We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

University Lodge in Amherst

345 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
University Lodge in Amherst
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
University Lodge in Amherst
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
20
5
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Swansea, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night when visiting our daughter at UMASS. Couldn't be a better location... while I went for a run, my wife walked over to campus. Room was clean, though old. After reading about noise issues in other reviews, we asked to be placed in a quieter room and was given a 2nd floor room (facing E. Pleasant St). It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the University Lodge! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Our location is our best selling point. The upper floor is nice and quiet, since it is the highest floor and there is no noise above you! I hope you'll stay with us the next time you visit your daughter! More 

Hartford CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For $70 on a quiet Sunday night this room was fine. It is old and tired but close to campus and clean. Bathroom roomy and good water pressure. Can't comment on noise because few guests and no one above us. If you aren't looking for amenities or plush linens and extras - you will be satisfied with this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the University Lodge. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Although we don't have as many frills or amenities are other hotels in the area, our focus is to offer just what you received: a clean, cozy room at a great value! I hope you will stay with us again! More 

Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We chose this "lodge" for the location. Great location. Near UMass and town center. However, I cannot recommend this place. The previous reviewers were right, it is a party place. If you enjoy hearing drunk college kids yell and throw things for hours all night, this is the place for you. The room itself is barely okay. The mattress was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience. I am very suprised to hear that the mattress was uncomfortable, as all of our mattresses and box springs were replaced with brand new Serta products this past July. I hope that you will reconsider staying... More 

Oreland, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

My friends and I just stayed that lodge this past weekend for two nights on the first floor. While the other guests were friendly, they were also very noisy and the staff didn't seem to care. The first night there were about 10 people yelling right outside my door, they did move along after I came out to speak with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Homecoming weekend is a very lively weekend, and I am sorry about the noise you experienced. Once our staff was aware that there were guests playing beer pong, they were asked to stop playing. We have already put a note in our records that you would prefer a room on the second... More 

Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The University Lodge has not changed much since I used to run by the place as an Amherst undergrad in the early 1980s. This place looks like a family-run motel built in the 1950s. No breakfast. Decor is tired (two framed pictures which were exactly the same). Bathroom is old, but clean. The location is great in downtown Amherst, close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the University Lodge! I'm glad you enjoyed our close proximity to downtown and the UMass campus. I'd like to thank you for your feedback about our decor. We are always looking for ways to update out property, so I will definitely be taking your notes into consideration! I hope you will stay... More 

Merchantville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great find, right up the street from the downtown area. Very friendly staff--hotel clerk went and found a phone charger for us when we realized ours had broken. This was a last minute booking, so we were very pleasantly surprised by it. Very clean and charming. Nothing fancy, but exactly what we needed for a family stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the University Lodge! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us! We strive for excellent service so I am glad you thought our desk staff was personable! I hope we will see you again next time you are in Amherst! More 

Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had two rooms and we paid around $150 per night for each room. Room 2 was dirty and smelled of mold and mildew. It was a bit damp. Not sure if there was a water leak or if it had to do with the window air conditioning unit but it was gross. We were told no other rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay. I apologize for the dampness, it has been an extremely rainy summer here in Amherst. I am very shocked to hear that you were unhappy with the bedding, as we just placed brand new Serta mattresses and box springs in all... More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is basically just your standard roadside motel, with little in the way of additional amenities (such as a pool, exercise facilities, etc.), but it does the job, and the price was certainly right. We had a room with two beds, with a AAA discount, the rate was around $70 per night--certainly a good value for this location. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry about the noise from the room above yours. Unfortuantely since the building is older, the sound proofing is not as updated as it would be at a newer property. We do infact try to put people into rooms where... More 

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very clean rooms, beds and bath area. Room smelled and looked very clean on arrival. Stay here if you are visiting Amherst fir graduation or other events. Took early morning runs around the neighborhood. Great! I intend to stay again and recommend it strongly. This is a well maintained quiet lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at University Lodge! I'm very glad you enjoyed our close proximity to Amherst and UMass! The town and campus are beautiful places to go through on a run! I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Amherst! More 

Derry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked the room for only one night, thank goodness. The first thing we noticed was dust and dirt on the tv. Ok, so maybe they were busy and overlooked that. Didn't have much time to look around because we had to go out as soon as we got there. We got back late and jumped into bed and sank into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question