We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Convento Santa Catalina

5 Ave Norte #28, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent 4 nights in Hotel Santa Catalina in December 2014. The service was excellent, breakfast very large and delicious. The staff so friendly and helpful (and spoke english) and patient with our poor spanish. Our room was clean and comfortable. I didn't mind hearing the outside noise on the weekend and actually loved hearing the clock tower chime. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great stay, great location just it's very close to a church and 6am gong gong gong mass is starting lol so a bit noisy in the early morning but hey that's the only thing I could complain about so the place is great staff is great all speak English clean rooms hot showers and a great restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You couldn't ask for a better location-- connected to the Arco De Santa Catalina! Two blocks away from the Parque Central and all of the dining, shopping, and nightlife surrounding it. Easy to find, welcoming environment and staff, good breakfast and lunch (didn't try dinner). Some complaints are about the noise...if locals playing marimbas bothers you, don't stay in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Ok so the location is great, but my experience was TERRIBLE. All hotels in Antigua where full last weekend and suspiciously this hotel did have ONE ROOM left. anyways i was happy they had a place for us and i made a reservation, so we check in at around 4 pm leave our stuff at the room and go out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment even tho many things you wrote aren't very credible we accept it but with some doubt, one of the reasons we do not believe much of what is written is that the "loud" concert started at 9 am, another reason is that our staff are always caring and polite to all of our guests even... More 

Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We had the large family suite (rm109). It was cold and damp and there was no hot water at all for our whole stay. The bell at the church next door was LOUD despite ear plugs and went off every hour. Staff friendly enough. Would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment we always appreciate comments good or bad even tho some aren't very credible because of their nature and details, we have checked room 109's shower and found nothing wrong with it all tho we haven't had anyone in room number 109 in the dates you say you stayed and no one has complaint about hot... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

First, let me start of by saying that I slept through the bell at night (with no ear plugs). Not so for my traveling companion. For me it wasn't a problem, but for others it may well be and it did ring every thirty minutes while we were there. Parking is at a lot about 2 blocks away, or between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
san francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

great location, walking distance to everything, right next to the arch. The room is very spacious, we had a room with a refrigerator so that was very nice, Internet was not very good from our room, we had to go outside next to the office for better internet connection. Breakfast was not always on time, but it is okay. staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review

The hotel and restaurant is under new ownership and we are in the process of making the hotel much better. We have installed a new mesh internet system which provides great Wi-Fi signal in all hotel rooms and hotel common areas. The bell at the Arch does ring every hour (not every 15 minutes as stated by this reviewer), but... More 

Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

A very interesting hotel due to the location and history, the rooms are basic but clean and the staff is friendly. The grounds are pretty and well-maintained. The location is very convenient to walking to local landmarks and restaurants and the area is safe and comfortable. The minor drawbacks include the lack of warm water (which shouldn't be a huge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review

The hotel and restaurant is under new ownership and we are in the process of making the hotel much better. We have installed a new mesh internet system which provides great Wi-Fi signal in all hotel rooms and hotel common areas. The bell at the Arch does ring every hour (not every 15 minutes as stated by this reviewer), but... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night in April and I have to say I was expecting much better. This is a former convent now a hotel. The location is spot on being close to the centre of town and attached to the famous arch. On the downside I found it to be way overpriced for what it was; the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Owner at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review

The hotel and restaurant is under new ownership and we are in the process of making the hotel much better, which includes upgrading all the rooms. We have installed a new mesh internet system which provides great Wi-Fi signal in all hotel rooms and hotel common areas. Most hotels do not offer parking in Antigua due to the lack of... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is everything you want in a destroyed town like Antigua, it has the remnants of the convent with the arc and clock. The rooms are large and furbished with the style of the convent. The hallways have fascinating moments from the convent and an altar, the staff change daily flowers and offering.. It is smack in the middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Convento Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convento Santa Catalina

Address: 5 Ave Norte #28, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Convento Santa Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convento Santa Catalina Hotel

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay