We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Montevideo hotels

Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Esplendor Hotel Montevideo to your Saves list
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
64%
Ranked #43 of 78 hotels in Montevideo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
trudy329 Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

330 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    132
    59
    31
    24
See reviews for
53
115
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Esplendor offered good facilities and rooms at a reasonable price. Breakfast was good and the hotel was very well located, only two blocks from Plaza Independencia. Recommended for those on a budget who want a range of facilities in a well located hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is on a beautiful historic building and has a very modern eclectic design, which we loved. The rooms are standard, we had to change once because the a/c wasnt working and in the other room the a/c made noises but since it was only one night we let it pass. The pool and sauna area are great, they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

...taking into account that it's relatively budget-friendly, offers free breakfast and use of gym, sauna and swimming pool, as well as a high-speed internet connection, it's definitely priceworthy. Also, a big plus for allowing us to check in at 7 a.m. AND have a free breakfast on our check-in day! Some more attention could be paid to details, but if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is convenient to visit the historic quarter. The room is clean and spacious. Too bad that the reception staffs are not service oriented, which is rather rare in Uruguay. With the staffs more friendly and competent, this hotel would be much better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MAdoue-GteEsplendor, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado huésped, Saludos desde Esplendor Montevideo. Ya hemos tomado nota de sus comentarios para poder mejorar en la recepción del... More

Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, very nice hotel, great breakfast (variety, quantity).... But Little details are not properly maintained and looks like nobody cares i.e. I drunk juice in a glass and the glass remained dirty for my while stay!... Or the shower requieren a small fin, but no one would care. Location is close to old city, but too close to cheap... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MAdoue-GteEsplendor, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado huésped, Saludos desde Esplendor Montevideo. Ya hemos tomado nota de sus comentarios para poder mejorar en el hotel y... More

Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Complained to the staff. They changed the room. AC did not work. Place is run down and not taken care off The staff is very helpful but there is only limited things they could do Not recommend it to anybody. The website is misleading But a damper on the vacation

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fën H, Dirección at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. We are very sorry for the problems you have encountered upon check in and during you stay. We have closely looked into the issues you have brought to light and would welcome if you could please write us at frontdesk@esplendormontevideo.com so that we may get your... More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I could not have asked for a worse hotel to stay in. The first hotel room that they had me stay in did not have a functioning toilet or shower. There was no flush and the handles on the shower would fall off when turned. When I asked for help they said this was how all the rooms were. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Dirección at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Esplendor Montevideo. We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. Our goal is to always exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the... More

Oslo
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good things first: This hotel is located right in the center of Montevideo allowing us to walk to restaurants etc. The building is quite charming with very high ceilings. Bad things next: We had reserved a VIP suite which - on the hotel website - was marketed with pictures indicating a suite, so more than one room/area, and clearly stated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hessle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

hotel must have had a recent upgrade as it was all very nice very clean very modern and stylish rooms were nicely done and the bathrooms were very nice also wi fi was good and their were computers available in the foyer also breakfast was descent and the pool area was inside on the ground floor and there was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Esplendor for three nights and were happy overall with the hotel. The 'king' bed was two beds put together which made it a little uncomfortable but otherwise the room was good. The wi-fi was spotty on the second floor. It only worked in the bathroom. The breakfast was good and we loved that Av.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Esplendor Hotel Montevideo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Address: Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Montevideo Department > Montevideo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 hotels in Montevideo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplendor Hotel Montevideo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo is located in the heart of the recently inaugurated Barrio Literario. The property was residence of important historical characters, such as Julio Cortazar who wrote “The Condemned Door” inspired by a room of the old hotel.The old building was completely refurbished to achieve this beautiful boutique hotel, keeping the distinctive facade of the old lodging but remodeling the interior to offer comfort, relax and a unique experience of design and innovation.Esplendor Hotel Montevideo offers, among many conveniences, indoor pool, spa, two meeting rooms and the old Cervantes Theater completely remodeled to be used as ballroom while keeping its ancient splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Esplendor Hotel Montevideo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.