We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peninsula International Hotel

McGregor Rd & Pender St, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Peninsula International Hotel
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    9
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
9
5
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have always stayed in this hotel and I really enjoy the hospitality that the Staff showed me and all my Associates.I think I must have stayed here in most of my trips and we even had our Pacific Sexual Diversity Network Advocacy Training in 2010, I can't remember exactly the last time I was at the Peninsula but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel It is much appreciated to hear that your stay with us was to your expectations and that my staff looked after you during your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit with us. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located not far from the CBD, this a great budget accommodation for visitors to this island Country in the Pacific. Enjoyed my stay on the First week of June 2015. Love to return there. You could easily walk to the CBD or get a taxi for only $2.00.

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel Thank you for your favorable comments. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to your return. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The tag line says 'a new experience in hotels' - yes new because its tacky, dark, dirty (reception chairs are filthy as are the chairs in rooms (if you even get one). Internet is crazy expensive, food is gross and generally this place is to be missed if you can. Rooms are noisy (face the road or taxi rank, curtains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not satisfactory. I would like to make some comments. Chairs are provided in all rooms some with up to three. The internet charges are one of the cheapest in Fiji. Unfortunately the hotel has no control over the noise outside of the premises;... More 

Travelers are raving about these Suva hotels

Viti Levu, Fiji
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Stayed here for one night only in room 313. The room was pleasantly clean and comfortable. The rooms seem like it was newly renovated. The elevator says it can take up to 5 pax or 340kg - i very much doubt that but i am not an engineer to confirm or deny! I heard good things about the restaurant food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel It is good to hear that your stay with us, even only for one night was to your satisfaction. The noise level during the day caused by staff has been sorted, thank you for your comment. I look forward to having you stay with us again and hopefully you will have time to try... More 

Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

For Suva this is one of the mid-priced hotels, so I gave it a try for a weeks stay. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are pretty clean and looked after daily, sometimes you have to ask for the xtra effort past just making the bed. If you stay here consider one of the rooms facing the street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel Your comments about the noise from people just sitting outside at night within the compound has been sorted, however if it is on the road side we do our best to keep the noise level down to the best of our ability. Security and our night porter have been requested to keep the noise... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We traveled over the whole island and wanted to to stay in Suva selecting this hotel. Worst decision of our trip after parting with 140 dollars we never felt comfortable in the room. We ended up with bites all over our body from bedbugs. On top of that we did not have any peace as our room over looked the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel I am sad to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. Unfortunately there will no doubt be noise coming from the car park as guests move in and out. It is possible that the loud talking from outside your room was from other guests as there is a very small number of hotel... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We stayed at this hotel in late April 2015. We had a standard room which was clean and a window where you could only look at the sky and the top of homes. The hotel reminded us of Hanoi where the frontage drew you in but what lay beyond was in need of repair, with holes in the floor as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel. I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. The continental breakfast is equal to what is provided at other hotels in Fiji and as part of the breakfast four fruits are provided. The price of the standard room is one of the lowest in Suva. The comment about... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The Peninsula Hotel, Suva, Fiji Compliments:  mirrors in the deluxe rooms were huge and at a good height  bench space in the bathroom was more than adequate Issues:  fleas in the bed and room!  linen and towels in poor condition and “off-white”  the daily “clean” of the room was little more than a sweep with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel. I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Church singing on a Sunday is beyond our control. Other concerns, such as the air-conditioner, that you had could have been sorted during your stay if you had referred them to our Reception. These have now been rectified with the... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Less than impressive service Average rooms Poor lighting Breakfast is pathetic Have to ring a multiple times to get anything done I.e towels in the room, taken never replaced Staff are not very motivated or efficient Would never come back here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your standard. Your many points have been noted and will be investigated. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

A warm Bula. We were welcome by the friendly staff opps forget the name of the staff who booked me in I humbly apologise for that but she was very welcoming. They were happy to provide us nice accommodation. Our Room was nice and clean and had a homely feeling to it. Meals were nice and cheaper compared to other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlp-018, General Manager at Peninsula International Hotel, responded to this review

Bula from the Peninsula International Hotel It is extremely pleasing to read your comments and note that your stay with us was up to your expectations. Our main goal is always to serve our guests to the best of our ability and we look forward to your return. Your comments have been passed to the staff concerned. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#4 of 10 in Suva
3.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#5 of 10 in Suva
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Five Princes Hotel
Five Princes Hotel
#3 of 10 in Suva
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
3.5 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities