We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo

Certificate of Excellence
Ferhadija 21 | Main Promenade, Sarajevo 71000, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    115
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I never stayed in a hostel before this trip, and it wasn't bad. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I got a room with two beds to ourselves. The bathrooms were clean. It was a little noisy being right on one of the Main Streets in downtown Sarajevo, but nothing too crazy. Was nicely located for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at Vagabond. The staff are super friendly and helpful! It's in a central location with lots to see and do (I definitely recommend the tunnel of hope tour). However if you're sensitive to noise, just be warned that if you're staying in the big dorm the walls are thin and you can hear people coming... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hostel personel is extremely nice and very hospitable! They help you in every single way they can and give you first-hand information regarding the local city insights and best places to visit. They also offer great guided tours around the city and even in other cities around Sarajevo, this is definitely an added value to the accomodation. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Tjasa, Thank you very much for your recent stay and your valuable review. We truly appreciate it and are very happy that you enjoyed all the amenities that make staying at our hostel great experience. KIndest regards and all the <3 to Ljubljana/Slovenia Your Vagabond family More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Amazing are really helpful staff, they'll do anything to help you. Good location in the city center, close to everything. Really recommand this hostel. Hostel has a lot of good quality tours you can pay for. Staff cleans the hostel everyday. 8 bed dorms are a bit tight, but hey, for the price I can't complain. If you want more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Philippe, Thank you for your recent stay and for your your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities that make our hostel experience a great one. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Have a great journey Your Vagabond family More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

The location of the Hostel Vagabond is great - right in the middle of the old town off the main pedestrian street. The service was OK, but very disappointing were the tiny showers which only had cold water, the dirty hallways & the toilets were also far from clean. While the hostel is not responsible for the behaviour of its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Hendrik M, We must admit that we are a bit disappointed with your review. For someone who claims to be a traveller and explorer it shows quite a suspicious scale of understanding of the difference between hostel and a hotel. As we can recall you were asking us to give you a free night stay and we did it.... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

I have to say I am suprised about the very high reccomendations given to the hostel. I like to think of myself as being a very fair and not a particualrly fussy reviewer but I didn't think this hostel was that good. Don't get me wrong, the staff were lovely and welcoming and the tour we went on was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Vagabond, Thank you very much for your stay at the Vagabond Hostel. We are sorry to hear that it was chilly at the time you visited Sarajevo. We cannot influence the weather but of course can put the heating on or offer an additional heater to all who ask for it. And yes it can happen that our receptionist... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Great hostel with nice facilities. Located right on the main street of Sarajevo and only a few metres from the old town. The owner Aida is very nice and friendly and has her own private tour to the tunnel museum just for guests. Can definitely recommend staying at Hostel Vagabond!

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Nastasja We are more than happy to read that you loved your stay and our tunnel tour. Thank you very much for it, truly appreciated. We wish you a great journey. More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

After being recommended this place, we decided two nights at this nice place. First of all the staff were helpful, Mubera and Aida were exceptional, at one point a friend traveling with us got sick, and both Mubera and Aida offered every kind of help, and took care of him. In addition we booked a tour with Aida who is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Vagabond, Thank you for your recent stay and for your your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities that make our hostel experience a great one. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Best regards Your Vagabonds More 

Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

The hostel is very clean and the living room is awsome. Thanks to Aida and Adin for their work!! They were very hepful and concerned our well-being. The staff is sooo nice and effective! We passed a great moment in this hostel!! Thanks to them! I definitly recommende this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Sonia, Thank you very much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at our Vagabond Hostel with our growing community. KIndest regards and all the <3 to France Your Vagabond family More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double at Vagabond for 10 nights in November and we loved it. We were only supposed to stay a week but extended to 10 nights. We fell in love with the city and the hostel. Aida, one of the owners, is so sweet and welcoming. We took her tour and we highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
VagabondSarajevo, Manager at Hostel Vagabond Sarajevo, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate it and are thrilled that you enjoyed all the amenities that make our hostel experience a great one. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards and <3 to LA Your Vagabonds More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay