We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Montevideo

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Colonia 823, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Montevideo
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    170
    101
    27
    11
See reviews for
99
111
31
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (385)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (111)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
South Fork, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't expect much from the rooms. It's an old hotel. The service was OK. There was barely a coffee shop, more of a pastry continental breakfast nook and a "sort of" bar. Not fancy. BUT, a great location. Many landmarks and walking distance to everything downtown. A very short cab ride to the beach. They have a relationship with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear James, thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel. Knowing what our customers think is the best way we can improve our services. We're glad you enjoyed the location of the building, near the main tourist points of the city and its financial center. It is also within the scope of several renowned dining options.... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well located, distance walking from very nice places, their staff is really worry about your requirements, however it is an old building with issues related to external noises, Wi-Fi connection, broken machines at the gym, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Nino C, please write a review about your stay at our hotel. It is a way to contribute to improve our services. We're glad you enjoyed the location of the building, near the main tourist points of the city and its financial center. Furthermore, we inform you that your bad experiences with outside noise and Wi Fi were notified... More 

Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

The hotel is well located, one corner bellow the main square. The room is good, but the bathroom is very old! The breakfast is good but expensive and there is no option around (at least I did not find). The main problem to me was that if you want a meal the restaurant is out of the building, few steps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear ESNV, Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. It is nice to know that you appreciated our location and staff. However, we apologize if you found our breakfast prices to be expensive and we regret to know that you had a hard time going to the restaurant. Your feedback is important to... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

The hotel is located a block away from the main street of Montevideo and the Plaza Independencia. It is also a very short walk to the Old City and the restaurants therein. The staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English and were able to answer any questions we had about the city or various tourist attractions. The rooms themselves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

A great location but the rooms are so small when you close the door the door knob gets in bed with you. i did not try the catering facilities nor the room service. It is centrally located for sightseeing

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnMvd, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Gareth, we thank you for leaving your opinion about your stay at Holiday Inn Montevideo. His words help us to improve our service. We're glad you enjoyed the great location of our hotel in the center of the tourist and shopping area of the city. Moreover, we regret that you felt your room was small. In that sense, we... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

It has a good location, there are several places to visit that are near to it, in the old part of the city and it matches with it. It looks old and it needs painting and new furniture. The room was medium size and nice, although the furniture was old and a little damaged on the edges

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Mariana L, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are glad to hear you liked our location. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of... More 

CHENNAI,INDIA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

I am a loyal gold elite member of the IHG.When we checked in on 9 th May,we were given a smoking room and I had booked a non smoking room. This was hastily changed. None of the rooms had air conditioning and it was very warm. The website doesn't mention this. We were asked to open the window!!!! and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Ravi K, we thank you for leaving your review of your stay at Holiday Inn Montevideo. We have taken note of each of your opinions and transmitted to the heads of each area to determine why the problems were caused. We want to let you know that is very important for us to know your opinion about the service... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
841 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,036 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights in Montevideo. It was a fine hotel. Reception staff were nice and friendly. Our room was a decent size, very clean and it did the job. The lifts are a bit old and jerky and the corridors could probably do with a refurbishment! Minor complaints! Breakfast was included and was pretty decent- a good selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The hotel is in the very centre of montevideo, only a few steps from square of independence and other important and sightseeing places. the staff is attentive and helpful with no problem with english, and the breakfast are nice and tasty, albeit somehow limited in selection - but more than enough for business traveller. wifi is not only in foyer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Twztwztwz, we thank you left an impression on your stay at our hotel. For us it is important to know the opinions of our guests to keep improving our services. We appreciate that you enjoyed the prime location of Holiday Inn Montevideo, in the city center, a few steps from major attractions and the breakfast was to your liking.... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Very average hotel, rooms are old and compare to private rooms in a hostel. Be mindful of what floor and side of building you get as there is a fair amount of street noise. Decent location in terms of being near main square, but the street that hotel is located on is very run-down and a bit of a downer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolidayInnMvd, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Jamie B, we thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel, because knowing the opinions of our guests helps us to improve our services. We appreciate that you have noticed that the hotel's location helps to have near major tourist attractions of the capital. We also appreciate that you liked the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (75)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
NH Montevideo Columbia
#31 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orpheo Express Hotel
#29 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Intercity Premium Montevideo
#21 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Punta Carretas
Tryp Montevideo
Tryp Montevideo
#13 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay