We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beachside

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
30 N Beach Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-2215
The Beachside
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015
MusicalTraveler Boston, Massachusetts
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    19
    19
    19
See reviews for
39
25
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

The beachside is unique in that it is quite expansive and has the convenience of motor lodge style in that you can pull your car close to if not directly in front of your room. Many people who travel with lots of supplies prefer this. I've stayed at the beach side many many times over the years and I remember... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

MusicalTraveler, thank you for your posting about your stay last season. The Beachside does have an excellent location, within walking distance of downtown which makes it easy for our guests. We are one of the few places on Nantucket that has plenty of parking, although we always encourage our guests to ferry or fly to this beautiful island.. Our availabiity... More 

Poughquag, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Were on the island for a wedding in September and found it a very clean and afforded place to stay. Rooms were large and well maintained. Very pretty grounds. Pool would have been great to use in the summer. Lots of places to sit outside and enjoy the grounds. Less than 10 minute walk to a nice beach. Also short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

52Kath, glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your weekend on this beautiful island and at the Beachside during your recent stay. The Beachside is conveniently located, as you say, with a short walk to nearby Jetties' beach and a 12 minute walk to downtown Nantucket. During the summer months, our pool is open daily and many... More 

Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We had a 4-day wedding. The bad: not much lighting in rooms, small beds , AND only one day of housecleaning.....so had to RE use towels, washcloths, wastebaskets full, fan in bathroom made noise and didn't work, out of sundries....not good! The Good: location to our destinations, desk women were very good getting us cabs, directions, etc. AND when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Mrs. DeRosa, I looked into all aspects of your review, as I was most concerned about your remarks about the lack of housekeeping for days. One of our managers confirmed to me that she spoke with you and you did tell her on the day that you were checking out that you had the "do not disturb" sign on your... More 

South East PA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We picked this place because it was on a list recommended to us. It also allows shorter stays than other places. If you get off the Steamship ferry, you hang a right at the first block and walk for about 10 min and it will be on your left. So it is not that far from downtown. You can hold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

BerksPA Dad, we always want to hear about how we are doing. As I mention to many reviewers, I encourage people to let not only the Beachside but other hotels know during your stay if there are any issues that need to be corrected while you are there. Many of our rooms do have pull-out couches and we purposely do... More 

Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I was not happy with my stay at all. The first thing I noticed was the incredibly dirty windows on the entry door to the room. Shutting the blinds solved that. There are only two very low lights in the room. There are other light switches but I couldn't find what they went to. The room needs more light. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Mr. Macone, After reading your review, I looked into all of the items that you mentioned. I also researched our daily log and could find no notations from you to voice your displeasure while you were staying with us. Certainly, any of our staff would have moved you to another room so that you would have been more comfortable during... More 

Massapequa Park, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Because my wife and I booked this hotel a little late, and also because there were a lot of weddings on the island at the time we stayed the hotel was booked. We had to take what we could get and it was the last room open. The room was on the bottom floor and had poor lighting but clean,it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

dlink629, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay at the Beachside. You are right, September has become a very busy month on the island for weddings, and most of the hotels and B&B's have been very busy on the weekends. It is always a good idea to check availability early, especially during these... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This was our second trip to Nantucket and second stay at The Beachside. If you are expecting elegance or upscale rooms, don't stay at The Beachside. If you would like a reasonably priced average room, you will like this hotel. Its within walking distance of the Harbor, town, one of the beaches and is very family and dog friendly. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Donna T, thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Beachside. You are correct, The Beachside is not, nor has ever tried to portray ourselves as a "Five Star" luxurious hotel. We are a clean, comfortable, family-and-four-legged-friends friendly hotel on the beautiful island of Nantucket that is affordable for those not looking to spend many hundreds of... More 

Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one evening and arrived around 7:30 pm. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and very helpful. The room was decent however in my bathroom I did not have wash clothes. I also didn't have a laundry bag in the closet. I went downstairs to use the mircowave I saw at the desk but the lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Qtess, thank you for letting us know of your recent stay. During some weeknights as we get into the Fall season, our lobby does close earlier than 11 pm, but we do staff a 24 hour phone number which is given to all guests checking in, as well as printed on your keycard and other printed material throughout the property.... More 

Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The hotel is located in walking distance to town but the room where damp the floors where always wet. Service was not great, no blanket was furnished in the room, we had to request one, daily we had to ask for coffee and cups to be replenish in the room. Breakfast consisted of cereal, muffin, and apple not variaty and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

GeorginaW, I am disturbed in reading your review of your recent stay at the Beachside. I checked the daily log sheet, we we try to solve any issues immediately, but could not find any record of the issues that you mentioned in your review. Certainly, we would have addressed the dampness issue and would have moved you to another room... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

We loved this place!!! Where do you find this location AND a beautiful pool in Nantucket for a reasonable price. Incredible location; short walk into town. Updated room poolside with a patio overlooking the pool; thought we had died and gone to heaven! Breakfast basic but adequate; lemon cranberry muffins to die for. What a wonderful time we had on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Pegmcewen7, what a wonderful review of the Beachside, and we all thank you for recognizing our hard work at trying to make our guests happy! We agree that our location makes it so convenient to go anywhere on this beautiful island, yet, the option of our pool is attractive for some of our guests to just relax in a quiet,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question