We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Club Raro

3.0 of 5 PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
#2 of 4 hotels in Avarua
228 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Raro
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Club Raro
  • Overview
  • Reviews (228)
  • Photos (152)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (82)
  • More
Save Saved
You added Club Raro to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    89
    55
    31
    18
See reviews for
32
110
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 6 nights and found it very enjoyable! Our room was very spacious and clean. We didn't have a pool side room (as a lot of people on here have recommended) but our room was in a perfect location, close to the restaurant and the pool area, we only slept and showered in there as most days... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WOW!! Why would you want to stay anywhere else. We have just arrived home and I am going back as soon as I can. Our room was a poolside room and the outlook was just beautiful and perfect. Yes the room was a bit tired (just needed a little TLC) but it was spacious, exceptionally clean, the shower was hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The property is older, but our room was always clean. We were diving and exploring the island most of the day, so this property was perfect. We didn't really interact with the staff, but any requests we had were fulfilled. If you want frills & fancy, this is not your place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One word - Tired!! Cleanliness was suspect. Linen old and discoloured. $NZ19.50 for a Continental breakfast was simply outrageous. Tariif and prices generally were to high for what the Resort has to offer

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here end of July for a winter getaway. Some staff are nice, others seem clueless. Ate one night at the hotel restaurant, but was not nice, so we ate out the rest of the time. The rooms are good, clean and comfortable. Right on the beach with a pool which is great. The internet cost is a total ripoff,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salamander Bay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I booked my holiday to the Cook Islands at the last minute and couldn't find any friends who were able to join me so my main requirement for accommodation was finding somewhere that there might be other solo travellers without having to stay at a backpackers. As it turned out Club Raro was perfect for me as there were quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Initially I had a few issues, but management stepped in when I alerted them on day 3 after some encouragement I got from another guest who regularly stays there, so do this if you have any issues. This hotel is undergoing change, as I read on previous reviews prior to booking, both with staff training and room makeovers; and about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana Aussie2424, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and taking the time out to comment on Trip Advisor. Your comments are valuable and shows our Management is delivering quality care to our guests. Your comments are worth a lot and I assure you we will take on board all the areas needing improvement including customer service... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel itself was great, however, we kept discovering problems that we wernt advised of: -We were told there was free snorkelling gear available but when we went to use it we were told they only had a youth snorkel available, even at 8am in the morning..... -The biggest disappointment of all, our double bed was 2 singles pushed together?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana ekbowie, Thank you for your feedback. We have taken all your comments and will action them accordingly. As we are high occupancy, we did run out. My apologies for this. We will make improvements and ship more in to cater to the demand accordingly. With regards to your bedding, I personally checked your room and you had a... More

Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Raro is a short ride from the airport. A good walk to downtown but pleasant.There is the bus service that does the island circle.check the timetable as it goes clockwise,anticlockwise alternately.this is a good way to see the island if you have the time too.rooms are simple but ample.likewise the pool.food good.Free island dancing in the lounge is excellent.best to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana John 1358, Thank you for your great comments. Regarding the beach, we are on the coral coast of the island and our beach give us difference in what we offer. You can get reef shoes at the reception desk which will help you exploring the shoreline. The bonus we have about our beach is the reef being so... More

Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here last week, couldnt rave more about this place...we have a poolside room, some of the rooms still being upgraded so we got a new fresh white room...nice beds, good showers, FOOD in restaurant suprisingly excellent...and pretty good prices, Not all meals, singapore fried rice, huge, and prawns yummy...didnt rate the chicken salad tho. Staff nice and friendly, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Charleen H, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this review

Kia Orana yesalex, We really appreciate your comments on trip advisor. Our beach is not for everyone and changes from surfs up to swimming and snorkeling day in and out. Have you tried the Fruits of Rarotonga, its a fantastic location never to disappoint. Perfect snorkeling. When you come again, ask our front office team directions and they will assist... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Club Raro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua
Club Raro Rarotonga, Cook Islands

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Avarua with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME.Offering a relaxed friendly atmosphere, Club Raro Resort is great value for money for all travellers. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails surrounded by flourishing tropical gardens. Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again.ROOMS. Club Raro is an intimate small vintage Resort offering 71 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms nestled between winding mosaic pathways, Poolside Rooms bordering the popular pool area, Self-Contained Rooms or Studio Apartments for those that prefer to cater for themselves, the premium Lagoon front Rooms which are more suitable for couples, with a larger bathroom, King beds and amazing views of the ocean and the 4 Bedroom Villa with 2 Ensuites and a Large Common Area. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence with a relaxed atmosphere. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • Satellite T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES Enjoy a cool dip and a refreshing cocktail in the freshwater pool with swim-up Pool Bar, or laze on one of the sun decks overlooking the lagoon with the hypnotic sound of the waves on the reef. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort!The Palms Restaurant and Bar offers an a-la-carte menu for breakfast,lunch and dinner with a fantastic fusion of fresh local ingredients with international flavours and warm friendly service. Take advantage of our daily blackboard specials.Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment WEDDINGS.Club Raro Resort can make your dream wedding come true... There are 2 packages to take advantage of. WHITE LILY PACKAGE - This is our simple package which includes, the celebrant, registration of marriage and a ceremony on the decks of Club Raro Resorts Lagoon front. There is the KOROMIRI WEDDING PACKAGE which is on an island in Muri Beach on a beautiful white sandy beach with a archway and 15 people. Extra people will be at a cost. For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
71

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Club Raro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer