We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Inns of Annapolis

Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Historic Inns of Annapolis
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    394
    207
    75
    50
    53
See reviews for
156
380
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (779)
  • Mar-May only
    (181)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (262)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (196)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed at this property several times and enjoy the historic feel, yet the comfort of the room. Shaded courtyard is fine for summer breakfast. The location allows us to easily walk to the waterfront and Naval Academy. Gorgeous views from just up the hill where the capitol sits.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We hadn't been to Annapolis for 10 years and wanted to have a romantic getaway on our anniversary. We came across Historic Inns and decided to give it a try. The booking experience was easy. The arrival experience was poor. There is no parking in the vicinity and their valet park is $24. I pulled in front of the check-in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We try to stay at the Historic Inns of Annapolis at least once a year. From walking the cobblestone streets to sailing the harbor, it's a wonderful break from the typical city distractions. Eating at the Treaty of Paris feels like Ben Franklin should be seated at the table. Another treat is down the street at the Ram's Head on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The service at the Historic Inns is great, there can't be no doubt about it. We were created by the valets, and they took care of our car even if we were too early and the room wasn't ready yet. The day we left, they brought our car right to our accommodation (the hotel has three different buildings) so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Samadai, thank you so much for all the wonderful things said about the staff and valet. I was sorry to hear the a/c was not better. Since they are window units it can be hard to get a dark room and proper temp in a room. We look forward to you coming back and enjoying the Calvert House. Warm Regards,... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We love it! The front desk staffs were very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice and our king size bed was very comfortable. Excellent and beautiful location, we enjoyed staying here; we could walk every where that we need to visit. We hope to come back soon. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you for awesome reivew and letting everyone know about the Calvert house and how much you loved the hotel. We look forward to your return visit soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When we arrived we discovered that the room type we had reserved was not available, even though I had reconfirmed my reservation that morning. We were told that the third party reservation service had made a booking mistake, but given it was a weekend with two wedding parties and the annual ten mile race, the hotel was fully booked. Sean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and awesome comments about the fantastic location and excellent staff, we love to hear things like this. We look forward to having you back soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 2 nights over a recent weekend. The location is excellent but the rooms are on the small side. The service was very good but are not very helpful with making recommendations. The A/C is very poor, it will keep the room cool but it goes on and off all night and sounds like a small tornado. It will definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

ScottyGeeee, thank you for your comments and feedback. We were delighted to hear about how good the service was. We do have many diffferent room sizes so some are small and some are very large. As for the parking, there is a lot that is free, however this is only on the weekends, so please keep that in mind, otherwise... More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were lucky to stay in a historic queen guest room directly facing the State House. Our room had four windows providing a lot of natural sunlight. Check in was seamless and the staff was very friendly (use their valet parking service - parking can be difficult downtown). Our room was immaculate and well appointed. The Governor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a wonderul review, we are so glad you enjoyed our charming hotel. We love to hear such wonderful things, come back and see us again soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Maryland Inn. Great location on Main Street, very large room, clean room and bath, We would have like a more updated decor and furniture, and were surprised to not see any staff on the premises during the three days we stayed there (beside the cleaning crew). I understand the lobby is in another building, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you Fred75240 for the review and feedback. We are currently in the process of updating the whole hotel, we hope you come back to see our new product. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed two nights at the Governor Calvert Inn. It's in a great location near everything that Old Annapolis has to offer. We enjoy staying at historic hotels and this was a very good experience. The staff was pleasant and the room was quite nice. If we were to return to Annapolis in the future, we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review Don, it's truly appreciated. We do hope you come back and see us again soon, would love to have you. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Main street(5)
  • Governor Calvert House(3)
  • Naval Academy(3)
  • Robert Johnson(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#12 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Annapolis
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay