We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Papeete hotels

Le Meridien Tahiti

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Le Meridien Tahiti to your Saves list
Le Meridien Tahiti
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Papeete
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Pistol888 Stafford, Virginia
  • Reviews (699)
  • Photos (627)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (140)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    267
    143
    64
    37
See reviews for
87
446
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here one night after Moorea before heading home. We had been booked at the Radisson but they were overbooked so we had to be transferred across to Le Meridian. We were to be in a deluxe ocean view room. When we arrived the receptionist was unable to even give us a smile. We had our room key thrown... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The resort made a great first impression as we arrived; the lobby was nice and the resort looked promising. However; things quickly turned bad. We were very disappointed when we entered our room. We later learned that this room was one of a few that did not get renovated. We talked to the staff the first night we checked in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We have contacted you directly through a private message on tripadvisor regarding your comments. Feel free for contacting us back if you have any question. Kind Regards. More

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Le Meridien is one of my favourite places to stay! I've stayed here twice before and enjoyed it each time. The reception staff are very friendly and help out whenever they can. The rooms are made up nicely, thank you housekeeping. The bus service into Papeete makes travelling so much easier. It's location on the lagoon gives the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Ia orana Sakura, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with. Your positive feedback is much appreciated by our staff. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in our resort. Kind Regards. More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at one of the bungaloos over the water. When I arrived a light was out. I called and it was still broken 3 days later. Breakfast buffet was pitiful and I think I got sick from their over ripe papaya. Buffet ran out of food about 45 min before closing and they did nothing about it. The pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are sorry our hotel did not match with your expectations. At Le Méridien Tahiti, we do take in consideration feedback from our guests this is why we have contacted you directly through tripadvisor private messages. Kind Regards, More

Plano, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were large and clean. Great BR. Poor room lighting. Friendly staff. Redecorated e few years ago in a 1990's retro scheme. I stayed two nights before and after a Windstar cruise. The place had an empty feeling to it. Other than bus loading out front and check in there wasn't much activity. A empty feeling especially compared to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are sorry if our property did not match with all of your expectations. The hotel has more activities from Thursday to Sunday with musical animations, art events, Polynesian shows and more. Our buffets are happening every Friday evening with the show and on Sundays... More

Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in this hotel for to short of a time to give a adequate review. The room was very nice, the staff was pleasant. The view of the pool and the ocean was gorgeous. We did not eat at the hotel. My major complaint was with concierge. I went to ask about getting money to get a cab to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Ia orana, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback about our property. We are truly sorry for the misunderstanding about the ATM. Your comment will help us to not have this situation again. Feedback from our guests is always used for improving the quality of our... More

Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed at Le Meridien before and after windstar cruise. I agree with most of the other reviewers. It is a large motel like property with a few amenities. Good pool,a very nice French Restaurant "Le Carre" and an acceptable bar. It's definitely NOT a place to stay very long but serves the purpose of sleeping and breakfast before heading... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Ia orana Judy, Thank you for writing a review about our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our gourmet restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again for another journey in Tahiti. Sunny regards. More

Bay of Plenty
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Previous reviews of this hotel have been very much inconsistent, however I am at a loss too understand this. We stayed there for two nights and had an awesome stay. Our room was fabulous with a lovely view of the ocean,,extremely clean and the bed soooo comfortable. The sand bottom pool is definitely fantastic usually we always swim in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate you mentionned our white sand bottom pool as unique and amazing and our staff as accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you again at Le Méridien Tahiti. Maururuu. More

Invercargill, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for a hotel to unwind after spending a fabulous week on a Windstar cruise. We had spent 6 days at Villa Mitirapa (separate review) prior to the cruise, so I was looking for a more central hotel, closer to the airport, whilst we waited for the flight home. I decided on LE meridian as it was far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are sorry if our hotel did not match with your expectations. Your feedback will be helpful in improving the quality of our services. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having just returned for a wonderful 7 day cruise of French Polynesia I was very disappointed in our stay at this hotel. My first room was a deluxe garden room. There was certainly nothing deluxe about this room. It was dark and dingy with dated décor, grubby curtains, marked paint work, and old and tired looking bathroom with a shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Simon C, Public Relations Manager at Le Meridien Tahiti, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Meridien Tahiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Meridien Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(9)
  • French Polynesia(7)
  • Overwater Bungalow(3)

Additional Information about Le Meridien Tahiti

Address: Tamanu | Punaauia, Papeete 97718, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Tahiti 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Meridien Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Tahiti Hotel Papeete
Le Meridien Hotel Tahiti
Le Meridien Papeete
Papeete Le Meridien
Le Meridien Tahiti Papeete

627 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (614)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (141)
Viewed
View from room (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (102)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (113)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Le Méridien Tahiti is the most modern luxury hotel of the island; benefiting from a charming frame thanks to its natural beach of white sand that is unique on the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a panoramic view on turquoise waters of the lagoon and on the nearby island … Moorea. Situated in a charming frame, Le Méridien Tahiti is located 15 kms from Papeete and 10 kms from the international airport of Tahiti Faa' a, so making of the hotel the ideal place for a stay on the island. The hotel was recently refurbished with exotics and natural materials which highlight the South Pacific feeling ... more   less 
Number of rooms
150

See which rooms travelers prefer