We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Club Raro

PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Raro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Club Raro
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    109
    59
    33
    20
See reviews for
40
126
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Club Raro is motel-style accommodation at best, definitely not a resort (some of the locals referred to it as a backpackers). Thankfully our stay there was for a business trip, so we didn't have to spend any time there, or foot the bill. The place is very run down. The pool was dirty and surrounded by uneven and cracked tiling,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice place, not too busy as it is not a huge commercial Hotel like some on the island. You would be hard pressed to complain. A swimming pool with swim up bar and nobody in it. I loved it. Would rather a place like this in Raro than a busy noisy bustling place. If you want flash and expensive, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

"Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend" - very true! I stayed here for a week, two years ago. Loved the place! There is a lot of ants, but they are not limited to Club Raro. The staff were very friendly throughout my stay. The rooms were very tidy and comfortable. The food and drinks were delish! This time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for 6 weeks while on a student placement. We had one of the studio apartments which fitted us and suited is well. Whenever we had any questions or if something was missing or broken, it was quick to be replaced or fixed. Loved the swim up bar, which is a special feature of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have not long returned from our stay at Club Raro and all I can say....it was perfect for us. The food you could not fault, definitely got your moneys worth there. Happy hour at the pool bar...love it. Cocktails were yummy especially the pissed parrot. As for swimming in the ocean at the resort, we spent an afternoon snorkelling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tammisaari, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After staying 5 nights at Aitutaki, Paradise Cove, this was a real "hotel". Upgraded myself to beachfront room, that was my luck! The rooms by the pool are without air,hot, locals were celebrating Valentine's Day. Pool was a mess! Went in just do try diving gear. The beach is not for swimming--when you reserve, read carefully what you get- Chessi!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queensland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Luckily we only booked to stay here for 2 nights, our first and last night. To put it bluntly this place is a dump! Very old and run down, horrible atmosphere and just plain awful really. Reception area is very unappealing, breakfast was dismal, not a nice beach and pool very small and unappealing. We stayed in 2 different garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Chezzi, Thank you for your comment. Let me apologize for your stay. Like all disappointments, we encourage our guests to approach the Manager to discuss this as it is important that your stay is comfortable and satisfying. We have an open door policy with our guests and encourage this. With that note in mind, we have taken all... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I have just returned from Club Raro....... literally and I am already planning my return because I loved it so much and I found it extremely hard to leave! This was my first time visit to Rarotonga & I had no idea what to expect. The standard rooms are big and spacious, the staff are just fantastic a big shout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Darwin Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We recently stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a reasonably priced resort with large clean rooms which are serviced daily. The grounds & gardens are absolutely delightful and beautifully maintained. Although it's situated right at the water's edge, the beach is not great for swimming, although the resort does have a small pool with a swim... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

In a nutshell; Club Raro is an excellent out of season choice if your budget is a little tight. I wouldn't dream of going during peak time and if I had the extra cash I'd go to Crown Beach resort or the Nautilus. Forget the Edgewater, it's a "pack em in and bleed them" resort; an opinion given by several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question