We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo

Certificate of Excellence
Ferhadija 21 | Main Promenade, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the Hostel Vagabond is great - right in the middle of the old town off the main pedestrian street. The service was OK, but very disappointing were the tiny showers which only had cold water, the dirty hallways & the toilets were also far from clean. While the hostel is not responsible for the behaviour of its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Hendrik M, We must admit that we are a bit disappointed with your review. For someone who claims to be a traveller and explorer it shows quite a suspicious scale of understanding of the difference between hostel and a hotel. As we can recall you were asking us to give you a free night stay and we did it.... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have to say I am suprised about the very high reccomendations given to the hostel. I like to think of myself as being a very fair and not a particualrly fussy reviewer but I didn't think this hostel was that good. Don't get me wrong, the staff were lovely and welcoming and the tour we went on was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Vagabond, Thank you very much for your stay at the Vagabond Hostel. We are sorry to hear that it was chilly at the time you visited Sarajevo. We cannot influence the weather but of course can put the heating on or offer an additional heater to all who ask for it. And yes it can happen that our receptionist... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Great hostel with nice facilities. Located right on the main street of Sarajevo and only a few metres from the old town. The owner Aida is very nice and friendly and has her own private tour to the tunnel museum just for guests. Can definitely recommend staying at Hostel Vagabond!

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Nastasja We are more than happy to read that you loved your stay and our tunnel tour. Thank you very much for it, truly appreciated. We wish you a great journey. More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

After being recommended this place, we decided two nights at this nice place. First of all the staff were helpful, Mubera and Aida were exceptional, at one point a friend traveling with us got sick, and both Mubera and Aida offered every kind of help, and took care of him. In addition we booked a tour with Aida who is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Vagabond, Thank you for your recent stay and for your your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities that make our hostel experience a great one. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards Your Vagabonds More 

Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

The hostel is very clean and the living room is awsome. Thanks to Aida and Adin for their work!! They were very hepful and concerned our well-being. The staff is sooo nice and effective! We passed a great moment in this hostel!! Thanks to them! I definitly recommende this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Sonia, Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at our Vagabond Hostel with our growing community. KIndest regards and all the <3 to France Your Vagabond family More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double at Vagabond for 10 nights in November and we loved it. We were only supposed to stay a week but extended to 10 nights. We fell in love with the city and the hostel. Aida, one of the owners, is so sweet and welcoming. We took her tour and we highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities that make our hostel experience a great one. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards and <3 to LA Your Vagabonds More 

Wien, Österreich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Really feel welcome here! The owner (Aida) is really friendly and will bend over backwards to make you feel at home. The Hostel is located in the very centre of Sarajevo (Ferhadija Street). A great place to chill and enjoy life.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Lieber Vagabond, Thank you for your recent stay and for your valuable feedback. We truly appreciate your review and are happy that you enjoyed all the amenities that make staying at our hostel great experience. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards Your Vagabonds More 

Belluno, Italy
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We stayed at the hostel three days during Xmas holiday and it was fantastic! Everyone here is friendly and I really left there a piece of my heart. Mubera, Adin and the owner Aida are really nice! Aida spent with us a morning telling us about Sarajevo Siege, she explained us things we don't usually study at school about what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Vagabond, Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valuable review. We truly appreciate it and are very happy that you enjoyed all the amenities that make staying at our hostel great experience. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Your Vagabonds More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

The hostel is in a very central location close to many attractive places. The staff is great, very helpful and friendly and the atmosphere is homely. The kitchen is a bit small but everything is clean and well kept. The hostel also offers a tour through the history and culture of the city, inevitably unforgettable experience! I recommend this hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Francesca, Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valuable review. We truly appreciate it and are very happy that you enjoyed all the amenities that make staying at our hostel great experience. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Your Vagabonds More 

Rome, Italy
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Central position, excellent staff and really nice and clean place to sleep in. But Vagabond, as they say, it's not just an Hostel, it's a big family. And you are threated as a family member. The common room is a place to meet people and have a Bosnian coffe or, why not, a Rakjia (local grappa). As we arrived, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Federico, Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valuable review. We truly appreciate it and are very happy that you enjoyed all the amenities that make staying at our hostel great experience. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Your Vagabonds More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities