We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanoa Plaza Suva

Corner Gordon & Malcolm Street, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tanoa Plaza Suva
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Starting with a positive the staff, like most Fijians, are very friendly and try to do their job the best they can. I'm not happy because I feel like I've been ripped off. They charged me $290 which is nearly $200 AUD for one night (Superior). My wife and I just moved to Fiji, and I'm working in a school... More 

Helpful?
Thank LukePatterson81
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka LukePatterson81, Thankyou for your review and feedback about our hotel rates & facilities, just to keep you informed that from 1st January 2016, hotel taxes is up by 25% (i.e 9%vat/10%stt & 6%Environmental Levy), this is certainly a cost that is beyond anyone's control whether a guests, hotels or businesses. However for our facilities such as TV &... More 

Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was a nice hotel that we used as a base to visit family in Suva. Was quite basic but adequate for what we needed. No water bottles in room and charge $10 per bottle. Used room service for breakfast which was good. Tried to charge me for items I never had to my room. So check your bills as you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leesa A
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Leesa A, Thankyou for your review about our hotel facilities, depending on the room type booked, we do provide 2 complimentary Fiji water bottles, in our Deluxe & Executive Suites. And totally agree with you, all guests in any hotels, should always check bills before departure, to make sure that charges are correct. Thankyou again Leesa A, for... More 

Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

I have stayed at the Tanoa Plaza many times. The latest for a 7-day stay while getting my house in Suva organized. I am seldom disappointed at this hotel. It is perfectly located to engage in both shopping, restaurant life while doing business in Suva. It is a walking distance from almost everything in Suva City or a short cab... More 

Helpful?
Thank francois210
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka francois210, Thankyou so much for your review and time taken to write to tripadvisor, For me and the team we appreciate all the comments written and wanted to say a Big Vinaka Vakalevu to you for choosing Tanoa. For 2016, we have kicked off the year with improving repairs and works in our guests room. We now have... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

The Tanoa Plaza is well located and one of the 'high-rise' buildings close to downtown Suva. The room was fine and had a nice view over the town to the ocean. I did have an ongoing problem with the air conditioner in the room not working. The staff were very friendly and tried their best to assist, however it does... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Mathew M, The higher you go! the better the View. I totally agree with you here, and so proud to say that from the 1st Week of February, repairs and maintenance starts on our Deluxe Room, your feedback is not only important to me and my team but to Our owners of the company as well, so your... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

Great location but rooms are so small, not a great place to go if your going with the whole family. Location is conveniently at a location, where everything is within walking distance. Food is very simple though a bit not to my liking, but a great choice of various varieties to choose from!

Helpful?
Thank Deacon S
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Decon S, Thankyou for your feedback and yes Superior & Deluxe Rooms are small in size and recommended for business travelers or couples, however for Families, we do have interconnecting Rooms on request its located in our 2nd floor, 7th and 8th Floor as well. Locations is a huge advantage, its closer to the city restaurants, officers, banks... More 

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

The hotel is an easy walk to the main business area in Suva. Room was clean, quiet, bed very comfortable. Good selection for breakfast. More a business hotel than a resort but if you are going to Suva that's all you need. Has an outdoor pool Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Jenny. Thankyou for review, short and direct i apprecaite that, thankyou for that. We have kicked off the year with improving our guest room product, TV etc and so many things in the pipeline now, and hoping to catch up with you when you return to suva Vinaka Vakalevu Jenny, see you soon at Tanoa Vinaka Mere More 

Belmopan, Belize
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

The location of the hotel is fine but the rooms are horrible, dirty.I requested my room to be changed and was moved to another dirty room that is just cleaned by Clorox so you can imagine.In their site it 3.5 stars... I doubt ..sorry but they need this review to improve

Helpful?
Thank M-Belize
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka M-Belize, Thankyou for your review, our 2016 focus is to do improve guests products and services offered and that is what we are working towards. We do appreciate the time taken to inform us about your stay and looking forward to show you the changes made to improve guests experience at our Tanoa. Once again M-Belize, thankyou for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Suva hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

Though I am glad to hear that refurbishment is planned, it was more with trepidation that I explored my room. There is no balcony and the outdoor space downstairs is not covered, which isn't great since it rains a lot in Suva. The bathroom sink was not clean and the room was very stuffy. The bed was comfortable, if a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate O
Mere R, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Kate O, Thankyou very much for your constructive feedback about our hotel services, always grateful to know how your stay was, and reading through, i do understand the disappointment you were facing in our hotel. Since your feedback, it was a time to sit down and readdress this matters with my team and go back to drawing boards... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

Just about 50 minute drive from the Nausori Airport Suva, the hotel is well known to taxi drivers. I've arrived mid morning, way before check in time for my overnight stay to connect the next day to my final destination. I was able to enjoy the breakfast buffet that has a vide variety for a fair price while waiting for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Swissgonewest
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is in good location and mid city and tappoo city mall is just 3 mins walk. The hotel staff is good and friendly. Safe place and room is great. We did shopping all day put stuff back to hotel and then went back to city for dinner. Try to get higher floor as you may get some traffic... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AnishNairNZ
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#4 of 10 in Suva
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
1.5 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#3 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
23.7 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay