We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa

4.5 of 5 Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    280
    123
    63
    36
See reviews for
201
324
24
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (810)
  • Mar-May only
    (201)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (166)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (178)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (265)
All months
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Today I had a bad experience at hotel playa bonita Resort and Spa. I adquired an lodging promotion through internet that included breakfast, lunch, buffet dinner, snacks and drinks. At the moment of my arrival to the hotel I was inform that I will also count with the benefit of a late checkout at 2:00 pm. Yesterday I enquiry at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear YDMW, Thanks for choose InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, we appreciate you are taking the time for written this review. Sorry if we didn't fulfill with your expectation in this visit. I will share your feedback with my colleagues and follow up on your comments to make the necessary corrections so these situations are not going to happen... More 

New Brunswick
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
104 hotel reviews
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was large with a good view of the ships waiting to enter the canal. However our room was probably 500meters from the reception area which was quite a problem when DH hurt his foot. The hotel did loan us a wheelchair but it was difficult to move about outside as everywhere was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear keenvisitor, we appreciate that you are taking the time to letting know your opinion is very important for us. We are going to share this comment with my colleagues to make the necessary corrections in the areas that you mention in order to provide a better service and thank you for your pleasant recommendations. We hope your DH feel... More 

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good: spent 3 days at this very nice property. Very convenient to the city yet secluded enough to be away from traffic. Well appointed hotel. nice pool and beach access. Rooms were as you would expect for an InterContinental property. Staff was polite. Front desk staff found rooms for us to check into even before official check in time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear mike m, Thanks for choose InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, we appreciate you are taking the time for written this review. We appreciate your feedback and recognition to our Front desk staff to have found the rooms and gave to you into before the check in time. Sorry if we didn't fulfill with your expectation. I will share... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for an all inclusive resort hotel after spending a few days in Panama City! We are glad we picked The Intercontinental in Playa Bonita. This resort is only 20-25 mints from the city. We were able to easily take a cab into the city during the day or at night. The hotel lobby is lovely, and everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear bonniebenson1404, Thanks for choose our hotel and we appreciate you are taking the time for written this review. We are glad you enjoyed this visit. And also the recommendations you did about our services and facilities. The special recognition to our concierge staff for assists with dinner reservation in the city. I will share your comments with my colleagues;... More 

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good- location...very close to Panama City. Hotel is well layed out, great room comfy beds, good wifi,friendly staff that had good English skills. Not great- all food and drinks a bit over priced Would high recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear marmot39, we appreciate that you are taking the time to letting know your opinion is very important for us. Thank you so much for your review! I will share your comments with my colleagues; we are pleased to know that our efforts to create memorable experiences are paying off. We appreciate your feedback and the special recognition to our... More 

Ojai, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't even know where to begin. Its a pretty hotel, ok that's about it. The beach looks great that's about it. Ok one more plus the guys at the pool bar are great too! They were awesome! 1. Hotel - Could be a real gem based on location and esthetics alone. But they fail miserably with the lobby bar,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear INeedVacationTime, We appreciate that you are taking the time to letting know your opinion is very important for us. Sorry if we didn't fulfill with your expectation. We are going to share this comment with my colleagues to make the necessary corrections in the areas that you mention in order to provide a better service and thank you for... More 

Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is ok, but the rooms can definitely use a little updating. However, the service here is horrible. Getting attention if you are not doing the buffet in the restaurants is essentially non-existent. While you are at the pool, if you want a drink you have to get it yourself. They have 1 guy serving everyone at the pool.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear rza, Thanks for chose our hotel and we appreciate you are taking the time for written this review. I will share your feedback with my colleagues to make the necessary corrections in the areas that you mention in order to provide a better service. We do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We hope to see you back and... More 

Newark, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was to be the tail end to our 11 day trip throughout Panama. Our tour guide and friend (who resides half of the year in Panama and New York City ) would take us to all the Hotels we stood in and help us to our rooms before leaving. During arrival no one offered to take our bags. Upon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cee1818, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience during your stay at the hotel. Please be assured that we teat this matter seriously as your comments will be shared with the management. We all hope that... More 

Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We love the Interconti chain but this location certainly was disappointing - mostly regarding service and beach. Food was mediocre, service slow and inefficient - highest prices ever paid for poor dining. US $$$ rates at 1* quality of food and service. Loved the resort grounds - but that's it. Personal untrained, slow and inefficient. Beach swimming impossible due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Travel2Adventure, We appreciate that you are taking the time to letting know your opinion is very important for us. Sorry if we didn't fulfill with your expectation. We are going to share this comment with my colleagues to make the necessary corrections in the areas that you mention in order to provide a better service and thank you for... More 

San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on Christmas day with the family. All rooms have a view. The club level room was well worth the extra $50 with a nice happy hour and breakfast. Beach is fine but not pristine however you are very close to the City.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IPB Guest R, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear SLOCYCLIST805, Thanks for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa, Panama. On behalf of all the staff thank you for having stayed with us and give us the opportunity to serve you. We are looking forward to see you soon. Best Regards, PL More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa

Address: Road to Veracruz km 7 | Arraijan District, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Playa Bonita Hotel Panama City
Intercontinental Panama City
InterContinental Playa Bonita Resort And Spa Panama/Panama City
Playa Bonita Panama
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
#13 Spa Hotel in Panama City
#22 Luxury Hotel in Panama City

898 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (840)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (196)
Viewed
View from room (74)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (209)
Viewed
Room/suite (74)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
0:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (217)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay