We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Avarua hotels

Club Raro

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Club Raro to your Saves list
Club Raro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Avarua
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Anita M Salamander Bay
  • Reviews (224)
  • Photos (152)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (78)
  • More
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    87
    54
    30
    19
See reviews for
31
109
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salamander Bay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked my holiday to the Cook Islands at the last minute and couldn't find any friends who were able to join me so my main requirement for accommodation was finding somewhere that there might be other solo travellers without having to stay at a backpackers. As it turned out Club Raro was perfect for me as there were quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Initially I had a few issues, but management stepped in when I alerted them on day 3 after some encouragement I got from another guest who regularly stays there, so do this if you have any issues. This hotel is undergoing change, as I read on previous reviews prior to booking, both with staff training and room makeovers; and about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Aussie2424, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and taking the time out to comment on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and shows our Management is delivering quality care to our guests. Your comments are worth a lot and I assure you we will take on board all the areas needing improvement including customer service... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself was great, however, we kept discovering problems that we wernt advised of: -We were told there was free snorkelling gear available but when we went to use it we were told they only had a youth snorkel available, even at 8am in the morning..... -The biggest disappointment of all, our double bed was 2 singles pushed together?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana ekbowie, Thank you for your feedback. We have taken all your comments and will action them accordingly. As we are high occupancy, we did run out. My apologies for this. We will make improvements and ship more in to cater to the demand accordingly. With regards to your bedding, I personally checked your room and you had a... More

Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Raro is a short ride from the airport. A good walk to downtown but pleasant.There is the bus service that does the island circle.check the timetable as it goes clockwise,anticlockwise alternately.this is a good way to see the island if you have the time too.rooms are simple but ample.likewise the pool.food good.Free island dancing in the lounge is excellent.best to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana John 1358, Thank you for your great comments. Regarding the beach, we are on the coral coast of the island and our beach give us difference in what we offer. You can get reef shoes at the reception desk which will help you exploring the shoreline. The bonus we have about our beach is the reef being so... More

Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here last week, couldnt rave more about this place...we have a poolside room, some of the rooms still being upgraded so we got a new fresh white room...nice beds, good showers, FOOD in restaurant suprisingly excellent...and pretty good prices, Not all meals, singapore fried rice, huge, and prawns yummy...didnt rate the chicken salad tho. Staff nice and friendly, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana yesalex, We really appreciate your comments on trip advisor. Our beach is not for everyone and changes from surfs up to swimming and snorkeling day in and out. Have you tried the Fruits of Rarotonga, its a fantastic location never to disappoint. Perfect snorkeling. When you come again, ask our front office team directions and they will assist... More

Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was a bit worried given the mixed reviews this place gets - but apart from the first room which was definitely sub-standard, (one of the not-yet-refurbished ones), it was great! All staff were friendly & helpful, as soon as I complained about the room it was dealt with pleasantly & without any hassle. Our next room was lovely, beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana LindaMacKenzie, Thank you for your feedback, its great to see the team being proactive about any guest and glad you got the room you wanted. Its is always our goal to deliver the very best and with that, the front desk handled the situation correctly. Well Done Team!! Your comments enlightens us for that, we thank you. We... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Room very basic but good functioning air con and fan. Toilet broke on two days but was fixed pretty promptly, not a big deal. Rooms and gardens cleaned and well kept. Gorgeous pool bar, views and gardens. Friendly service. Cannot swim or snorkel out the front but a lovely little place to stay. Happy hour was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Hanzii9, Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. My apologizes for the maintenance issues. So happy the maintenance team handled the situation promptly. Your comments are awesome and will up build the team in a positive way! Thank you!! Remember, your access to return guest specials is available at your travel... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

As a few other people have said, great if you are looking to get what you paid for. Bought a 7-night deal. No compendium in the room and as this was our first visit to club Raro (not to Rarotonga) and we arrived at 1am we had no idea what the place offered. Rooms are very basic with nothing but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana steviegnz, Thank you for your feedback. We can only go up and get better in service with these comments you have provided. We welcome your feedback and want to let you know we will take all of it on board. As we speak, the Manager is working on your feedback improvements. I'm happy to hear you want to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Awesome if you are looking to get what you pay for. Got a cheap deal so got what I was expecting. There's no huge pool or kids club and the furnishings are a little dated in areas but it's quiet, clean and the food and service from the staff are both excellent. I would highly recommend and be more than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana briansM9452IK, Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I'm happy to hear you loved your holiday and hope to see you come back again. As we improve the hotel, your comments will help us to take the next step and better our hotel for you. Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you again and remember... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

we stayed at Club Raro again - we were there at Xmas as well. We had the most amazing room with views and right outside the pool, which was fabulous. My husband and I were all about relaxing and taking our time - the staff were amazing and so friendly - and very accommodating. The views are amazing, and sitting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana moor664, Thank you for responding on Trip Advisor. Your comments help us alot. It makes us happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday with Club Raro Resort. lovely cocktails at the pool it the way to go. You have highlighted our main selling points as a holiday destination, which is heart warming. We appreciate your time. Remember to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Club Raro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME.Offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere, Club Raro Resort is great value for money for all travellers. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails surrounded by flourishing tropical gardens. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again.ROOMS. Club Raro is an intimate small vintage Resort offering 71 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms nestled between winding mosaic pathways, Poolside Rooms bordering the popular pool area, Self-Contained Rooms or Studio Apartments for those that prefer to cater for themselves, the premium Lagoon front Rooms which are more suitable for couples, with a larger bathroom, King beds and amazing views of the ocean and the 4 Bedroom Villa with 2 Ensuites and a Large Common Area. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence with a relaxed atmosphere. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • Satellite T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES Enjoy a cool dip and a refreshing cocktail in the freshwater pool with swim-up Pool Bar, or laze on one of the sun decks overlooking the lagoon with the hypnotic sound of the waves on the reef. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort!The Palms Restaurant and Bar offers an a-la-carte menu for breakfast,lunch and dinner with a fantastic fusion of fresh local ingredients with international flavours and warm friendly service. Take advantage of our daily blackboard specials.Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment WEDDINGS.Club Raro Resort can make your dream wedding come true... There are 2 packages to take advantage of. WHITE LILY PACKAGE - This is our simple package which includes, the celebrant, registration of marriage and a ceremony on the decks of Club Raro Resorts Lagoon front. There is the KOROMIRI WEDDING PACKAGE which is on an island in Muri Beach on a beautiful white sandy beach with a archway and 15 people. Extra people will be at a cost. For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
71

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer