We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Annapolis hotels

Historic Inns of Annapolis

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Off | WEB SPECIAL
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Inns of Annapolis to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
djk_9 djk_9
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    172
    63
    45
    49
See reviews for
136
325
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (679)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
djk_9
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms are very small, although clean and comfortable. Not a bad place to stay since most of the time you're out and about anyway. We do enjoy the "Geo. Washington slept here" thought...an interesting charm. Biggest drawback was that their wasn't a chair (or space) in the room for my husband, who sometimes gets up at night for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lemoore, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel because we could walk to our favorite restaurant in Annapolis. The room is small but nicely done up. My only real complaint is that the exterior walls are paper thin so,if you have a room on the street (we were 2nd floor, street side), when people stop outside on the sidewalk you can hear their conversations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Jessica H: Thank you for posting your feedback. I was pleased to read that you found our location to be excellent for your recent visit. I am sorry that noise was an issue. Our Robert Johnson House was actually a residence, dating back to 1772. As a result of that, some of the rooms in that building are in... More 

El Salvador
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at the Historic Inns several times before and were always in the Robert Johnson House. This time we were put in the Maryland Inn and the front desk suggested that since we hadn't stayed there before we should try it. It's ok for an experience but our room is cramped and very shabby. The carpet and wallpaper need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear escapeveloticy2014: Thank you for your feedback. I apologize you did not enjoy your room in the Maryland Inn as you have enjoyed your previous stays in the Robert Johnson. I will share your feedback about your stay with my team and for those items you noted we will work to address them. I appreciate you taking the time to... More 

Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All 3 buildings of this hotel are historic. They are as well kept and set up as a historic building can be with retrofitting of conveniences etc. I can only speak of our room @ the Robert Johnson House and common areas at check-in. The heater was loud when it started and woke me on a couple of occasions. I'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear PaDave: Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed a number of aspects of our hotel and appreciate the historic ambiance we have strived to preserve. I am sorry the heater was loud and will see how we can address that. I hope that we helped explain the various parking options... More 

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a family wedding last night and everyone was scattered among the various historic buildings. Except for a very hot room, everything was splendid, from the big and comfy beds and rooms, the fine service from the desk personnel, the food in the banquet area, and the general feeling of being back in time when things were slower, easier,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear WashCaps: Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the overall ambiance of the Historic Inns and that you found our rooms to be comfortable and the service very good. I do apologize for the hot room but am glad you told us so we could fix it. We... More 

Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I will admit, staying in one of these old beautiful buildings with the mayor as our neighbor did NOT stink. But the inconvenience of needing to be driven over to your building upon arrival, waiting (sometimes a long time) for someone to bring your car back, needing to drop the car off by the main building and then walk back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Trvlng4fun: Thank you for posting your comments. Thank you for noting that you enjoyed your stay in one of our historic buildings. I am sorry that you did not find the valet parking process to be as seamless as we work to make it. We have three physically separate buildings and the Historic District of Annapolis is a very... More 

Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel valet was very helpful. Told us where we could park self park for the whole weekend for free. That was a help because the boat show was in full swing and it gets very hard to park. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable but the aside from the valet, the staff was not helpful at all. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear djip1: Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay with us. I apologize that we did not provide you with a pleasant interaction during your stay. We routinely receive very positive comments about the enthusiasm of our front desk team and so I am disappointed we failed to deliver for you during this stay. Our Team reads... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Calvert House last week. The staff was great and the room was fine. We always stay here when coming to Annapolis (usually to see a concert at the Rams Head--another great place. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Peter E: Thank you for posting your feedback about your most recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at our hotel and that our team was so pleasant. We are about a 7 minute walk from Ram’s Head, a live music venue offering a consistently diverse line up of music. They always have a... More 

Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Governor Calvert House, one of the 3 inns that are part of the Historic Inns of Maryland in Annapolis. My son was getting married and they had the reception at the Governor Calvert House and we stayed for two nights. The facility has an absolutely great location on the State House Circle and very close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear robtbros: Thank you for your feedback. We host nearly 80 wedding events each year and are very, very aware of our role in helping making these days full of memories that will last a lifetime. Annapolis is a fantastic wedding destination and the Historic Inns offers a unique wedding venue. My Team and I are very pleased that we... More 

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our son recently held his wedding reception at the Governor Calvert House. He and his new wife could not have picked a better venue. This quaint and historic Inn was perfect. We were very pleased with the food, staff and the reception setup. The staff at every level were very helpful. We did stay at the Inn and the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Thomas T: Thank you for posting your feedback about your Son’s recent wedding. We were honored to have been chosen to participate in such a special day for you and your Family and were just delighted that we helped contribute to such a positive memory. Thank you so much. We wish you and your Family the best. Mike Radike... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Historic Inns of Annapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Robert Johnson(6)
  • Main street(6)
  • Governor Calvert House(5)
  • Valet parking(4)
  • Naval Academy(4)
  • Would definitely stay(3)

Additional Information about Historic Inns of Annapolis

Address: 58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Annapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Historic Inns of Annapolis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Inns of Annapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Inns Of Annapolis Hotel Annapolis
Historic Hotel Annapolis
Annapolis Historic Hotel
Historic Inns Annapolis
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Business Hotel in Annapolis
#8 Family Hotel in Annapolis

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay