We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages

16918 U.S. Hwy. 68 East, Aurora, KY 42048 (Formerly Aurora's Ken Oak Resort)
Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
14
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We agree with all the comments that the owner and staff were very friendly. They were very accommodating to give us fresh linens, toilet paper, and garbage bags as needed. I'm struggling with what words to use to describe the condition of the resort and cottages, though. I want to give an honest review for any other families that are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florissant, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Owners are very nice, but don't expect it to look like pictures. Needs a ton of work. Only means of heat was small space heater. Would hate to list everything that needs repairing. There are better places than this for price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cave City, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

We have stayed here for several years in the spring and fall to crappie fish on beautiful ky lake. Dave has always taken great care of our party treating us like family!! We really appreciate Dave and Jaymi and their staff, they are always open to any questions or suggestions we have. Would recommend this resort to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
House Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We have stayed at the Aurora Kentucky Lake Cottages several times over the past two years while riding the trails at Turkey Bay OHV park. The location is perfect as it is the closest resort to Turkey Bay. This time several couples joined us and enjoyed their stay as well. The pricing of the cottage was low if you consider... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We just returned from a weekend here and it was great. We stayed in one of the motel rooms for this visit. But, Dave, the owner, took us around the facility and showed us different cottages and options for our vacation for next year. This place is quiet, comfortable and relaxing. There are plenty of things for kids and if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed two nights in September 2014 while we were offroading at the Turkey Bay OHV park at Land Between the lakes. It was about ten minutes from the park. They had plenty of parking, enough for trucks with trailers even. The cottages were very basic, but had everything you would need. Fridge, stove, microwave, a new flat screen (which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I cannot say enough about Aurora Kentucky Lake cottages. The staff the rooms the service , outstanding they catered to all our needs and more! This family owned business went beyond all expectations to make this reunion all that was expected. If you're looking for a resort in the area I would highly recommend Aurora Kentucky Lake cottages you will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review!!! We REALLY appreciate it when people take the time to tell us they like our place and would recommend it to others! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return in the future! More 

Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

First impressions are everything and if management can't make the office look inviting, it doesn't bode well for the individual cabins. Half of the porch is in good shape but the other half is beat up. For example, the porch has been recently painted but the beautiful coral rose bush to the right of the front door is in dire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We, like most “Mom & Pop” places, are over-worked and under-staffed. However, this week we have hired new on-site managers to live on the premises. Hopefully this will help address a few of the issues you mention. (We do not agree that anything here is in “dire need of... More 

Crestwood, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

First do not believe the pictures on this website very, very misleading or taken years ago. The rate was good but not even worth the price I paid. Very out dated and worn down. Cushions on kitchen chairs not attached and dangerous and the kids got their hands hurt, wasp uncontrollable in unit after owner took the wood down and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to address each of your issues: *The pictures on our web site are about a year old and rightly depict what we have to offer. And yes, are rates are extremely reasonable – the best in the area for what we have to offer! *The wasps certainly... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had 15 members of our family stay here for a week from IL. We are very disappointed as the website does not accurately portray the property. It's full of wasps, gravel and very very old. The cottages are connected like town homes but the website made it appear they are separate. There are run down trailers on the property... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay here with us. The pictures on the web site are about a year old and are certainly of our rental units. I’m not sure how you thought the cottages were arranged, because the web site does not show a resort layout. (Our old web site had a resort layout which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question