We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peninsula International Hotel

McGregor Rd & Pender St, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Peninsula International Hotel
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
9
5
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For Suva this is one of the mid-priced hotels, so I gave it a try for a weeks stay. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are pretty clean and looked after daily, sometimes you have to ask for the xtra effort past just making the bed. If you stay here consider one of the rooms facing the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We traveled over the whole island and wanted to to stay in Suva selecting this hotel. Worst decision of our trip after parting with 140 dollars we never felt comfortable in the room. We ended up with bites all over our body from bedbugs. On top of that we did not have any peace as our room over looked the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel I am sad to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. Unfortunately there will no doubt be noise coming from the car park as guests move in and out. It is possible that the loud talking from outside your room was from other guests as there is a very small number of hotel... More 

Travelers are raving about these Suva hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel in late April 2015. We had a standard room which was clean and a window where you could only look at the sky and the top of homes. The hotel reminded us of Hanoi where the frontage drew you in but what lay beyond was in need of repair, with holes in the floor as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel. I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. The continental breakfast is equal to what is provided at other hotels in Fiji and as part of the breakfast four fruits are provided. The price of the standard room is one of the lowest in Suva. The comment about... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Peninsula Hotel, Suva, Fiji Compliments:  mirrors in the deluxe rooms were huge and at a good height  bench space in the bathroom was more than adequate Issues:  fleas in the bed and room!  linen and towels in poor condition and “off-white”  the daily “clean” of the room was little more than a sweep with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel. I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Church singing on a Sunday is beyond our control. Other concerns, such as the air-conditioner, that you had could have been sorted during your stay if you had referred them to our Reception. These have now been rectified with the... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Less than impressive service Average rooms Poor lighting Breakfast is pathetic Have to ring a multiple times to get anything done I.e towels in the room, taken never replaced Staff are not very motivated or efficient Would never come back here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your standard. Your many points have been noted and will be investigated. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

A warm Bula. We were welcome by the friendly staff opps forget the name of the staff who booked me in I humbly apologise for that but she was very welcoming. They were happy to provide us nice accommodation. Our Room was nice and clean and had a homely feeling to it. Meals were nice and cheaper compared to other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel It is extremely pleasing to read your comments and note that your stay with us was up to your expectations. Our main goal is always to serve our guests to the best of our ability and we look forward to your return. Your comments have been passed to the staff concerned. More 

Port Vila, Vanuatu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

A warm welcome with a big smile when we checked in, staff were really friendly and helpful. I spent a few nights with my son for a holiday away from home, for shopping and visiting other family members as well. The lady that was working the night we checked in was very helpful when I was having issues charging my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel. It is very gratifying to hear that you started your holiday with us in such a welcoming manner. Staff have been advised of your comments, which are very much appreciated. I am pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their stay as well. We look forward to having you return. More 

Tongatapu, Tonga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I was there on business in December 2014. Upon arrival all staff were amazingly friendly and welcoming and everything was well organised. All amenities in the room were working and the room was always well serviced daily. I would also like to thank the Management... in particular the gentleman from New Zealand (who I had the pleasure to meet on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the staff. We strive at all times to give the best service to our guests. We look forward to your next visit More 

Marseille, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

The rooms are nice except those without a window completely at the back is the hotel. Breakfast included for most rooms but very poor! The food in the restaurant is not worth it's money. If you just look for a reasonably priced hotel in Suva it's OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel Thank you for your comments that have been noted. I apologise that your expectations of the hotel were not to your standard. I hope that you will give us another chance and look forward to you staying with us again. More 

London
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
43 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Stayed here for just a night whilst waiting for onward transport. Decent restaurant on third floor and overall had a good experience for a reasonable price. 10-15 minute walk to other restaurants. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel Thanks for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Even though only one night the experiences you had were certainly to your expectation. I hope that on your next visit you will stay longer and enjoy our hospitality further. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities