We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Club Raro

3.0 of 5 PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Raro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Club Raro
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    98
    58
    32
    18
See reviews for
37
118
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (250)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for Club Raro
See the most recent reviews
Jarvanpaa
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Oh my god what a place. I'm so happy we didn't stay there longer than one night and that was too much.. We arrived to Rarotonga at 10:30 pm and went to the Club Raro resort which we had booked earlier. Reception was open and that's about it. One CocaCola machine was open! There no place where to get any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at Club Raro for one night after returning from an awesome 6 nights in Aitutaki. While the staff are helpful, funny and friendly the resort itself its tired and and unwelcoming. We stayed in a poolside room where the bed was hard and the pillows lumpy, and the bathroom needed a really good scrub. Also the rooms do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chazza81, General Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Hunterss Melbourne, I appreciate your feedback. After staying in Aitutaki for 6 days with the most beautiful lagoon and sandy beaches, I understand the your comments with regards to out beach. We are on the Coral Coast of Rarotonga which is advertised in all our advertisements yet your can snorkel and swim in the lagoon in front of... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Over the Years when hearing Rarotonga, Ive always associated Club Raro with it just from word of Mouth. I expected a Resort above what we experienced. When we first started looking I found their Website really Poor. We stayed in the Lagoon Front Room, which was superior in Location only to the Poolside or Garden. The Room was very Basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chazza81, General Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana repinsight05-Wellington-NZ, Thank you for your feedback. I personally appreciated your comments as it really helps our team to identify our weaknesses and better ourselves and our products. I apologies for the inconvience whilst in our hotel. I have taken all your concerns to the relevant departments and they have attended to all you have mentioned. The Chef has... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

went there in November for lunch, group of 10, they didnt have a lot of advertised drinks or food on the menu, garlic bread had mould on it, they didnt have sufficient change in the till so we had to try and find exact money, service was rubbish, food was average, swim up bar had signs of wear and tear,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chazza81, General Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana 255118julie-Christchurch-NZ, Thank you for your comment, I spoke with the chef who was on leave at the time and she is embarrassed with the products in your comments. She has spoken to the staff involved severely and has guarenteed this will not happen again with sincere apologies. The local bakery delivers fresh breads daily so there is no... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here because our airline messed up our flights - just as well it was only for one night and really too dark to see the room properly when we arrived. For budget travellers, I'm sure there are better places on Rarotonga.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chazza81, General Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana icemaidennz-nelson-nz, Thank you for your comments. We are a Standard Resort, not a chic resort. I sorry if you had that impression. We are an affordable basic hotel offering affordable rooms and facilities for clients on a budget. We are recognized as an excellent lead in product for the Cook Islands. Im sure, if you spent more time... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Air con was so noisy we couldn't sleep with it on. Hotel is old and tired - needs a makeover for sure. Location is not ideal - close to town but no beach. Food was ok but breakfast was average. Included in the rate is either cereal or toast, no cooked offering and the cooked breakfast I ordered took about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chazza81, General Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Taffyjonah-Pukekohe-nz, Thank you for your valued comments. We have a basic hotel built in the 70s. We do still have the colonial feel in the hotel, yet we have improved the hotel within the last couple of years. Improvements are being made continuiously. We are a budget option for all travellers that are looking for an affordable option.... More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is more of an intimate lodging experience compared to other more commercialized properties. I stayed here during my last stop on a RTW trip. Not one of the best props in Rarotonga, but clean and friendly. No late food service onsite. Also, the breakfast was just ok. There are entirely too many flies in the dining room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chazza81, General Manager at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana mgeolina Los Angeles, California, Thank you for your comment. I believe some of your comments give merit, yet I need to address the flies, we are strayed on a regular and flies is not a problem we have in the dining area. Its a strange comment, yet I will take this on board. We are on the coral... More 

Tauranga
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have just returned from 8 days at Club raro and had a wonderful time! I did the booking over the internet after being advised to stay elsewhere like the Edgewater Resort. We had friends there and went to visit the Edgewater. If you want to enjoy the pool/bar area with 200 other people then Edgewater is the place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We got in at 12pm and were greeted by a friendly face. We got a standard room, but a couple of light bulbs were out so they gave us an up grade to a poolside room. Totally unexpected and so generous!! LOVED eating the tropical breakfast every morning down by the lagoon, perfect view. Awesome pool bar. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Shore City, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Club Raro really did feel like home away from home. You walk in and are immediately greeted with warmth and humour (Nate) and are made to feel comfortable and at ease! We stayed in a Lagoon facing room and to wake up to that view every morning was just awesome. The rooms were clean and with aircon and a ceiling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (150)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay