We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beachside

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
30 N Beach Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-2215
The Beachside
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gisele L Tampa, Florida
Add Photo

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    33
    20
    19
    19
See reviews for
41
25
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warning: this place books early! We snagged some of the last rooms when reserving three months ahead. This hotel is ideal for its easy walking distance (and lovely views) to town as well as the Great Point Lighthouse, beaches, and lovely neighborhood. It features a fenced-in pool with lifeguard, lawn, decent foyer with computers and poolside veranda rooms. Rent-a-jeeps appeared... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Gisele L, we always appreciate the time that our guests take to write of their experience at The Beachside. We have various levels of room types, based upon location and price. The Poolside rooms are the more expensive room types, all with private seating areas outside of the rooms. There are many of our guests whom prefer the least expensive... More 

Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a motel. It is not upscale, but it is fine. The people are great. It is near town and near the beach with a nice pool. I would definitely stay here again. Easy walk to the lighthouse beach. Moderate walk from the ferry landings. Very considerate staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

annabelle020, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Beachside. Indeed, we are an affordable alternative for many families to stay on the beautiful island of Nantucket. Our location to so many beaches, ferry and downtown, wonderful staff, lovely pool and clean and nicely appointed rooms all make the Beachside a "hidden... More 

Bedford, NH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family weekend on Nantucket Stayed at The Beachside Very clean and comfortable Stayed in a room that was poolside Room was very clean just the right size The staff was very friendly and accommodating The Hotel is a very short walking distance to the downtown area. Plenty of shops and eateries along the way. We will be returning to The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Wongnh, thank you for your comments about your recent enjoyable stay at the Beachside Hotel. We are very convenient to so many shops, restaurants and attractions on the beautiful island of Nantucket, and we are glad that you were able to experience that close proximity to everything. Our staff are professional in every respect, and we make sure that our... More 

Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I just returned from The Beachside, after spending 4 days there on a business trip. From the moment we entered the lobby, we were treated like Friends! Tansheka, Samantha, Rosemarie, Lisa - Thank you not only for a warm and welcoming greeting, but your smiles and your laughter throughout our stay! I can't leave out LeDetric, who hauled our over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

LAfromLI, We are so fortunate to have guests like you, and we appreciate your kind words about the Beachside and your recent stay with us. Our entire staff make it a priority to make sure that all of our guests have a truly exceptional experience here at the Beachside. We are glad to discuss various room options with all of... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

The beachside is unique in that it is quite expansive and has the convenience of motor lodge style in that you can pull your car close to if not directly in front of your room. Many people who travel with lots of supplies prefer this. I've stayed at the beach side many many times over the years and I remember... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

MusicalTraveler, thank you for your posting about your stay last season. The Beachside does have an excellent location, within walking distance of downtown which makes it easy for our guests. We are one of the few places on Nantucket that has plenty of parking, although we always encourage our guests to ferry or fly to this beautiful island.. Our availabiity... More 

Poughquag, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Were on the island for a wedding in September and found it a very clean and afforded place to stay. Rooms were large and well maintained. Very pretty grounds. Pool would have been great to use in the summer. Lots of places to sit outside and enjoy the grounds. Less than 10 minute walk to a nice beach. Also short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

52Kath, glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your weekend on this beautiful island and at the Beachside during your recent stay. The Beachside is conveniently located, as you say, with a short walk to nearby Jetties' beach and a 12 minute walk to downtown Nantucket. During the summer months, our pool is open daily and many... More 

Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We had a 4-day wedding. The bad: not much lighting in rooms, small beds , AND only one day of housecleaning.....so had to RE use towels, washcloths, wastebaskets full, fan in bathroom made noise and didn't work, out of sundries....not good! The Good: location to our destinations, desk women were very good getting us cabs, directions, etc. AND when I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Mrs. DeRosa, I looked into all aspects of your review, as I was most concerned about your remarks about the lack of housekeeping for days. One of our managers confirmed to me that she spoke with you and you did tell her on the day that you were checking out that you had the "do not disturb" sign on your... More 

South East PA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We picked this place because it was on a list recommended to us. It also allows shorter stays than other places. If you get off the Steamship ferry, you hang a right at the first block and walk for about 10 min and it will be on your left. So it is not that far from downtown. You can hold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

BerksPA Dad, we always want to hear about how we are doing. As I mention to many reviewers, I encourage people to let not only the Beachside but other hotels know during your stay if there are any issues that need to be corrected while you are there. Many of our rooms do have pull-out couches and we purposely do... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I was not happy with my stay at all. The first thing I noticed was the incredibly dirty windows on the entry door to the room. Shutting the blinds solved that. There are only two very low lights in the room. There are other light switches but I couldn't find what they went to. The room needs more light. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Mr. Macone, After reading your review, I looked into all of the items that you mentioned. I also researched our daily log and could find no notations from you to voice your displeasure while you were staying with us. Certainly, any of our staff would have moved you to another room so that you would have been more comfortable during... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nantucket hotels

Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Because my wife and I booked this hotel a little late, and also because there were a lot of weddings on the island at the time we stayed the hotel was booked. We had to take what we could get and it was the last room open. The room was on the bottom floor and had poor lighting but clean,it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

dlink629, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay at the Beachside. You are right, September has become a very busy month on the island for weddings, and most of the hotels and B&B's have been very busy on the weekends. It is always a good idea to check availability early, especially during these... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay