We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tambua Sands

Certificate of Excellence
Queen's Highway | PO Box 100, Korolevu, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Tambua Sands
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
mark135904 Suva, Fiji
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    68
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
75
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Suva, Fiji
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is not a high end resort. If you go with that in mind, you are going to be happy. Lovely beach front, free kayaks and good people to help. The cottage like accommodation is comfortable and spacious. Food is clean and nice. They are happy to make food to order too. Overall nice place with great beach. Can easily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great staff. Great pool Nice grounds The snorkelling is not great as you can't get into deep water due to a reef break. The rooms were dated and bathrooms a little grubby. The Highway runs right past your room and tends to be very noisy early in the mornings. It is a long way to any activity and you had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gold Coast, Queensland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 of our 3 weeks in Fiji and it was by far my favourite. It is not a flashy/trendy resort and doesn't pretend to be. It relies on the beauty of Fiji and its people and doesn't try and provide a western style resort feel. The gardened grounds are littered with little lockable bures and at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Tambua Sands is for Budget guests only. Resort and accommodation, although on beach front, was very basic - like a 2* motel. We were expecting much better. Although we didn't try food, prices were high and similar to 4 and 5 star resorts such as Outrigger and Warwick. However on the good side and to be fair, when we complained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynley D, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Cal Brisbane Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is disappointing to hear that we did not live up to your expectations. We are currently updating our menus and reviewing the prices.. I am, please that when you brought your concerns to us we were able to resolve them in a time fashion. Our small... More 

Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We stayed at Tambua Sands for 9 nights. We were looking for a quite and peaceful place without loads of people, kids and commercialization, which is exactly what they offer here. The room was clean and neat although dated (especially the bathrooms) and the beds were very comfortable. We asked to move rooms because the hot water wasn't working and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynley D, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Made_1 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Waking up every morning to this little piece of paradise with it's sandy beach and stunning views of the ocean is truly one of Tambua Sands treasures. Apologies for the hot water problem. My team of staff always go the extra mile to make sure that every dear... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

My partner and I traveled stayed at Tambua sands early April. We had booked a garden view bure but were given a beach front one which was great. The site is stunningly beautiful and its tranquility will please most older people or solo travellers looking for a relaxing time. However, if you are after some sort of entaintainment during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lynley D, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula dayman2015 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Apologies if we did not live up to some of your expectations. I am looking into why you did not have some of your issues rectified as this is quite disappointing from our side. and certainly out of character with the service normally provided by the Resort. and... More 

Trangie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

My first time to Fiji. The beach side bure was clean, spacious and airy. With maid service daily if you wanted. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Meals were great also. I enjoyed my stay there. Airconditioning would have been a real plus. Even being able to have an extra fan as the ceiling fan was not quite adequate. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynley D, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Bittern66 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tambua Sands is certainly one of the treasures on the coral coast The staff here are truly fantastic and always ready to give a warm Bula to all they meet. I have taken on your comments regarding... More 

Geelong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Please note that I stayed here in 2012. Had to put a date before the site would allow me to post. I was familiar with Tambua Sands from my visits to Fiji, but had the pleasure of staying there with my daughter and friend in the winter of 2012. The Resort is small enough to offer personal, friendly service which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynley D, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Larni-50 Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was pleasure hosting you and your daughter and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tambua Sands prides itself as being a resort where you can relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. We have one oft the most beautiful beaches... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Accommodation is beach side cabins. These are airy spacious and comfy. Right on the sea side, beach is lovely with good snorkelling - but a little difficult to get into the water due to all the sharp dead coral. Kayaks are available but the currents make it difficult. The location of this hotel is nice to see the coral coast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lynley D, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka JF9044 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Bures right in front of the beach are very popular with our guests as you have mentioned they are very spacious and being situated on the beach front they are perfect to stay in as you sit on the porch and watch the world go by.... More 

Tugun, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Myself, a friend and my ten year old daughter stayed for 8 days in 2 connecting garden Bures and absolutely loved it! The surroundings were stunning, maintained and clean and we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. The highlight of our stay is the hospitality of every staff member in the resort. They all went out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynley D, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Di D Thank you so much for your review of Tambua Sands. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. I know my staff enjoyed every moment of your visit with us. I will tell Sal to start practising Petanque so he is ready for your return match. The hammocks are great for just lazing on, no better... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay