We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carlton Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
1629 West Maumee Street, Adrian, MI 49221
Special Price
$10 off room rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Management photos
Carlton Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    11
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent one night here for the Pure 400 race. Hotel was nice for the money. Seemed that they didn't jack trier rates up for the race nearly as much as other hotels in the area. Pool area was decent. Breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmcladrian, General Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for your awesome review of our property, I hope you continue to visit us whenever you come to Adrian! More 

Clio, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel stated that they were pet friendly when I made my reservation. Told me there was an additional $75 pet fee when I checked in at 9:30 in the evening. I told them that I was not told that when I made the reservation. They let me in for an additional $35 (40% higher cost for the room) for having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcladrian, Front Office Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review our property, It concerns me that you were not told at booking about the pet fee, I will review this with my staff. We do charge a pet fee if you stay here with an animal, the length of time the animal is in the room does not make a difference on... More 

North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reservations for 4 days only stayed 1 and a half. Toilet kept over flowing in room 155 which is a handicap room. It was 1am in the morning. Called the front desk the young pregnant lady came to my room with a handful of towels after about 30 or so towels I finally cleaned the mess up. There was noway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcladrian, General Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am concerned about the way you are projecting what actually happened. your toilet overflowed and my desk agent helped you by bringing you towels like you stated. The next morning my housekeeping staff went down and sanitized and cleaned your room and also put a fan in there to... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Horrible place to stay. Very very rude and unprofessional staff. Not kid friendly whatsoever. Our kids were there for a baseball tournament and it did not matter what they did, they would get yelled at and they even swore at the boys too. The majority of the time the boys were either outside having fun playing wiffle ball or in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcladrian, General Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am sorry that you did not have a good stay here at the Carlton Lodge. We had numerous concerns about the team when they stayed here. from kids running around the parking lot all hours of the night unsupervised, to diving and horseplay in the pool area. Never has... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our stay was HORRIFIC!!! The staff were the rudest people we have ever met!!! Our entire baseball team stayed there along with all the families. There were constant issues with key cards NOT working. The front desk gave a room that was ALREADY OCCUPIED to one of our families and then gave them a room that only had a KING-SIZED... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gmcladrian, General Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review our property. This review is troubling to me simply for the fact on how you viewed the staff. My staff is trained to worry about guest safety and is told that safety is key. we honestly were concerned about the safety of you the guest, and other guests that were staying on... More 

Vidor, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015 via mobile

Chose the Carlton Lodge to stay for three nights while in town to visit family. The location is good and central to a lot of things. The rooms are average. The mattress is very firm, pillows are small. The free breakfast was mostly edible but not a lot of choices. The bar/restaurant food was terrible. The lodge is only two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gmcladrian, Front Office Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience with your stay. We strongly suggest to our guests to report any noise disturbances to the front desk so we can correct that problem immediately, our front desk staff is here 24 hours a day to serve you. I suggest that you try our hotel one more... More 

Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

While this hotel was clean, rooms were pretty ordinary. I had difficulty accessing my WiFi and getting cell reception from my room. My first two night's sleep was interrupted by noisy families running back and forth between rooms until after midnight. In checking in I had to make several stops at the reception desk and each time the young woman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmcladrian, Front Office Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

Cathy, thank you for taking time to give us a review, we like to hear from our guests good or bad so we know where to improve. I am sorry to hear that you did not have great internet service with us we are getting that upgraded here shortly. As for our front desk staff we strive for great customer... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Nice hotel with a cool inground/outdoor pool. The restaurant was wasn't too bad. It only served bar/fried food Burger was very good. Service was great at the front desk and restaurant. Wifi was fast enough. Rooms were clean and beds were nice. Breakfast was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gmcladrian, Front Office Manager at Carlton Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Our on site bar and restaurant is newly opened so its good to know that you like our burgers. great customer service and good reviews are awesome to hear ! thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

The bed was clean and comfortable but not the king we reserved. The lack of attention to details was the major irritation. The curtains were hung wrong, the microwave wasn't plugged in, no shampoo just conditioner and stains on the carpet. Oh, and the walls are thin......

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rochester, MI USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

The Carlton Lodge is the best choice among limited options in Adrian. It's a nice clean place with a pool and a better than average hot breakfast. The hotel clearly shows pride in ownership and is clean and well maintained, if a bit dated. Prices are moderate and the quality/price ratio is high. It's a good solid choice for an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adrian
20.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dundee
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dundee - Waterpark
21.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Quality Inn Dundee
Quality Inn Dundee
#3 of 4 in Dundee
3.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
23.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Sylvania/Toledo
24.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Milan
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay