We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Club Raro

PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Raro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Club Raro
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    110
    60
    34
    20
See reviews for
40
127
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
There are newer reviews for Club Raro
See the most recent reviews
Queensland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Luckily we only booked to stay here for 2 nights, our first and last night. To put it bluntly this place is a dump! Very old and run down, horrible atmosphere and just plain awful really. Reception area is very unappealing, breakfast was dismal, not a nice beach and pool very small and unappealing. We stayed in 2 different garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Chezzi, Thank you for your comment. Let me apologize for your stay. Like all disappointments, we encourage our guests to approach the Manager to discuss this as it is important that your stay is comfortable and satisfying. We have an open door policy with our guests and encourage this. With that note in mind, we have taken all... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I have just returned from Club Raro....... literally and I am already planning my return because I loved it so much and I found it extremely hard to leave! This was my first time visit to Rarotonga & I had no idea what to expect. The standard rooms are big and spacious, the staff are just fantastic a big shout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Trish T, Im so glad you enjoyed your entire stay and got to know our lovely team. Our goal is to deliver quality service and product, which you have highlighted in your response. Thank you! Please contact Mili is reservations on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and she will give you access to our return guest bonuses we have available. We look... More 

Darwin Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We recently stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a reasonably priced resort with large clean rooms which are serviced daily. The grounds & gardens are absolutely delightful and beautifully maintained. Although it's situated right at the water's edge, the beach is not great for swimming, although the resort does have a small pool with a swim... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Mudcrab54, Congratulations on having a wonderful holiday at Club Raro Resort. Thank you for your kind comments. We have here to serve and enjoy doing it. Our goal is to offer quality service to our guests. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Don't forget to access your return guests bonuses. Regards Charleen Heather More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

In a nutshell; Club Raro is an excellent out of season choice if your budget is a little tight. I wouldn't dream of going during peak time and if I had the extra cash I'd go to Crown Beach resort or the Nautilus. Forget the Edgewater, it's a "pack em in and bleed them" resort; an opinion given by several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana GenghisFahitaKhat, Thank you for valued feedback. We have taken all your comments on board and will work on improvements right away. I am so glad you enjoyed you stay at Club Raro Resort and hope you will return. Please take advantage of the return guests bonuses you get as a return guest. Thanking you again for taking time... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Great rooms close to everything. Great family pool area. Incredible sl I ce of paradise. Wonderful staff who are extremely friendly and helpful . Took great care of ys all. Can't wait for our next holiday back there. Maybe 2016.. 😉

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana PopManuFamilia, Thank you for your lovely comment. We are glad your family enjoyed their holiday. Please note we have 5 night packages with children up to 12 year free. Take advantage of that offer. Also you will be entitled to our return guest bonuses. We look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Charleen Heather More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Obviously this is not one of the most expensive resorts on the island but it was well priced and had exactly what i needed when staying. Poolside bar was a highlight as well as the extremely lovely staff. Food was delicious as well!! Probably a good resort to bring the family Rooms do need to be done up in some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your kind comments. We ticked the box on food, service, staff, rooms, basic needs, and price. This validates us as a great value for money hotel, which we are and that is great to see. Im so glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. Please come again for another great time! Regards Charleen Heather More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015 via mobile

Got deal on Grabe One. Room was clean, beach infront is bit too dagerous to swim in but there is a swimming pool which i enjoyed very much. It's located near to the town and airport. Most of all, lovely staff, very friendly and helpful. Especially Daniella, who was just wonderful!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Hyeo014, Thank you for your response. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Danielle is a lovely lady and I will pass on your regards. Our location is great for all our guests to take a 20 minute stroll into town and 10 minutes to the closest restaurants outside the resort. On a scooter is takes a few... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

The chef at this place is just great. The seafood chowder was amongst the best I've seen and all the dishes we had were of excellent quality. It's worth coming here just to eat! The hotel itself is fine, the room we had was clean, tidy and everything worked, including the AC. The breakfast was good, fresh fruit, cereals, juice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana, It is great to see you have found our treasure we have, GREAT FOOD!! We appreciate your kind words about our product. Please come again and experience our new menu we have just released. It will not disappoint. Regards Charleen Heather More 

Gold Coast
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015 via mobile

We weren't to sure what to expect but luckily enough we enjoyed our stay at Club Raro. When we arrived we were told that our room had been up graded. We had the best pool and lagoon view and right oppossite the bar. The location was perfect! Price was affordable, staff were ok, drinks were delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Whaea16, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to heard you enjoyed your room upgrade. The hotel is a wonderful place and I am glad you enjoyed the bar and pool. please come again and take advantage of your return guest bonuses on your next holiday with us. We look forward to serving you again. Regards... More 

Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

my partner and I got a grab one deal for club raro we enjoyed staying here as it was close to town and scooters where hired from the reception. the reception staff were cold faced and not at all helpful. lucky for them, their bartender made up for that (juta) he was very hospitable and remembered our names for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your comment. This will help us to improve and complement our staff. Its great to hear you enjoyed you holiday and encourage you to come again. Contact our team on holiday@clubraro.co.ck for your return guest specials. Regards Charleen Heather More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities