. Staff is really nice, welcoming and let us check in a bit earlier than is usually allowed. The facilities are very nice with lovely gardens and terraces with a beatiful view of the town and its surroundings. However I stand by that it's highly over priced. We didn't have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Casa Rustica, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment as it helps us become a better hotel and have a better customer service, some of the things you wrote about our Hotel (not hostel) are not quite as you describe them, first of all we have 7 rooms with private bathrooms and only 5 rooms that share 3 bathrooms, sorry if our staff was... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Perhaps it is a little overpriced, in relation to places we stayed at afterwards. And it is literally right next to a night club, the music was unbelievably loud when trying to sleep! But nice staff and brilliant roof terrace (the best view we had of the city!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This is a cute hotel in an excellent location - just one short block away from the main center and all the action. There are three dogs that greet you in the lobby, and the front desk staff is kind and helpful, ready to answer any and all questions. The rooms are basic but clean and nicely decorated in guatemalan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antigua hotels
15.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#25 of 76 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Don Valentino
Posada Don Valentino
#58 of 76 in Antigua
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
Hotel Posada Dona Luisa
#47 of 76 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Hotel Meson del Valle
Hotel Meson del Valle
#24 of 76 in Antigua
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Casa del Parque
Hotel Casa del Parque
#42 of 76 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
15.1 mi away
Posada La Merced Antigua
Posada La Merced Antigua
#31 of 76 in Antigua
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay