We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Periwinkle B&B

Hotel website
9 North Water St, Nantucket, MA 02554
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Periwinkle B&B
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    10
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Periwinkle, would absolutely return. I arrived hours before check in, but Gail encouraged me to enjoy breakfast and go right into my room which was available. Room #2 Ishmael couldn't have been more charming. It was bright, quiet, immaculate. The air condition was quiet and effective. Bed was very comfortable. The closet included umbrellas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Manager Gail was very welcoming, offering us breakfast and a place to put our bags and a place to change even though we were hours early. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for it's value and proximity to town at a very reasonable price for Nantucket.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in a charming twin bed room on the top floor for a one day business trip. My room did not have its own bathroom so I had to share the bathroom with others which was on the floor below my room. I believe there was only one other room that didn't have an en suite bath and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a delightful stay at this Inn. Very convenient to Steamship Authority wharf and downtown. The manager is very friendly. Good Wi Fi access, and a desktop computer with printer free of charge for those of us who need to print documents for work while on holiday. Nice sitting area garden in back of Inn. Clean and well organized. Typical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had such a great stay at the Periwinkle Inn. I have stayed there the past two years and cannot wait to come back! A beautiful breakfast spread with surprise snacks in the afternoon such as cookies were the perfect touches. What was the best part was it is a walk away from town. The service was spectacular and they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
periwinkleinn, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

So happy that you enjoyed our light breakfast and our huge garden to relax in. It's always nice to hear people's take on the inn. Thank you for your thoughts, we appreciate them. Gail/Mgr More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't be sure but it appears the periwinkle/scallop inn changed hands over the last two years. So what's different now? We'll they have a new fancy website. And, they have new higher prices. Other than that the breakfast is lame. Rooms fairly clean. Service, well not so impressive. Doesn't appear to have an innkeeper. If there was one we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
periwinkleinn, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

So sorry that you did not have a good experience at our inn. Perhaps you were a late check-in and an early check-out and didn't get to relax in our garden, and converse with guests and staff as they passed by. It must have been my day off, so 'm sorry that I didn't get to meet you. When there,... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful stay - excellent service - breakfast of muffins, Greek yogurt and plenty of fresh fruit, afternoon cookies, lovely yard, beach chairs available too. We had a room with our own bathroom, but some rooms share. We were on the top floor and the ceiling is low and corners tight - would be a bit challenging for a very tall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This time I visited Nantucket by myself and was looking for non expensive accommodation which is clean and has breakfast. Periwinkle was perfect at this sense: clean and comfortable room in downtown and not expensive. Shared shower and toilette were well maintained and I was safely returned my computer which I forgot in the common area:). Breakfast is just what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
periwinkleinn, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Periwinkle/Scallop Inns. The nice thing about it is the independence to come and go as you please or to engage with other guests or staff if desired. It is clean, comfortable and convenient. Come back soon. Gail/Mgr More 

St. Barthelemy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointed to say the least. Rooms were shoebox size and priced as a luxury inn. My expectations were so much higher. If it rains, your only option is to sit in your very small room or hope for a chair in the kitchenette. There is NO common area sitting room inside. Located in the heart of downtown with easy access... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
periwinkleinn, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

So sorry that you were disappointed in our inn, if you had let us know of any issues, we would have tried to attend to them right away, as always. We monitor all areas frequently. it is a self-serve area, sorry if it was not perfect that day. The rugs are shampooed often and replaced as needed. I don't know... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a few days to explore Nantucket with our bicycles. The Periwinkle was the perfect location for our stay. It is a short walk from the ferry and close to many restaurants. The back yard with a bike rack was appreciated. We rode bikes all morning and spent the afternoon at different beaches using the chairs and towels they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
periwinkleinn, Manager at The Periwinkle B&B, responded to this review

So happy that you got to enjoy the full advantages of staying at the Periwinkle Inn. We try to make our guests feel at home in an historic older building yet have the comforts for an island vacation. Our location, large garden & amenities make it easy to come and go for all of the various jaunts around the island.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.6 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.1 mi away
The Veranda House
The Veranda House
#5 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#10 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#6 of 41 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#4 of 41 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay