We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Nantucket hotels

White Elephant

50 Easton Street, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Hot Dates, Cool Rates
Save Saved
You added White Elephant to your Saves list
White Elephant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
85%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Nantucket
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
skiergirlnyc New York City, New York
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    35
    21
    16
    7
See reviews for
62
146
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stay at the white elephant every June for a conference for several days. It's the premier luxury resort in Nantucket and I love it here. If you are fortunate to get a room with a deck and a view. Wow wow wow. THe downside is that rooms can really be spectacular or really stink. There are a number of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear skiergirlnyc; Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You bring up a good point. While the furnishings, carpets and bedding in all of our rooms are equally updated, the rooms and suites near the bar, which can be a bit noisy (they are described in just that manner, online and in person), do have the historic... More

Colts Neck, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second trip...last August stayed for the first time with my husband and had a fabulous experience. This time we brought our 9 year old....would not suggest bringing kids. This is not a resort that caters to kids. Period. No pool, no kid's club.... They did give us a scavenger hunt book which was the saving grace for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear GreycatLisa; Thank you for posting your review. We are so glad that your son enjoyed the scavenger hunt book! While we do not have a kids club, our sister property, the White Elephant Village (I like to think of it as the club level to the White Elephant) does have a pool. It may be something to consider on... More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a strong 3 star, or weak 4 star hotel. But when you consider it costs 4-figures a night to stay here in busy season it's just insulting and disappointing and loses points. Very difficult to wholeheartedly recommend to others. Location is excellent as is Nantucket generally, which is it's best selling point. But this hotel simply does not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear AF4ch; Thank you for staying with us here at the White Elephant. I appreciate your candor pertaining to amenities. You are right that we do not have a pool. We do, however, have a wonderful harbor right in our backyard and are steps from town. With an ever-changing backdrop of sailboats and activity that most of our guests prefer,... More

Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for our 25th anniversary and loved every minute of it. The accommodations, fine dining, and location were all top notch. The bloody Mary's were unbelievable! Make sure you get a view of the bay and a suite if available, our room also had a gas fireplace. Just wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear DawnD; Thank you for celebrating your 25th anniversary with us. That is a wonderful milestone. Congratulations! I cheers you both with a virtual Lobster Bloody Mary. Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager More

West Harrison, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is first class all the way. From the second we arrived they could not do enough for us. Every staff member was nicer than the next. Perfect location near town (5 minute walk) and a nice walk or courtesy shuttle to the beach as well. What a pleasant surprise that the hotel supplied towels, chairs and umbrellas too!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear chadct; Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. Our team takes such pleasure in the little things. Picnics to go are a great way to explore the island. We have so many beaches and places to go ... there is always a new place to discover. We are looking forward to your visit in 2015 for your 51st... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We rented one of the 2br cottages for the last week of August. Location is very convenient to town (2-3 block walk). Service from the hotel staff was friendly and decent. Don't bother eating in the restaurant. The staff there were not as great, kind of apathetic. Food is not good either, but expensive. Absolutely no imagination present in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear rkilmon; Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. You bring up some good points: The two bedroom cottages (there are four of them, all identical layout) are ideal for either two couples travelling together or families. The master bedroom has a king sized bed, the second bedroom either a king or two... More

Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service; beautiful harbor view but not worth the price. The Harbor View room for the price is outrageous. Not a private balcony therefore cannot open shades for view in room. Nice linens but bathroom and bedroom for price is not worth it. Also cannot use pool amenity at sister property, White Elephant Village. Cannot recommend to friends eventhough staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Louise 538; Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You are right, Nantucket in August is not inexpensive by any means. Hotels run at incredibly high rates and occupancy and when compared to other hotel experiences, I can understand that it is not for everyone. Our rates fluctuate by season and we have amazing value that... More

Westford, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You just cant beat the views overlooking the constant activity in the Harbor. We just stayed in a partial Harborview room, but it truely was wonderful. The room and bathroom was just beautiful, updated and spotless and beautifully furnished. The angle view was just stunning, and we loved sitting out on the balcony early every morning and enjoying the views... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Kevin O; Thank you for your wonderful review. Katherine as well as our housekeeping team will be delighted by your mentions of their efforts. I feel truly lucky to have such great employees year after year. We do have an amazing location. Most of our rooms in all areas of the hotel have some kind of water view. Whether... More

Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel staff was super friendly and accommodating. However, they couldn't make up for the very old and worn rooms. Especially given the price. The beds, furniture and bathroom were all very dated. The restaurant was lovely as was the staff. It also has a great location if you like being near the harbor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear LAHGD; Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry you felt that our décor was dated. While we are not a modern hotel, our furniture is less than a few years old and we take great care to update it when needed even throughout the season. Our bathrooms are not large. This is a good point. They are... More

Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been coming to Nantucket for over 20 years and have always stayed at the Cottages at the Boat Basin. This year because we booked late my wife.....two teenagers and two of their friends (6 of us total) decided to stay in a 3 bedroom cottage at The White Elephant. The Hotel has 2 Three bedroom cottages....one all on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Mark E; Thank you for your detailed review! Wow! We are delighted you and your family had such a wonderful time! Our three bedroom cottages are great. I am happy it worked out for you! We have many families that come back year after year and enjoy them. Our team of employees is amazing year after year and it... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage White Elephant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant

Address: 50 Easton Street, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket

608 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (484)
Viewed
Amenities (119)
Viewed
Harborview Guest Room (125)
Viewed
Lawn (16)
Viewed
Suite (140)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Nantucket with
any amenities