We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Augusta hotels

Senator Inn & Spa

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   284 Western Avenue, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Senator Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Senator Inn & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
79%
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
An93lbabu Brooklyn, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (405)
  • Photos (137)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (126)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    105
    43
    29
    16
See reviews for
96
109
21
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

So we needed a place to stay that is in between Bar Harbor and Portland during our road trip and we ended up picking this hotel. Check in was easy and the hotel have parking spaces for the guests. The room I had was oddly design. I had room 105 which is first floor. So, there are two doors. One... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Senator Inn & Spa. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and our Cloud 9 restaurant during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Peoria, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Older hotel, but very clean. The staff at the Senate Inn & Spa are very friendly and helpful. The exercise room has several workout machines that are available to customers. Did not use their spa, seems very busy with a lot of locals using. The food served for our meeting was average, food at restaurant was pretty good. Never been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you, Mike S. for reviewing the Senator Inn & Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly and helpful staff. We pride ourselves in providing top notch service to our guests. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Augusta area. More

Fort Dix, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Saturday night I found myself needing a room last minute and after checking where I normally stay I was told the only rooms in the city were here. I have heard good things about the spa and LOVE cloud 9 (the restaurant that is attached) So I went and booked a room.. I was not impressed with how clean the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Senator Inn & Spa. Our goal is “Every guest leaves satisfied” and we were unable to meet that goal. Your input is very important to us in our efforts to improve our standards of service. On behalf of the Senator Team, I would like to extend my apology for the disappointment... More

Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were traveling through and decided to stop for the night. We were surprised at how great everything was for just stopping for the night. At check in, we were given an upgrade to a suite at no charge. A continental breakfast was included in our stay, but to our surprise was so much more than we thought. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Senator Inn & Spa. We love to upgrade our guests whenever we have the availability. We take great pride in our buffet style breakfast that is included in the price of the room. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More

Richmond, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as our 2nd choice. We checked into the Best Western across town but after half an hour we checked out and went to the Senator Inn and Spa and am sure glad I did. Even though this place is older and needs updating our room was clean fresh smell everything worked. The room was very cozy come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Senator Inn & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your room and our buffet style breakfast. We are honored that you are choosing the Senator Inn as your hotel for future reservations! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Augusta. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent the night at this hotel on August 14, 2014. I was very disappointed with the room. The room was very dated. I had to virtually hold my breath in the hallway because it smelled so bad. The cleanliness was questionable; there was leftover pizza in the fridge. My husband who can usually convince me that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Senator Inn & Spa. We are currently renovating many of our rooms to keep them up to date and modernized. Our goal is that every guest leaves satisfied and we failed to meet that goal. On behalf of the Senator Team, I would like to apologize for the... More

Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were driving though Augusta and staying one night, and this seemed to be the place to stay. It was acceptable, but a tired property. The front desk staff was not very warm or enthusiastic, but certainly polite. The room was acceptable in a Hampton Inn/Holiday Inn sort of way. All in all, nothing to complain about but also nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your trip to review our hotel. We are glad that the staff was polite, but hoped that they would have met your standards of warm and enthusiastic as well. We strive to provide each guest with top notch customer service. More

Welland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had stayed at numerous hotels during our trip across New York, Maine, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. We were very pleased with our stay in Augusta at the Senator Inn & Spay. Our room had been upgraded at no extra cost to us. It was clean, comfortable and quite. The staff were excellent and the breakfast was the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience of the Senator Inn & Spa. We take great pride in our customer service that we provide our guests. We are thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary buffet breakfast. We look forward to seeing you in the future! More

New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel for the last couple years. After this stay, I feel I am done! The rooms are dated, have odor, and have terrible lighting. Each & every year they raise the prices-ridiculous!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Senator Inn & Spa. Your comments are invaluable to us in our efforts to improve our standards of service. On behalf of the Senator Team, I would like to extend my sincerest apology for the disappointment that you've encountered with your stay. We always place our guest comfort... More

Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Senator Inn on the first night of our vacation. We enjoyed it so much that we changed our plans so that we could stay there again on the last night of our trip. The staff at check in and check out were very good and helpful. The room on our first night was a bit small... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jonathan R, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your remarkable experience of the Senator Inn & Spa. We are thrilled you changed your travel plans so that you could stay with us again! We are currently updating many of our rooms to keep them more up to date. Thank you again for choosing us as your go to place in Augusta, Maine. We look... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Senator Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Address: 284 Western Avenue, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330
Location: United States > Maine > Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Augusta with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta #3 Family Hotel in Augusta #3 Business Hotel in Augusta
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
124

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Senator Inn & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer