We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Peru Avenue and 30th Street, Panama City, Panama
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dos Mares to your Saves list
Dos Mares
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Overview
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (9)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    9
    12
    12
See reviews for
11
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The place was in a dirty run down part of town. Our flight got in late, we were tired, couldn't find the place. The lady was super nice checking us in. The room was super plain, sorta clean,tv didn't work, no shampoo or anything extra. We didn't want to shower there. Very noisy outside, but we were exhausted from travel.... More

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
Puerto Armuelles, Panama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If they want to charge American prices, they should provide American amenities. I can get a cheap motel in the States with more to offer. The air conditioner blew warm air, there is one outlet available that is 6 ft. up the wall, the toilet didn't flush, there was a desk with no chair, no toiletries, iron, trash can, coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alejandra A, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dos Mares, responded to this review

Dear guest we are very sorry that your stay at our hotel alla not been to his liking, we are working to improve and we are currently renovating. Regarding complaints our reception facility operates 24 hours you have notified us that he did not feel comfortable in the room assigned to the higher of the likes we had we changed.... More

Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I used to enjoy the low cost/good service of this place. Recnt "remodel" lobby and soem TV's in the rooms has increased the price from $38 to $48. BUT, last two times i was there i was very disapointed. 1'st i ordered room service. 2 hours later the food came and it was cold. i sent it back last time,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent 7 days at this hotel. I think some of the reviews here might give this place a bad reputation, so I felt the need to weigh in on my honest experience. I travelled here alone, and in the past I've spent my vacations on all-inclusive style resorts rated 4 stars or higher. I truly enjoyed my time spent at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Hotel 2 Mares. The first 3 nights happened to be while carnival was happening. We were so suprised that we could walk to the festivities in 10 min. The staff were all very professional and helpful. All spoke english and help out with all our questions and never made us feel like we were imposing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute as I decided after 11 nights in resort areas that I should spend a few nights in the city. Big Mistake!! Could have ruined my vacation but I just wouldn't let it. I will say the only saving grace for me was a few of the staff who were very nice -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife & I stayed here during mid-December 2012. The hotel is affordable and provides free breakfast and air-conditioning (you have to ask the receptionist to turn the AC on each day when you come back to the hotel). The staff is friendly. It would help if you spoke some Spanish because the farther you are away from the posh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

If you are familiar with hotels in developing countries and are looking for a simple, clean and cheap place to stay, this was not bad. If you've never been to a developing country before, I would recommend looking for a hotel in a more touristy part of town. There are not many good restaurants nearby. Most of the people around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed 20 days. Everything in reach Bus stops,supermarket,cheap taxis ,restaurants of various grades,store on corner, street food stalls of good quality. Air conditioning noisy but effective. Staff happy to give a room with good ocean view if you can communicate with them. Some with good English most not as hotel caters mainly to Hispanic holiday makers . free breakfast adequate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We made reservations thru Hotels.com, and won't be making that mistake again. We arrived by taxi from airport (at a price 5 times higher than was originally quoted), only to find that the hotel claimed to have no record of our reservations. We spent an hour in the lobby trying to find other accommodations (with no assistance from the vacant-eyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dos Mares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dos Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Mares

Address: Peru Avenue and 30th Street, Panama City, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dos Mares 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Dos Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Mares Hotel Panama City
Dos Mares Panama/Panama City

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer