We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    229
    110
    47
    32
See reviews for
94
237
28
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (557)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a suite based on the pictures online and they were apparently a "VIP suite", not the one they showed to be a suite. They had 2 exercise machines in their gym and the service was poor. Overall the room was average and poorly fitted out and absolutely not as described. I recommend staying somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, In first place, thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are deeply sorry for the issue with the room asignation. We have already fixed this problem so it will not happen again. Once again, we apologize for these inconvenients and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The atmosphere suggest an hotel boutique, but it is not. When you ask for specific details (Cable TV not working, a couple of hours of delay for check-out, a special request for breakfast) you get no answer at all. All in all the Esplendor has a decent quality/price ratio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We will take in considetarion the things you mentioned in order to improve our service and make your stay even more pleasant. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Best asset at this location is personnel, they're very helpful considering that you are in Uruguay. Manager Jorge Benitez , a hands on man, very costumer oriented and a hard worker. Believe or not there was no ice available, first hotel in the world that I had been to, then again remember that you are in Uruguay, a simple smile... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We also want to thank you for your warm words about the staff. On the other hand, we willl keep in mind the things you have mentioned in order to improve our service. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Kinds regards, Jorge... More 

Punta del Este, Maldonado, Uruguay
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
34 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Tried a lot of hotels in Montevideo. All of them have some negative sides. This relatively new hotel in downtown had 3 minor problems. The coffee for beakfast was awful, they don't have a garage big enough for big cars and showring the floor if the bathroom got wet. But for the rest a great option. Double room for 80... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know thatyou had a great stay at the hotel, however, we will keep in mind the things you have mentioned in order to offer you even a better service. You will be welcome during your next trip to Montevideo. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

The hotel itself looks like an art museum, everything looks beautiful and clean, the area of the hotel is also excellent, near the Ciudad vieja. Bad points: old towels and the breakfast could be a little better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know that you had a great stay at the hotel. We are improving our breakfast service and we are also replacing all the towels with new ones. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in your next trip to Montevideo. Kinds regards, Jorge... More 

Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Stayed two nights at the Esplendor in July 2014. The first room we got smelled really bad and the bedding was moist. Luckily we were able to switch room to a better one. Very nice room, but they try to hard to be a luxurious hotel, when they are just an average hotel. Very small pool and not very clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo and sharing your experience with us. We are currently working to improve our service and offer our guest a better experience. We would like you to give us another chance and show you the improvements. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I selected this on the basis of photos, other travellers' reviews and price. I was not disappointed. The lobby is a small art exhibition cum clubroom, with much art and many books on the walls. A lovely touch - I wish I had had more time to explore it. The room was big, if oddly-shaped. They had transformed a couch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know that you had a great experience at the hotel. It is really motivating to all the staff knowing that our guests had a good experience during the stay. We expect to see you again soon. Best Regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Loved my staying @ the hippest hotel in town! It's a one of a kind place where U get this amazing combination between the original and the contemporary Montevideo. And the people are ”lo más”. Can't wait for their theatre to open! Very nice area to walk arround, day or night, might as well be to watch the sunset at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know that you had a magnificent experience with us. We are all working really hard to provide a great service to our guests. We would be pleased to welcome you again in the near future. Best Regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

I'm comming back for sure! The hotel was great, large rooms, perfect shower. The swimming pool is gorgeous. The staff so gentle, lovelly and prestative. Voltarei com certeza! I hotel é otimo, quartos grandes, chuverti perfeito. A piscina é linda! O pessoal muito amável, gentil e prestativo

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo and sharing your review with us. We are glad to know that you had a great experience at our hotel. Our team would be grateful to hear your words. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Esplendor looks just like a Monet painting: really beautiful from very far, but when you get close you see all the dots and it becomes impossible to understand. We stayed in a pretty dirty bedroom, had no help whatsoever from the staff to take a cab (it took them 45 minutes to arrange us one) and the breakfast was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We apologize for the issues you may have experienced during your stay. As we told you before, we are working really hard day to day in order to improve our service in all the possible ways. We would like you to give us another opportunity to host you again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

300 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (292)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (93)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question