We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Inns of Annapolis

Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Special Offer
Web Special | 20% Off
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Tippiehall Sarasota, Florida
Add Photo Write a Review

764 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    388
    201
    72
    50
    53
See reviews for
151
373
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (764)
  • Mar-May only
    (181)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (251)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked our stay because of the location and it's history. We were in the Robert Johnson House, 4th floor King room. It was a corner room so the views were beautiful! the room was clean, except for soap scum in the shower/bath (nothing that a bit of scrubbing bubbles couldn't handle). Check in was easy and the valet was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The best part of this hotel is its proximity to everything in Annapolis. Everything is a short walk from the hotel. The room itself was small, but well kept. There was nothing special to the room, it was a bed and a bathroom, but it was nicely appointed and maintained well. Even though I had signed up for a package... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you so much shultz314 for the nice review and letting everyone know about our hotel. We love to hear feedback, like our hotel was nicely appointed and maintained well. and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit and we that parking is better next time. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is an interesting place. The reservation was booked directly with the Historic Inns of Annapolis over the phone. I was told they offered valet parking or can give directions to a garage when we arrive. They never explained that there are three locations, but all check-ins are done at the Governor Calvert House which would have saved lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear mchandler2 thank you so much for the feedback, we will certainly work on our communication with our guests about parking an the 3 buildings. We were happy to hear you saying you can't beat the location and you really enjoyed walking around town and shopping in the boutiques. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to... More 

Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was planning a weekend in Annapolis for my wife and me, but wasn't sure where to stay. Narrowed it down to either Marriott (bit expensive, but knew what to expect) or roll the dice with Historic Inns (less expensive, could be more charming and interesting, but variety of complaints on Trip Advisor about musty smell, loud AC, slow valet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear John, thank you for all the wonderful comments, we love to hear things like this and that you had such an enjoyable visit. Please come back and stay with us again soon! Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked a quick weekend at the Historic Inns of Annapolis through a travel site. Upon arrival, I found out that we had been booked into a room with 1 full size bed, which was not going to work. The women at the front desk was very helpful and gladly re-accommodated us in the Governor Calvert building. The hotel itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you HighFlyer, we love to hear your comments that you think the best part of a stay at the Historic Inns is the location. You can easily walk to everywhere that you need to. Everything is less than a 10 minute walk and there is no need to even move your car. This is so true as we are... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Annapolis! Parking was tricky but they have that figured out with Mark, the awesome valet! Very cute and sweet room, small bathroom and AC units, but that is part of the charm! Comfy bed, view of the water...we'd go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you Kim for the awsome comments and that you though we had beautiful hotel right in the heart of Annapolis. Come back an see us again soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Downingtown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful place to spend quiet time within walking distance of all that Annapolis has to offer. Annapolis has many wonderful shops, restaurants and coffee shops. This is our third trip to this hotel and we WILL be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you Walter for the wonderful review, we are so glad that this was you third trip to this hotel and we WILL be back again. We loof forward to your return. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You can't beat the location and cool historic vibe of these properties. Great rates too, we got a return visitor discount and they have web discounts, book thru their website directly. We were booked into a queen in the Johnson House but arrived at 2 pm before check-in starts, the very helpful gal at the front desk said we could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Thank you wereonalark for the great review, with all the nice comments. We truly love when our guests a have a great time an share their story. We appreciate you letting everyone know about the great staff as well. We hope to see you back soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just checked in to the Gov Calvert Inn. So far the service is a complete disaster. Checked in quickly. We were told valet would be out in 2 min to get our car. 30 min no valet. Went back in twice. Getting information on what to do was like pulling teeth. We ended up staying 5 nights. The first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Bev, thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay. I was sorry to hear about your room an valet situation, this certainly is not typical that happen, please accept my sincere apology. I hope that this experience will not sour you on a posible return visit. We would love to see you again an experience the hospitality... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Gov. Calvert Inn on Christmas night and it was just lovely! The staff was professional yet very helpful and friendly, the Inn was beautifully decorated and our room was gorgeous. Could not have had a nicer stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Claudia, thank you for the review from your stay. We love to hear how the staff was professional yet very helpful and friendly. The Inn beautifully decorated and you room was gorgeous. Great to hear you could not have had a nicer stay! Come back an see us again soon. Warm Regards, Daryl Strayer, GM More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Main street(5)
  • Governor Calvert House(3)
  • Naval Academy(3)
  • Robert Johnson(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annapolis hotels
0.5 mi away
Loews Annapolis Hotel
Loews Annapolis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
Annapolis Marriott Waterfront
#10 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.6 mi away
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
O'Callaghan Hotel Annapolis
#12 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Annapolis
0.8 mi away
Westin Annapolis
Westin Annapolis
#9 of 21 in Annapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Annapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay