We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashland Plaza Hotel

1 Ashland Plaza, 1441 Winchester Ave., Ashland, KY 41101
Ashland Plaza Hotel
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    24
    16
    19
    24
See reviews for
19
17
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Oak Hill, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having lived in Ashland for 20 years I am familiar with the Ashland Plaza. We moved 2 years ago and came back for a wedding this weekend. Everything was ok about the hotel, but now what I expected. The rooms are older and need some remodeling (paint or new wallpaper) the beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillsboro, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived late, but the desk staff were helpful and accommodating. They steered us to an 'in-house' bistro for a nightcap before we retired.The room was a 'riv-vue,' We truly envoyed the sounds of the railroad and river barges as they plyed their way about the Ohio. Would highly recommend it, and intend to return just for fun. But remember, cities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We found the facility to be older but nice and original. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Our room faced the Ohio River and we had fun watching the barge & boating activity! The staff was extra friendly and helpful! We received great service and attention. The continental breakfast offered many selections and was served in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clarksburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

hotel was ok. front desk was very friendly. our soccer club may have had the hotel to itself - felt like it did. but that made the trip better. team had 2nd floor (breakfast area) to ourselves all night for talking and games. breakfast was mediocre at best. no meats. kinda paltry choices for what the front desk talked it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Your comments are incredibly helpful as we continue to work toward adding new amenities and services for our guests no matter what brings them to our area. Our goal is to make sure every guest has a reason to wake up and smile. Feedback from our guests is so important... More 

Morehead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

An older hotel and could use some updating. The bed was comfortable but was very high for a person that is 5 foot tall. A better selection of breakfast items would be nice. Overall it's an average place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor! We absolutely owe the greatest part of our success to our incredible guests like yourself that take the time to talk with us about their time at our facility. Although we are a historic property, we strive to provide our guests with the best service and accommodations... More 

Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

I had to stay here for work (30 days) and I thought it would be a really upscale place considering the name. The only thing that was good about my stay was that I had a bed to sleep in that was very comfortable. The first problem I encountered was that my key card didn't work half the time. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We cannot describe how much we appreciate the ability to talk with our guests during their time with us and afterward so that we can determine where we can best focus our efforts to bring our guests the best accommodations in Ashland. We do not want... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ashland hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Had to stay there for work and was recommended to me by a fellow Co worker. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful but the rest of the hotel needs help. Was only supposed to be there for 2 nights but my job got extended which ment a room change which I understand. The first room had a brown phone, weird... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Stephanie, thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We owe an incredible amount of gratitude to our guests who volunteer their input as we continue updates and restorations to our historic property and the conveniences that we provide. We are truly devoted to providing the cleanest accommodations and our housekeeping department sincerely appreciates... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

I've been staying at this hotel over the years and I'm happy that it's still hanging on. It's older but clean enough and the staff is pleasant and competent. There are several decent restaurants within walking distance and Fat Patties (burgers, etc) right across the street is a hopping "night spot". There are a few other hotels in Ashland that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kppate00, Manager at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor! It absolutely warms our hearts to see a familiar face coming back to stay with us and we sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We are very excited about the recent updates to our accommodations and look forward to having you back with us as we continue in... More 

York, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Spent 4 days, 3 nights in this hotel while in town for the IMEA Awards in October. Stayed on the 5th floor, 2 double beds which were comfortable for the most part, mattresses were not firm. WIFI worked fine for us, although having to sign into a browser or smart phone on your tablet can be a bit of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kppate00, Director of Sales at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Alex, thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. Your input is incredibly valuable to us as we seek to continue improvements to our beautiful property and the comforts that we provide our guests. Getting feedback like yours lets us know what works and what we can still improve on, there's no greater... More 

Lexington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I didn't book it. Someone else booked it for me. Came in late at night. Kind of scary looking for a woman traveling alone. Run down all over. The best I can say is the bed seemed clean. Staff was nice but not professional. I don't think there were many guests but at 10:58 the housekeeping knocked on my door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kppate00, Director of Sales at Ashland Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry to hear that you felt unsafe during your travels. Being alone in a new place can be quite intimidating and we sincerely apologize that we were not able to calm any concerns you may have had. Although we are located downtown, our property is secured and monitored 24/7 with cameras in all public areas for the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
7.7 mi away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities