We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beachside

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
30 N Beach Street, Nantucket, MA 02554-2215
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Beachside
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Stayed for the weekend. Pros: There's a pool; Walking distance to the beach and town (although not a short walk to town); rooms were clean; more affordable than other hotels on the island. Cons: Expensive for what you get (but that seems to be most of the island). Overall, I would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank nikkimarie9
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

nikkimarie8, Happy New Year and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Beachside. Nantucket does have a variety of lodging that fluctuate in pricing, but the Beachside has remained affordable for our families and guests who visit time and time again. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, clean and affordable property, wonderful heated pool,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

Great location! Walking distance to town, Brant Point Lighthouse and beaches. Any issue brought to staff's attention was addressed in under 5 minutes. Price was very reasonable, especially for Nantucket. It was not super fancy but for those who enjoy staying on Nantucket without breaking the bank, this is your spot! We stayed in a pool view room (which I'm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katie F
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Katie F, thank you for mentioning how affordable our property is for this beautiful island of Nantucket! We pride ourselves on making sure that our guests' needs are met in any way that we can, and we are so happy that you will be visiting us again next year...perhaps in warmer weather, when our pool is open. Nantucket is lovely... More 

Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

I reviewed Beachside at Nantucket last year. My children and I went back solo -without my partner - this past August. I can only rave more. We finally got one of the cute poolside rooms that has a small terrace. The room was the nicest we have stayed in with new carpeting, more attractive furniture and bedding, etc. the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kareninctnyc
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Kareninctnyc, Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know of your recent stay at the Beachside! We are constantly trying to improve our property, and we take pride in our staff and all of our efforts to accommodate our guests' needs. As much as you appreciate what we continue to do to improve, we appreciate your... More 

Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night - staff helpful, breakfast is adequate. It's close to the beach which is a good selling point. Just A short walk to town. I would stay here again and it's as reasonable as you can find in Nantucket

Helpful?
Thank rick123tacoma
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Rick123tacoma, Thank you for your recent review of the Beachside. You are so right, our location is very accomodating for our guests, being so close to town and other island locations. We are a very clean, family and pet-friendly property, and one of the more affordable, so we appreciate it when our guests note this and appreciate our hotel. We... More 

Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

For my 50th birthday my mother took me to Nantucket for a vacation and opted to stay at the Beachside. From the start there were miscommunications in regards to the rates of the rooms which made for a poor way to start off a special time away..we were told over the phone one thing and when we arrived something entirely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Scott M, I am most familiar with your recent stay with us at the Beachside, as there seemed to have been several attempts by you and your mother to try to get a lower rate room, or a free room during your stay. Our policy is not to give a room for "free", but we did honor last year's special... More 

Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

This hotel is older but it is in a great location near Jetties Beach and close to town. The people were very nice and the rooms were clean and spacious. Great value for a Nantucket hotel so close to town.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Cheryl C, thank you for your nice review of our hotel. Our convenient location does make it very easy for our guests to walk to town or go to nearby Jetties Beach. We are going to stay open this season until the first weekend of December for the Nantucket Chistmas Stroll, so we hope that you will come back and... More 

Groton, CT
Level Contributor
258 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

It is an open two level strip motel but well maintained and with very nice grounds. The location is perfect - halfway between the Town and Beach - so one can walk to anything or take the bus to far points on the island. There is a free continental breakfast in a spacious lobby or to take poolside.

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

PeterP, thank you for your recent review of the Beachside and noting what a great, convenient location we have! We offer our free continental breakfast daily, as you noted, as a convenience for our guests but there are many wonderful island restaurants to explore, as well. We hope to see you at the Beachside in the future, and thank you... More 

Sharon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

I stayed here for three nights in September I found that the rooms are small and very damp. The room smelled of bleach and mildew. The beds are also very small. There is no restaurant on the property. They serve coffee,tea and muffins in the morning. The front desk clerks are very pleasant. But this motel is very overpriced for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jetsetsun
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

Jetsetsun, I looked into your recent stay with us at the Beachside and did not see any note of problems or complaints about your stay. As I mention to many reviewers, it is important to let us know at the time of your stay if there are any issues and we would be more than happy to accommodate you in... More 

Havertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

We had a wonderful stay at The Beachside the week before Labor Day. Our room, the common areas, the pool and the grounds were very clean and well kept. The staff was very accommodating to our needs. The location of the hotel is great--a 10 minute walk to town and to Jetties Beach. I can't think of one complaint! Keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank ECVacation
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

ECVacation, so nice to hear your candid comments about the Beachside! We are trying to constantly improve every aspect of the Beachside to ensure our guests' satisfaction and will continue to do so. We hope to see you again at the Beachside, and maybe even during a winter visit during the annual Christmas Stroll, 12/4/15 to 12/6/15, which we are... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

The staff is friendly and efficient, and the condition of the rooms, pool, and main areas are in great shape. I wasn't sure what to expect based on some other photos my husband showed me online, but apparently not on the hotel's website as those look better (maybe travelocity?) Anyway, we would have been perfectly happy with our courtyard poolside... More 

Helpful?
Thank ValerieinVB
KarenK12_12, Owner at The Beachside, responded to this review

ValerieinVB, thank you for recognizing many of the wonderful things about the Beachside in your review. I was most disturbed to read about the experience you had with the nearby guests who smoked outside of their rooms and were disruptive. Certainly, if I had known, or any of my staff, for that matter, we would have immediately put a stop... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
2.9 mi away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#9 of 14 in Nantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.3 mi away
White Elephant
White Elephant
#7 of 14 in Nantucket
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
76 Main Nantucket
76 Main Nantucket
#3 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#1 of 14 in Nantucket
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay