We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metropolitan Hotel

4.0 of 5 64 Tsarigradsko shose Blvd, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Metropolitan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Metropolitan Hotel
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    88
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
38
14
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (203)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
79 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Since my firm blacklisted IBIS which is closest hotel to the airport; upon arrival from München at 23:00 I was faced with having to find another hotel near the airport. Metropolitan has good ratings and costs €76/night. It's a difficult hotel to find the entrance to at night. I drove over the motorway curb directly into their car park. Reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I used this hotel for the first time , for 3 nights ( checked in on 14.02, 2015 and checked out on 17.02,2105 ) The problems started right upon arrival. Even though the property was almost empty and I asked for room in a higher floor , they give me one on the second floor. At check in time I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MetropolitanHotelSof, Manager at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sergei, You chose to make a non-refundable booking, which grants you a discount, but also imposes specific payment terms, which are clearly described. Non-refundable bookings should be paid and invoiced on the day the booking is made and you have a specific section for invoice details on the reservation form. Evgeniy Krivenok Deputy General Manager More 

Komotini, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice welcoming at the reception, polite staff speaking good English, spacious rooms. The bar is a perfect choice to have your drink after a busy day. Safe parking area. Very good value for money. My best stay in Sofia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
64 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located on one of the busiest roads of Sofia, offering great view from most of the rooms that overlook the Tsarigradsko Shosse boulevard. Free drinks on the mini bar (beer, water & soft drinks), quiet & clean. The average rate is around 75 euros for a double room with breakfast which is a good value for money for a 5-star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time in Sofia. Business trip. Hotel condition is fine, friendliness staff, very quick work of receptionist. Room - normal size. I like shampoo there. In refrigerator has drinks for free - local beer, water, coca-cola, juice. Bed linen is very good. Breakfast is very rich! Near hotel - big shopping center. Distance to city center ~7 km.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antwerp Province, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are comfortable and great choice for breakfast. Good location for airport and for meetings. I would like to thank the staff at the front desk for their efficiency, professionalism and honesty. When checking out I forgot my billfold containing an important sum of money. They managed to trace me by making even international calls. So I could recover... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have used this hotel many times before and have always been pleased, however this time I was left a little disappointed. I arrived late back to the hotel one night, around 9.30PM, so rather than going to sit in the restaurant on my own, I thought I'd order my dinner from room service, then by the time I'd had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Varna, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Good location for airport. There are not enough visual communication sings for car drivers. Room is large and comforttable. Exelent clean. The bellboy is not helpfull. The roomservice is a little bit slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

After reading great reviews of this hotel, we were expecting a great stay in Sofia. Unfortunately, our experience was very disappointing. Even though our room was on a high floor, the noisy hotel bar still kept us up almost every night. My girlfriend wanted to spend an hour in the hotel spa/wellness center for her birthday and even though she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MetropolitanHotelSof, Sales & Marketing at Metropolitan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Max T, First of all, your profile and your booking do not exist in our hotel list from February 2014. Moreover, it was a big surprise for us to receive your feedback 11 months after your presumptive stay in Metropolitan Hotel Sofia. However, we’ll refute your comments: 1. The Met Bar offers background music that could be heard... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Having been overnighted due to a cancelled Thomas Cook flight the reception gave our passports away the next morning to someone else. We are currently in reception, no passports and can't get home. What a joke. To take something so valuable to us and give it away should be a punishable crime. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Address: 64 Tsarigradsko shose Blvd, Sofia 1784, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Sofia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropolitan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Sofia
#9 Business Hotel in Sofia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sofia
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sofia

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay