We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Amherst hotels

University Lodge in Amherst

345 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002
Hotel amenities
University Lodge in Amherst
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added University Lodge in Amherst to your Saves list
32%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amherst
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
4
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (37)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Oreland, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I just stayed that lodge this past weekend for two nights on the first floor. While the other guests were friendly, they were also very noisy and the staff didn't seem to care. The first night there were about 10 people yelling right outside my door, they did move along after I came out to speak with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Homecoming weekend is a very lively weekend, and I am sorry about the noise you experienced. Once our staff was aware that there were guests playing beer pong, they were asked to stop playing. We have already put a note in our records that you would prefer a room on the second... More

Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The University Lodge has not changed much since I used to run by the place as an Amherst undergrad in the early 1980s. This place looks like a family-run motel built in the 1950s. No breakfast. Decor is tired (two framed pictures which were exactly the same). Bathroom is old, but clean. The location is great in downtown Amherst, close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the University Lodge! I'm glad you enjoyed our close proximity to downtown and the UMass campus. I'd like to thank you for your feedback about our decor. We are always looking for ways to update out property, so I will definitely be taking your notes into consideration! I hope you will stay... More

Merchantville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Great find, right up the street from the downtown area. Very friendly staff--hotel clerk went and found a phone charger for us when we realized ours had broken. This was a last minute booking, so we were very pleasantly surprised by it. Very clean and charming. Nothing fancy, but exactly what we needed for a family stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the University Lodge! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us! We strive for excellent service so I am glad you thought our desk staff was personable! I hope we will see you again next time you are in Amherst! More

Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had two rooms and we paid around $150 per night for each room. Room 2 was dirty and smelled of mold and mildew. It was a bit damp. Not sure if there was a water leak or if it had to do with the window air conditioning unit but it was gross. We were told no other rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay. I apologize for the dampness, it has been an extremely rainy summer here in Amherst. I am very shocked to hear that you were unhappy with the bedding, as we just placed brand new Serta mattresses and box springs in all... More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is basically just your standard roadside motel, with little in the way of additional amenities (such as a pool, exercise facilities, etc.), but it does the job, and the price was certainly right. We had a room with two beds, with a AAA discount, the rate was around $70 per night--certainly a good value for this location. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry about the noise from the room above yours. Unfortuantely since the building is older, the sound proofing is not as updated as it would be at a newer property. We do infact try to put people into rooms where... More

New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very clean rooms, beds and bath area. Room smelled and looked very clean on arrival. Stay here if you are visiting Amherst fir graduation or other events. Took early morning runs around the neighborhood. Great! I intend to stay again and recommend it strongly. This is a well maintained quiet lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maylin C, Front Office Manager at University Lodge in Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at University Lodge! I'm very glad you enjoyed our close proximity to Amherst and UMass! The town and campus are beautiful places to go through on a run! I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Amherst! More

Derry, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Booked the room for only one night, thank goodness. The first thing we noticed was dust and dirt on the tv. Ok, so maybe they were busy and overlooked that. Didn't have much time to look around because we had to go out as soon as we got there. We got back late and jumped into bed and sank into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The sheets were clean, but the blanket (below the comforter) had dark hair ALL OVER IT. I called the front desk and they agreed to move me. When I went there to exchange keys, the front desk person let me know that "our house keeper DOES have dark hair." I thought "great." The second room ALSO had hair all over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stated here 30 years ago, and nothing has changed except the price is 100% higher. While the people are extremely nice that work there, the time for this lodge has long passed. It should be demolished and replaced with a modern, clean, newly furnished and upgraded infrastructure. This should be a mainstay for umass alumni and guests. In its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked here because of the price and thought, how bad can it be? Next time I'd spend a little more and get a nicer room someplace else. University Lodge's redeeming qualities were its lack of bedbugs and location. The furniture was worn and gross, the AC unit was uncontrollable, the bathroom smelled and the allotment of pillows, etc. were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to University Lodge in Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Lodge in Amherst

Address: 345 North Pleasant Street, Amherst, MA 01002
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your University Lodge in Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Lodge In Amherst Hotel Amherst
University Hotel Amherst

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay