We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Aurora hotels

Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages

Save Saved
You added Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages to your Saves list
16918 U.S. Hwy. 68 East, Aurora, KY 42048 (Formerly Aurora's Ken Oak Resort)
Hotel amenities
Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aurora
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    4
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
13
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Paris, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just returned from a weekend here and it was great. We stayed in one of the motel rooms for this visit. But, Dave, the owner, took us around the facility and showed us different cottages and options for our vacation for next year. This place is quiet, comfortable and relaxing. There are plenty of things for kids and if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights in September 2014 while we were offroading at the Turkey Bay OHV park at Land Between the lakes. It was about ten minutes from the park. They had plenty of parking, enough for trucks with trailers even. The cottages were very basic, but had everything you would need. Fridge, stove, microwave, a new flat screen (which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I cannot say enough about Aurora Kentucky Lake cottages. The staff the rooms the service , outstanding they catered to all our needs and more! This family owned business went beyond all expectations to make this reunion all that was expected. If you're looking for a resort in the area I would highly recommend Aurora Kentucky Lake cottages you will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!!! We REALLY appreciate it when people take the time to tell us they like our place and would recommend it to others! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return in the future! More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

First impressions are everything and if management can't make the office look inviting, it doesn't bode well for the individual cabins. Half of the porch is in good shape but the other half is beat up. For example, the porch has been recently painted but the beautiful coral rose bush to the right of the front door is in dire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We, like most “Mom & Pop” places, are over-worked and under-staffed. However, this week we have hired new on-site managers to live on the premises. Hopefully this will help address a few of the issues you mention. (We do not agree that anything here is in “dire need of... More

Crestwood, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

First do not believe the pictures on this website very, very misleading or taken years ago. The rate was good but not even worth the price I paid. Very out dated and worn down. Cushions on kitchen chairs not attached and dangerous and the kids got their hands hurt, wasp uncontrollable in unit after owner took the wood down and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to address each of your issues: *The pictures on our web site are about a year old and rightly depict what we have to offer. And yes, are rates are extremely reasonable – the best in the area for what we have to offer! *The wasps certainly... More

Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We had 15 members of our family stay here for a week from IL. We are very disappointed as the website does not accurately portray the property. It's full of wasps, gravel and very very old. The cottages are connected like town homes but the website made it appear they are separate. There are run down trailers on the property... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us. The pictures on the web site are about a year old and are certainly of our rental units. I’m not sure how you thought the cottages were arranged, because the web site does not show a resort layout. (Our old web site had a resort layout which... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We've had a wonderful stay here so much that we don't want to check out by morning! This place has truly placed itself in my heart as my second home! The rooms were nice clean and spacious. The kids had so much fun they want the KenOak resort to be a yearly get-a-way! We are determine to come back. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

LeKisha, THANK YOU so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wonderful family. We REALLY appreciate your taking the time to let others know you enjoyed your time here with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Best Regards, Dave & Jaymi Tarnowski Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages More

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My son and I stayed at this property for a week and we had a wonderful time ! The cabins are clean, the exchange of linens was good, the pool was wonderful and the owners were very friendly! Dave, the owner, always asked us if we needed anything for the cabin and always spoke when we would see him. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you had a nice time while staying with us. And we really appreciate your taking the time to tell us (and everyone else) so! Please come back again soon! Best Regards, Dave & Jaymi Tarnowski Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My family and I needed accommodations that would allow pets (we have a house cat and amazon parrot) plus we like having at least two bedrooms and needed something affordable with a kitchen (yes I cook on vacation) we loved our stay and Dave (owner) was wonderful I would recommend Kentucky lake cottages to everyone!!! Our week here was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write! Please come back and see us when you can -- we're constantly making improvements! Best Regards, Dave & Jaymi Tarnowski Owners Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages More

Middlefield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very nice and accommodating. It's a quiet place to get some rest! I was here just for a sleeping room and a lot of the attractions were not open at this time of year. I have traveled here many times and usually there is a lot to do in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages

Address: 16918 U.S. Hwy. 68 East, Aurora, KY 42048 (Formerly Aurora's Ken Oak Resort)
Location: United States > Kentucky > Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Aurora`s Ken Oak Hotel Aurora

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay