We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort

Hotel website
Princes Road | P 0 Box C001, Colo-I-Suva, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raintree Lodge)
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had just arrived on a early morning flight from Auckland to Suva Airport (20km or so from the city of Suva). Friends who we were to stay with collected us from the Airport to take us to their home in Lami, just outside of the city. Our friends suggested going for a coffee in a nearby place, en-route. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank cussie67
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we value feedback from our guests. I am unsure why you feel the venue looks ‘tired and rundown’ however, as you mentioned, the weather was not good and that may have given a slightly ‘gloomy’ air to the premises – we are situated in the rainforest and consequently endure a great deal of rain.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely aspect for a meal looking out over a flooded quarry. Food is average though it would be great if they served espresso rather than plunger coffee. Ordered an iced coffee and this was the wrong choice as it had little coffee taste due to lack of shots. But 10 out of 10 for atmosphere and ambience.

Helpful?
Thank biggaplanet
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed our venue which we believe to be quite special. However, we are not so delighted that you were not happy with the coffee and we will check our staff are following the recipe, we like are guests to enjoy the whole experience here. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future. More 

Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights in a studio. Everything had been clean and the bed had been very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on our veranda and looking at the beautiful garden. Althoung the view from the restaurant is very exiting.

Helpful?
Thank michaelgraw
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay – our venue and surroundings are indeed very relaxing and we believe we have the perfect setting for ‘chilling out’. We hope you come back and visit us one day soon More 

Suva City, Central, Fiji
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First the major attraction which is the man made lake is very dirty. The fish feeding is a great exercise, especially for kids. The food was very expensive and the quality was average at most. There are a lot of mosquitoes around and you need to be careful of this. There are better places to stay in Suva than this,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alvin S
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Given that we have just survived more than one week of tropical depressions (near cyclones) with fierce winds and vast amounts of rain, it is not surprising the lake – which is actually an old quarry and not technically a ‘man-made’ lake – is ‘very dirty’ – I doubt any lake would be pristine after... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

We loved our stay in this friendly and welcoming place! we stayed in bure 5 and felt very comfortable in the spacious place for a family of 4. Staying in the rainforest means you will experience rain but we had brought several board games and enjoyed the tranquility and friendly atmosphere. The managers and staff were super friendly and welcoming!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerts
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you – we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do believe we have the perfect ‘getaway’ here but close enough to town for shopping/movies/sightseeing. It’s a sad fact of life these days that WiFi is a must…………I had great fun telling your children how we didn’t even have a telephone when I was their age... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

We booked a basic room for 3 nights, shared bathroom. The first room they gave us had a good size but was quite dirty, was raining inside (when we informed the reception they gave us a towel to put on the ground) and... We found bed bugs, on the linen and on the mattress. The linen are also very old... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fred C
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we value ALL truthful constructive feedback. Unfortunately there are a number of incorrect comments in your review which I will take the opportunity to reply to. I find it hard to believe the room was dirty – and if it was, why did you not inform reception so we could arrange for house-keeping to... More 

Buchs Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

A nice place to stay at the edge of the rainforest. A bed in the budget building was 35 F$ per night. The have a nice little restaurant with a balcony over a lake. The prices aren't the cheapest but the food is good and the view over the lake is nice while having your meal. They have a pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graido
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we value feedback from our guests in our continuing endeavour to improve our service. Our restaurant prices are on a par with other hotels in Suva, unfortunately while we still offer budget accommodation we pay a full hotel licence and hefty taxes and so it is difficult to keep our prices at a ‘budget’... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Had a great stay at this eco lodge in the middle of beautiful rainforest just a short journey up the hill from Suva. Great staff and food, and a divine setting overlooking a pond surrounded by rainforest and the calls of birds. Just a little point about pricing, the budget rooms are very basic and it's a walk down the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we value all reviews from our guests as they assist us in identifying areas we may improve on. Our ‘budget’ prices are comparable with others in the area but we feel we have a much nicer venue than most! Unfortunately we are not allowed to be a ‘back-packers’ under the terms of our licence... More 

Suva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

I love how close to nature you can get especially since the busy city is just a few minutes away. I had the best sleep of my life listening to the sounds of nature and breathing in that fresh crisp natural air. It is the perfect place to run away from everything but still be close to everything at the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ro2man_bruther
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review – we are always delighted when our guests enjoy our venue and appreciate how close you can get to nature staying here. We perhaps do not have all the facilities of some 5 star city hotels, but the dawn chorus from the birdlife is something not to be missed! We hope we have the opportunity... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

The conditions weren't the greatest, but I just really liked the location. We only had one day in Suva and we wanted to see Colo I Suva Park so it was very well worth it. The sleeping conditions were a bit of a let down, don't set your expectations too high, but if you're going to be out all day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrei C
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I wish you had elaborated more on what you felt was wrong with the room, and had you brought your concerns us (management) we may have been able to address them, we do not want any of our guests feeling unhappy and not enjoying their experience here. Our property had been quite run down and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
6.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#4 of 10 in Suva
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
27.8 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
4.5 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#3 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay