We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Panama City B&Bs / inns

Casa Antigua

Calle 9 entre Av. Eloy Alfaro y Ave. B | Casco Viejo, Panama City 0815, Panama
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Casa Antigua to your Saves list
Casa Antigua
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
83%
Ranked #21 of 69 Panama City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
73
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple nights after a much needed rest following the more rustic accommodations on San Blas Islands. The receptionist here was so warm and friendly and we were so happy to see such a spacious, clean and bright room overlooking the ocean in the trendy Casco Viejo area. The view of the city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Truly sorry about the breakfast. Even more so about the coffee which is really unforgivable Thank you so much for reporting this and I will check what went wrong immediately and the key issue as well. Glad you liked it otherwise and please let us know in advance should you return so we can make amends More

Southern California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Conveniently located for strolling around the fascinating Casco Viejo district. Just two or three blocks from the residence of the President of Panama, and close to many government ministries and offices, which makes it more interesting as well as very safe (because there are cops and/or soldiers all over the place.) Many good restaurants nearby. The hotel was very reasonably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thanks for the report! Great you enjoyed it and yes since they closed down the illegal disco it's been quieter. Mind you this is a fun area so best to come realising that the locals love to party and even better they love you to join in ! I must tell the wife about breakfast as she really is keen... More

Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Had a great time in Panama, stayed at Casa Antigua in Casco Viejo for 4 days of my trip. The staff was very friendly assisted us with all of our needs. There is an elevator to move your items to the higher floors. The hotel is overall clean and the staff works hard to maintain a certain amount of quality.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your views. Glad you enjoyed the experience and we note your comment on the issue of air conditioning. More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We enjoyed our short stay at casa antigua overall and thought it was in a great location and decent price for the area. The only real issues we had was the check-in was subpar as we had to ask for all pertinent information such as wifi info, breakfast times, map of area etc. The female who checked us in said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

My apologies for the problems you encountered. There is no excuse for poor service desk attitudes and we have discussed that issue with the staff concerned. As regards hot water that was poorly explained and maybe " lost in translation" . Actually it was a boiler problem as you properly identified. Glad to say now fixed. Again my apologies and... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and returned with friends because of the outstanding location, views from the rooms and rooftop. If these things matter to you, then this is a great place. Our friends were amazed when we went up to the rooftop, which has a great breeze, BTW! Best view spot in Casco. The service has improved since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your post. We appreciate your comments but please be assured the noise levels have dropped dramatically since they have opened the by pass around the old city. It's true, that this is a great party place and the locals love to party. However nobody appreciates traffic noise , great news that this has been solved... More

Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in the Chagres, which has the best view with a double balcony! The room was nice and clean, but the bathroom could use some updating. The shower barely worked, but we didnt complain, so maybe it could have been fixed? We were just so excited to have the view, we did not bother. Panama City and Casco Viejo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

My apologies that you had problems with the shower and instructions are already issued to get that fixed . We are happy that you found the location was great and indeed we are well located for anyone wanting to enjoy the old city ambience Many thanks for the review More

New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

While we had a good experience with the hotel and the service and location was excellent, the noise level alone would preclude me from recommending Casa Antigua. I had read the reviews, but naively assumed that because we were staying on a Sunday and Monday the noise wouldn't be a problem. Wanting to get to Miraflores Locks early in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Apologies for the night noise from that unauthorized "night club" the Authorities have now stepped in and closed it down. This has restored the peace and it's annoying that you and others have had to endure the row in the meantime. It's great that you took time out to make this known (as have others) because it enabled us to... More

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I chose Casa Antigua for it's unobstructed views across the bay to the high rise skyline in one direction and Casco Viejo in others. This hotel is beyond noisy, it's down right loud! Like trying to sleep in a night club. I would not stay here again unless they replace the windows. They also need to do something about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

We responded to some similar comments on noise from other visitors. The source was an unauthorized night spot now closed down thankfully by the Authorities. Nevertheless we do apologize In regards the other points ( aircon) this is being seen to as we intend to remodel that particular location. We hope you managed despite this to enjoy yourself as our... More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We could not have been happier with our experience at Casa Antigua, although we might have been a special case. We arrived early in the morning, expecting to drop our bags off and check in later at the stated check-in time (2:00pm). However, the hotel told us they had a room available already and could check us in early. Not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Great that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your support. I hope you managed to visit our nearby restaurant Grapes? It's located in our home accross the way from the hotel Actually the old city wall passes through both areas and this is what adds charm to the whole area. More

Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Yes, it's on the main street and can be noisy, but the view of downtown is magnificent! I like watching whats going on, on the street, so I didn't mind the night life....too much. Besides, the bedroom is upstairs and has no windows, so with ear plugs (which I always travel with), I got a good nights sleep. The apartment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Glad you generally enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the unwelcome guests but unfortunately these old cities do times have this problem. There is a lot of old deserted buildings in the area which are of course prone to this problem. Trust that it didn't cause you too much of an issue and that otherwise you enjoyed the experience. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Casa Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Antigua

Address: Calle 9 entre Av. Eloy Alfaro y Ave. B | Casco Viejo, Panama City 0815, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel Panama City
Casa Antigua Panama/Panama City

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Panama City with
any amenities