We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa Antigua

Calle 9 entre Av. Eloy Alfaro y Ave. B | Casco Viejo, Panama City 0815, Panama
Hotel website
Special Offer
3+ NIGHTS SPECIAL EXTENDS
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Casa Antigua
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Casa Antigua
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
uk
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 via mobile

OK so first impression on arriving down a dingy corridor to a basement reception and up in a tiny lift were not promising - however after settling in the character of the building and old town won through. Original tiles throughout do give a run down effect that is a bit unfair. Room, Chagres, well appointed with great balcony views.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Firstly thanks for the review it was very helpful feed back. The areas you refer to are as you mention somewhat the result of our retaining the over 100 year old original tiles. As we note, these do have a tendency to create a certain drabness in the approach to and area around the reception There is a proposed renovation... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Situated on a prime street overlooking the water and downtown skyline with steps to the hottest spots to hang out at night, this hotel has a lot to offer but also some growing up to do. Our room, Cruces, had a great layout, comfortable bed and good ac. The shower was clean but in a bit of rough shape. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

My apologies concerning the music. The hotel is part of the rather active night scene in the old city which tends to stay up late The "Casco" is on the must visit list for people wanting an active and fun night scene and the Hotel is the best location to enjoy that ambience. That said we know there are guests... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple nights after a much needed rest following the more rustic accommodations on San Blas Islands. The receptionist here was so warm and friendly and we were so happy to see such a spacious, clean and bright room overlooking the ocean in the trendy Casco Viejo area. The view of the city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Truly sorry about the breakfast. Even more so about the coffee which is really unforgivable Thank you so much for reporting this and I will check what went wrong immediately and the key issue as well. Glad you liked it otherwise and please let us know in advance should you return so we can make amends More

Southern California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Conveniently located for strolling around the fascinating Casco Viejo district. Just two or three blocks from the residence of the President of Panama, and close to many government ministries and offices, which makes it more interesting as well as very safe (because there are cops and/or soldiers all over the place.) Many good restaurants nearby. The hotel was very reasonably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thanks for the report! Great you enjoyed it and yes since they closed down the illegal disco it's been quieter. Mind you this is a fun area so best to come realising that the locals love to party and even better they love you to join in ! I must tell the wife about breakfast as she really is keen... More

Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Had a great time in Panama, stayed at Casa Antigua in Casco Viejo for 4 days of my trip. The staff was very friendly assisted us with all of our needs. There is an elevator to move your items to the higher floors. The hotel is overall clean and the staff works hard to maintain a certain amount of quality.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your views. Glad you enjoyed the experience and we note your comment on the issue of air conditioning. More

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We enjoyed our short stay at casa antigua overall and thought it was in a great location and decent price for the area. The only real issues we had was the check-in was subpar as we had to ask for all pertinent information such as wifi info, breakfast times, map of area etc. The female who checked us in said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

My apologies for the problems you encountered. There is no excuse for poor service desk attitudes and we have discussed that issue with the staff concerned. As regards hot water that was poorly explained and maybe " lost in translation" . Actually it was a boiler problem as you properly identified. Glad to say now fixed. Again my apologies and... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and returned with friends because of the outstanding location, views from the rooms and rooftop. If these things matter to you, then this is a great place. Our friends were amazed when we went up to the rooftop, which has a great breeze, BTW! Best view spot in Casco. The service has improved since... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your post. We appreciate your comments but please be assured the noise levels have dropped dramatically since they have opened the by pass around the old city. It's true, that this is a great party place and the locals love to party. However nobody appreciates traffic noise , great news that this has been solved... More

Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in the Chagres, which has the best view with a double balcony! The room was nice and clean, but the bathroom could use some updating. The shower barely worked, but we didnt complain, so maybe it could have been fixed? We were just so excited to have the view, we did not bother. Panama City and Casco Viejo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

My apologies that you had problems with the shower and instructions are already issued to get that fixed . We are happy that you found the location was great and indeed we are well located for anyone wanting to enjoy the old city ambience Many thanks for the review More

New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

While we had a good experience with the hotel and the service and location was excellent, the noise level alone would preclude me from recommending Casa Antigua. I had read the reviews, but naively assumed that because we were staying on a Sunday and Monday the noise wouldn't be a problem. Wanting to get to Miraflores Locks early in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

Apologies for the night noise from that unauthorized "night club" the Authorities have now stepped in and closed it down. This has restored the peace and it's annoying that you and others have had to endure the row in the meantime. It's great that you took time out to make this known (as have others) because it enabled us to... More

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I chose Casa Antigua for it's unobstructed views across the bay to the high rise skyline in one direction and Casco Viejo in others. This hotel is beyond noisy, it's down right loud! Like trying to sleep in a night club. I would not stay here again unless they replace the windows. They also need to do something about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie888, Owner at Casa Antigua, responded to this review

We responded to some similar comments on noise from other visitors. The source was an unauthorized night spot now closed down thankfully by the Authorities. Nevertheless we do apologize In regards the other points ( aircon) this is being seen to as we intend to remodel that particular location. We hope you managed despite this to enjoy yourself as our... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Casa Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Antigua

Address: Calle 9 entre Av. Eloy Alfaro y Ave. B | Casco Viejo, Panama City 0815, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Antigua Hotel Panama City
Casa Antigua Panama/Panama City

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
3:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay