We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Inns of Annapolis

Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
58 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401
Special Offer
Web Special | 20% Off
Historic Inns of Annapolis
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Annapolis
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Arthur T lawrenceville nj
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    188
    68
    49
    53
See reviews for
146
352
30
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (731)
  • Mar-May only
    (176)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (223)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
lawrenceville nj
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Governor Calvert House is comfortable, welcoming, and placed in the middle of Annapolis' quaint village. You feel as though you have stepped back in time and are surrounded by a wonderful array of shops, restaurants, and odd boutique shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was in a hotel across the street from the hotel I checked in at- there are three buildings that make up the inn. One of them looked nice (where you check in) so the overall impression was that it was going to be a comfortable stay. My actual room had no AC and bugs. After a few calls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Robert Johnson House for one night. The hotel does not have many amenities but we could have not asked for a better location. The hotel was well priced and clean. Recommend this hotel if you want to spend the night walking around town and enjoying city. It is convenient to everything you need and want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear sleepy510nj: Thank you for your feedback. I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed our location and that your room was a great value and clean! We are, in fact, absolutely the best location in the downtown Historic District and will continue to strive to get “5’s” on our service rankings, up from the “4” we earned from your... More 

Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Calvert House. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. The rooms were nicely furnished with great bed linens. We stayed in a room that overlooked the enclosed courtyard so it was very dark.. it was hard to tell what time of day it was. The other issue is that they have weddings all weekend long in season... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear DorisP52: Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read how helpful and kind you found our team to be. We do host a large number of weddings over the course of a year and do try to place wedding guests in the rooms facing our interior atrium. However, this is not always possible due to bed type... More 

Arlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our new favorite place to stay in Annapolis! We decided at the last minute to go to Annapolis for a night and this was the only place available. We booked a room with a double bed in the Robert Johnson building. It was a nice room, very quaint and clean. Yes the a/c unit is very loud (as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear hokegirlArlington: Thank you for posting your feedback. It was great to read that we are your “favorite place to stay in Annapolis!” I was happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and that you very much enjoyed our location in the heart of the Annapolis Historic District. Have a great weekend and come see us... More 

Middleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Maryland Inn, a beautiful old hotel in the heart of Annapolis with a Starbucks in the basement - excellent blend of new and old for me! The room was charming and the bathroom had a wonderful shower - bathroom was quite small but it is an historic building. Didn't mind the window AC but there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear JaneLopes: Thank you for posting your feedback. I was happy to read that several aspects of your stay at the Maryland Inn were very pleasant. I am sorry that you encountered a musty odor inn your room and will share that feedback with my team. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank... More 

Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i don't need a lot in a room but, it is hard for me to believe the Mayland Inn would be on anyone's repeat list. 3 items: A double bed - what hotel these days wouldn't provide a queen size bed? In addition, the mattress sagged in the middle causing both of us to fall into the middle. Window air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Kmanred49: Thank you for posting your feedback. I apologize that the window air conditioner was too loud and that the drains in the sink and tub did not function well. I hope you contacted us so that we were able to address the issue of the drain; I am aware that the noise from the window unit can be... More 

Redmond, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a horrible experience at an airport hotel the night before, canceled my room there, and got a last minute reservation at the Historic Inns. The location is fabulous, the three inns are all on the ring road surrounding the Maryland State House. I stayed in the Robert Johnson House. The room was smallish, suitable for a couple, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear IanF007: Thank you for posting your feedback. I was so happy we did a great job for you after a challenging stay at a different property and that you very much enjoyed your stay. I was especially happy to read that your room was “immaculate” and will share your feedback with my Director of Housekeeping. Thank you for taking... More 

Montrose, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at the Maryland Inn. The hotel actually has 3 buildings. Ours was the newest, built in 1776 or so. Room was very good size, comfortable. Floors sloped a little, but more unique than annoying. The room tended to be noisy in regards to traffic, but with the narrow streets of Annapolis, I would guess that is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear JonG977: Thank you for posting your feedback. I was happy that you enjoyed our Maryland Inn and that you appreciated some of the idiosyncrasies that go with a building nearly 250 years old. I hope you got a chance to get out and walk around the Historic District; Annapolis is absolutely beautiful in the spring. We value your patronage... More 

Irvine, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are into modern conveniences this is not the place for you. The Inns are actually three separate buildings (2-4 minute walk apart). Each was originally built in the 1700s and have been updated but keep in mind that an updated 18th century building is not a new Marriott. My room was on the fourth floor of the Maryland... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mradike1, General Manager at Historic Inns of Annapolis, responded to this review

Dear Dan S: Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Historic Inns. I was pleased to read that your stay in the Maryland Inn exceeded your expectations; as you noted we are not a typical hotel and offer a different style, infused with historic ambiance. I’m happy our location worked out so well for you... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Main street(5)
  • Governor Calvert House(3)
  • Naval Academy(3)
  • Robert Johnson(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities