We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Convento Santa Catalina

5 Ave Norte #28, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Convento Santa Catalina
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
13
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place, very well placed, surrounded by ruins, 2 blocks from cathedral. Quiet, nice, tidy, traditional. We had a great experience in this hotel, the staff was excellent, polite and really kind. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Conover, Nc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hotel Convento Santa Catalina is located in one of Antigua's premier locations. Located right at The Arch....one of Antigua's most popular attractions, it is a great place to stay. As another reviewer pointed out, Guatemala is a third world country on the same level as Haiti on the poverty scale. The hotel once was a Convent and the arch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The entry to the hotel is located directly under the Arch, which is one of the central landmarks in Antigua. The small, functional lobby opens onto a spacious courtyard, restaurant, and rooms and is far enough away from the bustle of the streets so that it is very quiet (except for the church bells at 15-minute intervals 24-7). The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Good over all place. Remember, Guatemala is a 3rd world Country. That said, this hotel has 24/7 hot water and good water pressure. A nice touch is that there are space heaters in the rooms. I have been traveling here for 16 years and that, for me, is a first in the villages. Lighting is better than most. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Windsor, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

I spent 4 nights in Hotel Santa Catalina in December 2014. The service was excellent, breakfast very large and delicious. The staff so friendly and helpful (and spoke english) and patient with our poor spanish. Our room was clean and comfortable. I didn't mind hearing the outside noise on the weekend and actually loved hearing the clock tower chime. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Great stay, great location just it's very close to a church and 6am gong gong gong mass is starting lol so a bit noisy in the early morning but hey that's the only thing I could complain about so the place is great staff is great all speak English clean rooms hot showers and a great restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

You couldn't ask for a better location-- connected to the Arco De Santa Catalina! Two blocks away from the Parque Central and all of the dining, shopping, and nightlife surrounding it. Easy to find, welcoming environment and staff, good breakfast and lunch (didn't try dinner). Some complaints are about the noise...if locals playing marimbas bothers you, don't stay in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Ok so the location is great, but my experience was TERRIBLE. All hotels in Antigua where full last weekend and suspiciously this hotel did have ONE ROOM left. anyways i was happy they had a place for us and i made a reservation, so we check in at around 4 pm leave our stuff at the room and go out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment even tho many things you wrote aren't very credible we accept it but with some doubt, one of the reasons we do not believe much of what is written is that the "loud" concert started at 9 am, another reason is that our staff are always caring and polite to all of our guests even... More 

Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We had the large family suite (rm109). It was cold and damp and there was no hot water at all for our whole stay. The bell at the church next door was LOUD despite ear plugs and went off every hour. Staff friendly enough. Would not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mexicohicks1, Manager at Hotel Convento Santa Catalina, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment we always appreciate comments good or bad even tho some aren't very credible because of their nature and details, we have checked room 109's shower and found nothing wrong with it all tho we haven't had anyone in room number 109 in the dates you say you stayed and no one has complaint about hot... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

First, let me start of by saying that I slept through the bell at night (with no ear plugs). Not so for my traveling companion. For me it wasn't a problem, but for others it may well be and it did ring every thirty minutes while we were there. Parking is at a lot about 2 blocks away, or between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question