We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort

Hotel website
Princes Road | P 0 Box C001, Colo-I-Suva, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raintree Lodge)
Offers & Announcements
FREE Wi-Fi
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    20
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
26
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Traveling solo for business, I stayed for more than two weeks in 3 types of accommodation here. First in a backpacker room, then a studio room, and finally a standalone bure. They are gradually upgrading the quality of the rooms - the room 22 studio is finished and is very comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good base for bird... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingscliffe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited recently and found this a delightfully quiet location set in tranquil rainforest , for brunch , and caught up with the delightful couple Brian and Val that run this secluded resort. The dining area overlooks a large lake which used to be and old quarry but the natural spring has turned this into playground for kayaking and paddling.Rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words – we keep telling our kids we are delightful!!!! Seriously we are happy you enjoyed our resort and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future (and yes – plenty more PNG stories..... best told over a glass of wine or two !!!). More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i was in the dorm and found it a little squished but had the room to myself so iit was alright. The rest of the area if beautiful, and well kepted. the staff are also all amazing, and happy to help you with whatever you need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed our resort and yes, we are very lucky with our wonderful staff. You are quite right about the budget bunk rooms being ‘squishy’ – unfortunately it is the only way we can keep the price affordable for travellers on a budget, but we hope the rest of the... More 

Columbus OH
Level Contributor
242 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lodge is surrounded by rainforest. There is a lodge and pond. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there for two nights. We stayed in a budget room, a basic room with two beds and a mini fridge. Then we used the communal bathrooms, one for men and one for women. The bathrooms have a light that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue with the sensor lights and we do apologise for this – not at all acceptable to find yourself in this situation. We immediately contacted the electrician who had been tasked with providing and installing sensor lights that would remain on for 20 minutes – he could not quite understand that we... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights recently. There is no doubt that it is a tranquil place, however the accommodation standard is not worth the rate paid. Have seen much better standards of hostel/budget/backpacking places in many countries I have travelled to. Stayed in Budget accommodation, shared facilities. Rooms needs to be done up and linen definitely needs to be changed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time to do this . We agree that the budget rooms require up-grading and this is on our list of improvements, which is indeed a very lengthy list since we purchased the property last year – so at the moment we trust our guest understand our property is ‘old But... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

A perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of Suva. Set around a peaceful freshwater dam, this place is perfect to sit back and relax amongst the rainforest. Scrumptious home cooked meals and authentic Fijian dishes - mouthwatering. Friendly staff and welcoming owners. They have thought of everything to make your stay stress free and homely. A different Fijian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

went in with high expectations. Ordered a burger for 23.50 FJD and a chicken schnitzel for 25 FJD. both were disappointing, not to mention how overpriced they were. mentioned it to the chef out of courtesy as I would love to see these businesses in Suva succeed and flourish. he couldn't care less.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your meal and also very disappointed that you did not get a response from the chef. We have a policy that management must be informed if guests are not satisfied with our service, had we been made aware at the time we would have addressed the issue. In fairness to our chef... More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We stayed at Colo-i-Suva on 24 may essentially because it was the closest accomodation to Suva airport. It was fairly priced so we decided to give it a go, our flight was arriving at 20h30 and departing the following morning at 06h15, we already knew some hôtels downtown Suva, therefore it was time to try another place. Taxi was FJD... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Our apologies for the disappointing standard of cleanliness in the hand basin – there is no excuse for this. We do strive to maintain a high standard, unfortunately occasionally there are lapses in any establishment. Outside lights at night are on until quite late, there are not many because we are an Eco Resort so our carbon footprint is kept... More 

Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort was really the best surprise - just a 15 minute drive up from Suva. We stayed in bure 3 for two nights, very comfy & clean with a patio overlooking the majestic lake. Sunsets were spectacular. Great food in the restaurant, thanks to a very talented chef & good friendly Fijian staff. The new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pensacola
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 via mobile

Gorgeous location! The bar/ restaurant is on a large pond filled with lots of fish. You will be given a bag of food to feed them at sundown. The restaurant/ bar staff was very friendly! Hiking the rainforest is a bonus! Enjoy! WARNING! The lodge is difficult to find; mainly due to very poor directions!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CISRER, Owner at Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we love to hear that our guests appreciate our location, we believe it to be very special and being situated next door to the Forest Park is, as you say, a bonus! We are sorry you found our place difficult to find – not knowing in which direction you came it is hard to give... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
6.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
4.9 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#4 of 10 in Suva
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
5.6 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
4.5 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#3 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay