We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Nantucket hotels

The Beachside

2.5 of 5 Motel   |   30 N Beach Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-2215
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Beachside
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Beachside to your Saves list
53%
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Nantucket
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
52Kath Poughquag, New York
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    19
    19
    19
See reviews for
39
25
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Poughquag, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Were on the island for a wedding in September and found it a very clean and afforded place to stay. Rooms were large and well maintained. Very pretty grounds. Pool would have been great to use in the summer. Lots of places to sit outside and enjoy the grounds. Less than 10 minute walk to a nice beach. Also short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

52Kath, glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your weekend on this beautiful island and at the Beachside during your recent stay. The Beachside is conveniently located, as you say, with a short walk to nearby Jetties' beach and a 12 minute walk to downtown Nantucket. During the summer months, our pool is open daily and many... More

Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a 4-day wedding. The bad: not much lighting in rooms, small beds , AND only one day of housecleaning.....so had to RE use towels, washcloths, wastebaskets full, fan in bathroom made noise and didn't work, out of sundries....not good! The Good: location to our destinations, desk women were very good getting us cabs, directions, etc. AND when I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Mrs. DeRosa, I looked into all aspects of your review, as I was most concerned about your remarks about the lack of housekeeping for days. One of our managers confirmed to me that she spoke with you and you did tell her on the day that you were checking out that you had the "do not disturb" sign on your... More

South East PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked this place because it was on a list recommended to us. It also allows shorter stays than other places. If you get off the Steamship ferry, you hang a right at the first block and walk for about 10 min and it will be on your left. So it is not that far from downtown. You can hold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

BerksPA Dad, we always want to hear about how we are doing. As I mention to many reviewers, I encourage people to let not only the Beachside but other hotels know during your stay if there are any issues that need to be corrected while you are there. Many of our rooms do have pull-out couches and we purposely do... More

Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was not happy with my stay at all. The first thing I noticed was the incredibly dirty windows on the entry door to the room. Shutting the blinds solved that. There are only two very low lights in the room. There are other light switches but I couldn't find what they went to. The room needs more light. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Mr. Macone, After reading your review, I looked into all of the items that you mentioned. I also researched our daily log and could find no notations from you to voice your displeasure while you were staying with us. Certainly, any of our staff would have moved you to another room so that you would have been more comfortable during... More

Massapequa Park, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Because my wife and I booked this hotel a little late, and also because there were a lot of weddings on the island at the time we stayed the hotel was booked. We had to take what we could get and it was the last room open. The room was on the bottom floor and had poor lighting but clean,it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

dlink629, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay at the Beachside. You are right, September has become a very busy month on the island for weddings, and most of the hotels and B&B's have been very busy on the weekends. It is always a good idea to check availability early, especially during these... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second trip to Nantucket and second stay at The Beachside. If you are expecting elegance or upscale rooms, don't stay at The Beachside. If you would like a reasonably priced average room, you will like this hotel. Its within walking distance of the Harbor, town, one of the beaches and is very family and dog friendly. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Donna T, thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Beachside. You are correct, The Beachside is not, nor has ever tried to portray ourselves as a "Five Star" luxurious hotel. We are a clean, comfortable, family-and-four-legged-friends friendly hotel on the beautiful island of Nantucket that is affordable for those not looking to spend many hundreds of... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one evening and arrived around 7:30 pm. The lady at the front desk was pleasant and very helpful. The room was decent however in my bathroom I did not have wash clothes. I also didn't have a laundry bag in the closet. I went downstairs to use the mircowave I saw at the desk but the lobby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Qtess, thank you for letting us know of your recent stay. During some weeknights as we get into the Fall season, our lobby does close earlier than 11 pm, but we do staff a 24 hour phone number which is given to all guests checking in, as well as printed on your keycard and other printed material throughout the property.... More

Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The hotel is located in walking distance to town but the room where damp the floors where always wet. Service was not great, no blanket was furnished in the room, we had to request one, daily we had to ask for coffee and cups to be replenish in the room. Breakfast consisted of cereal, muffin, and apple not variaty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

GeorginaW, I am disturbed in reading your review of your recent stay at the Beachside. I checked the daily log sheet, we we try to solve any issues immediately, but could not find any record of the issues that you mentioned in your review. Certainly, we would have addressed the dampness issue and would have moved you to another room... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We loved this place!!! Where do you find this location AND a beautiful pool in Nantucket for a reasonable price. Incredible location; short walk into town. Updated room poolside with a patio overlooking the pool; thought we had died and gone to heaven! Breakfast basic but adequate; lemon cranberry muffins to die for. What a wonderful time we had on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Pegmcewen7, what a wonderful review of the Beachside, and we all thank you for recognizing our hard work at trying to make our guests happy! We agree that our location makes it so convenient to go anywhere on this beautiful island, yet, the option of our pool is attractive for some of our guests to just relax in a quiet,... More

Delaware
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed here at the end of July. Our room was in back, which was not bad, but the atmosphere is much nicer around the pool. Our room was average and a bit damp. I notified the front desk about the problem and they tried to help solve it, but couldn't figure out the problem. The staff in general was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Lyalya, We always appreciate it when guests take the time to let others know of their stay at the Beachside, so thank you! Your room was in our Cliffside section, which although near the pool, does not immediately surround it, as the more expensive Poolside Rooms do. Being on an island, it is never easy to address the humidity that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachside

Address: 30 N Beach Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-2215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Beachside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Beachside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beachside Hotel Nantucket
Beachside Hotel Nantucket
Beachside Motel Nantucket

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay