We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort

Hotel website
Princes Road | P 0 Box C001, Colo-I-Suva, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raintree Lodge)
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Add Photo

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    17
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
26
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. There is no doubt that it is a tranquil place, however the accommodation standard is not worth the rate paid. Have seen much better standards of hostel/budget/backpacking places in many countries I have travelled to. Stayed in Budget accommodation, shared facilities. Rooms needs to be done up and linen definitely needs to be changed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to do this . We agree that the budget rooms require up-grading and this is on our list of improvements, which is indeed a very lengthy list since we purchased the property last year – so at the moment we trust our guest understand our property is ‘old But... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of Suva. Set around a peaceful freshwater dam, this place is perfect to sit back and relax amongst the rainforest. Scrumptious home cooked meals and authentic Fijian dishes - mouthwatering. Friendly staff and welcoming owners. They have thought of everything to make your stay stress free and homely. A different Fijian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went in with high expectations. Ordered a burger for 23.50 FJD and a chicken schnitzel for 25 FJD. both were disappointing, not to mention how overpriced they were. mentioned it to the chef out of courtesy as I would love to see these businesses in Suva succeed and flourish. he couldn't care less.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal and also very disappointed that you did not get a response from the chef. We have a policy that management must be informed if guests are not satisfied with our service, had we been made aware at the time we would have addressed the issue. In fairness to our chef... More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Colo-i-Suva on 24 may essentially because it was the closest accomodation to Suva airport. It was fairly priced so we decided to give it a go, our flight was arriving at 20h30 and departing the following morning at 06h15, we already knew some hôtels downtown Suva, therefore it was time to try another place. Taxi was FJD... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Our apologies for the disappointing standard of cleanliness in the hand basin – there is no excuse for this. We do strive to maintain a high standard, unfortunately occasionally there are lapses in any establishment. Outside lights at night are on until quite late, there are not many because we are an Eco Resort so our carbon footprint is kept... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort was really the best surprise - just a 15 minute drive up from Suva. We stayed in bure 3 for two nights, very comfy & clean with a patio overlooking the majestic lake. Sunsets were spectacular. Great food in the restaurant, thanks to a very talented chef & good friendly Fijian staff. The new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pensacola
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

Gorgeous location! The bar/ restaurant is on a large pond filled with lots of fish. You will be given a bag of food to feed them at sundown. The restaurant/ bar staff was very friendly! Hiking the rainforest is a bonus! Enjoy! WARNING! The lodge is difficult to find; mainly due to very poor directions!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we love to hear that our guests appreciate our location, we believe it to be very special and being situated next door to the Forest Park is, as you say, a bonus! We are sorry you found our place difficult to find – not knowing in which direction you came it is hard to give... More 

Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We spend one night in this resort. We payed for standard apartment but they gave us studio instead of that. Great advancement :). We joined dinner and breakfast on terrace where you can feed fishes in lagoon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we are a small property but we are a popular ‘getaway’ from the city (but with the convenience of a bus stop at our gate). Like you, our other guests appreciate the surroundings as well as our lake and birds. Thank you for your comments More 

Naviti Island, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Clean, private, with wonderful, friendly Fijian staff. Our room was great just above a large forested pool with all sorts of birds in the trees. Food was fantastic and not expensive. Everything was clean, pool was great, restaurant was also in a fantastic position above another forest clad small lake. Great rates too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and yes, the restaurant balcony is a magic place to feed and watch the fish and enjoy some bird-watching as well. We are very lucky with our wonderful staff who demonstrate Fijian hospitality at its best. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Got stuck in Suva for two weeks with all the reasonable hotels booked out, and only the really expensive ones left. I took a risk and booked a studio room, and the risk paid off. Really clean rooms, fresh towels every day, much better WiFi you'd get at other Fiji Hotels, and it is unlimited and free. You can catch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed our stay with us – our place is somewhat of a ‘hidden treasure’. We are still in the process of re-vamping after one year of ownership - our priorities of course are good service and good food and we understand the importance of communications when travelling whether for business or pleasure so we are happy... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Our family loved this place! Our cosy little rainforest house was clean, spacious, beautifully decorated, had a deck (!) and perfect for our family of 4. We used their kayaks twice, loved the lake and listening to the birdsong - fave was the fiji Barking Pigeon. We took the Suva bus straight into downtown, hopping on from across The street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We love it when our guests enjoy the birdsong (and watching Mr and Mrs Kingfisher on ‘their’ tree overhanging the lake) and it is fun feeding the fish. Our venue is quite different to most others in the area and it is very satisfying for us when guests appreciate the nature... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay