We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

4.0 of 5 Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    213
    104
    45
    30
See reviews for
89
220
28
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (522)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (185)
All months
Punta del Este, Maldonado, Uruguay
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tried a lot of hotels in Montevideo. All of them have some negative sides. This relatively new hotel in downtown had 3 minor problems. The coffee for beakfast was awful, they don't have a garage big enough for big cars and showring the floor if the bathroom got wet. But for the rest a great option. Double room for 80... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know thatyou had a great stay at the hotel, however, we will keep in mind the things you have mentioned in order to offer you even a better service. You will be welcome during your next trip to Montevideo. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself looks like an art museum, everything looks beautiful and clean, the area of the hotel is also excellent, near the Ciudad vieja. Bad points: old towels and the breakfast could be a little better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know that you had a great stay at the hotel. We are improving our breakfast service and we are also replacing all the towels with new ones. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in your next trip to Montevideo. Kinds regards, Jorge... More 

Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Stayed two nights at the Esplendor in July 2014. The first room we got smelled really bad and the bedding was moist. Luckily we were able to switch room to a better one. Very nice room, but they try to hard to be a luxurious hotel, when they are just an average hotel. Very small pool and not very clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo and sharing your experience with us. We are currently working to improve our service and offer our guest a better experience. We would like you to give us another chance and show you the improvements. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I selected this on the basis of photos, other travellers' reviews and price. I was not disappointed. The lobby is a small art exhibition cum clubroom, with much art and many books on the walls. A lovely touch - I wish I had had more time to explore it. The room was big, if oddly-shaped. They had transformed a couch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know that you had a great experience at the hotel. It is really motivating to all the staff knowing that our guests had a good experience during the stay. We expect to see you again soon. Best Regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Loved my staying @ the hippest hotel in town! It's a one of a kind place where U get this amazing combination between the original and the contemporary Montevideo. And the people are ”lo más”. Can't wait for their theatre to open! Very nice area to walk arround, day or night, might as well be to watch the sunset at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are glad to know that you had a magnificent experience with us. We are all working really hard to provide a great service to our guests. We would be pleased to welcome you again in the near future. Best Regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

I'm comming back for sure! The hotel was great, large rooms, perfect shower. The swimming pool is gorgeous. The staff so gentle, lovelly and prestative. Voltarei com certeza! I hotel é otimo, quartos grandes, chuverti perfeito. A piscina é linda! O pessoal muito amável, gentil e prestativo

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo and sharing your review with us. We are glad to know that you had a great experience at our hotel. Our team would be grateful to hear your words. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Esplendor looks just like a Monet painting: really beautiful from very far, but when you get close you see all the dots and it becomes impossible to understand. We stayed in a pretty dirty bedroom, had no help whatsoever from the staff to take a cab (it took them 45 minutes to arrange us one) and the breakfast was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We apologize for the issues you may have experienced during your stay. As we told you before, we are working really hard day to day in order to improve our service in all the possible ways. We would like you to give us another opportunity to host you again... More 

Maringa, MG
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

It was my first time in MVD and being at this hotel was the best choice. It is perfectly located, close to the theater, ciuldad vieja, Av 18 de Julio, and many other nice places. The crew is awesome and rooms are trendy, beautiful and charming. Breakfast is good although the coffee is something you may want to pass. Go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo during your trip to our city. All the staff work really hard to make our guests stay a memorable experience. They will be greateful to hear your words. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Mogi Das Cruzes, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Nice crew, good location, good size of the rooms, king beds, good breakfast but there are some issues. It needs better maintenance. The shower was not working properly and it took some time to be mended. Wifi was weak but it was ok as I was not there for work. The price was not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo and sharing your experience with us. We are working hard in order to give a better service to our guest. Your feedback is really valuable to us. We are looking forward to see you again soon. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Pluses and Minuses Recently renovated. Trendy rooms with high ceilings on at least level 1, but with some impractical issues. Why no towel rails these days? Many mosquitoes in our room as soon as we arrived. The bath shower screen does not seal with the edge of the bath, so care has to be taken to not flood the floor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Esplendor Montevideo for your stay. Your review is really important to us in order to offer a better service to our guest. We apologize for the inconvenience. We will now work harder on the things you have mentioned. Kind Regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Esplendor Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Montevideo 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montevideo

290 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (282)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (25)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay