We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Esplendor Hotel Montevideo

Soriano 868, Montevideo 11100, Uruguay
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Esplendor Hotel Montevideo
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    159
    258
    129
    49
    33
See reviews for
111
263
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (628)
  • Mar-May only
    (154)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (169)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (184)
All months
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

To be fair, this hotel has a lot going for it. A beautiful old building, stylishly renovated, and situated near the Old City. However, when we developed a problem with our room, we were very disappointed with the response of the staff. We were staying at the hotel for four nights, and by the second night the bathroom had developed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in Montevideo for a night before flying home to London after a long trip. Both of us are ill and I felt terrible with a chest infection off the flight which was very apparent to staff on our checking in. Feeling too grotty to go get food, ordered food in. No cutlery with delivery. My boyfriend went to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, thank you so much for staying at Esplendor Montevideo. We are deeply sorry for your experience at the hotel. This situation is really embarrassing to us. I hope you understand this is not the standard procedure to assist our guests. Once again, we are sorry for these issues and we hope you still give us... More 

Travelers are raving about these Montevideo hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a very nice looking hotel. Our room was small but had everyting we needed, heating, tv, nice bathroom, fridge and a cosy bed. Unfortunately we arrived very early around 7am with a nightbus so very tired. The receptionist told us that the room was ready but if we wanted it this early we had to pay $50 extra!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Esplendor Montevideo. We are sorry for the inconvenience at the check-in time.Your feedback feedback is really valuable to us in order to improve the service. Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We still hope you give us another chance in the future. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

So appreciate that early check-in is a privilege and not a right but when you turn up just 2 hrs early and are told your room is ready but if you want it now you have to pay 50% of the night cost it leaves a very bad impression of the hotel. I have never had another hotel do that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Esplendor Montevideo. We are really sorry for the issues you experienced during your visit. We want to let you know that our guests' feedback is really valuable in order to improve our service. Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We still hope you give us another chance in the future. Kind... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We booked this as it was cheaper than some of the hostels in Montevideo. Our room was like a nice hostel room though was tiny and smelled of damp (think it may have been an old cupboard - room 116). It was also very noisy, not from the street but within the hotel. I'm not sure if there were pipes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are sorry for all the issues you experienced during your stay with us. We are constantly working to improve the service and solve all these inconveniences. We hope you still give us another opportunity if you decide to come back to Montevideo. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Community of Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Just for business trip, I'd the chance to spend 9 nights. Breakfast: nice place (PH floor). Nice views to the sea, and the food good enought too, but I felt a little bit more variety. Service: it could be improved. No conversations, any 'good morning'... Good enought. Rooms: confortable bed and bathroom. Air conditioned regulated temperature. WiFi, ok. Good speed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying at Esplendor Montevideo. We hope you had a comfortable experience at the hotel. On the other hand, we are always improving our service in order to make our guets' stay a memorable experience. We are looking forward to see you again. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

The building is gorgeous with the original features retained and restored. There is really interesting local art throughout the building. The location was very good. The wi-fi worked well. I booked a suite and when we checked in were given just a room. I went and complained so we were moved to another "room" which was still not a suite,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, thank you for staying at Esplendor Montevideo. We are deeply sorry for all these inconveniences. We will definitely work harder and give our best to make our guests' stay a much more enjoyable experience. We are looking forward to see you again another day. Kind regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Big room, clean, well equipped. Breakfast ok, not a big selection, though. Enjoyed a very nice stay, some minor issues that did not affect my overall impression, will definitely consider Esplendor next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. It's good to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. We will be waiting for you in case you decide to visit again our city. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We booked a suite based on the pictures online and they were apparently a "VIP suite", not the one they showed to be a suite. They had 2 exercise machines in their gym and the service was poor. Overall the room was average and poorly fitted out and absolutely not as described. I recommend staying somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, In first place, thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We are deeply sorry for the issue with the room asignation. We have already fixed this problem so it will not happen again. Once again, we apologize for these inconvenients and we hope you will give us another chance in the near future. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez... More 

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The atmosphere suggest an hotel boutique, but it is not. When you ask for specific details (Cable TV not working, a couple of hours of delay for check-out, a special request for breakfast) you get no answer at all. All in all the Esplendor has a decent quality/price ratio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fën H, Gerente at Esplendor Hotel Montevideo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Montevideo. We will take in considetarion the things you mentioned in order to improve our service and make your stay even more pleasant. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Kinds regards, Jorge Benítez Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

330 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (322)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montevideo hotels
0.3 mi away
Orpheo Express Hotel
Orpheo Express Hotel
#30 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Puerto Mercado Hotel
Puerto Mercado Hotel
#27 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Intercity Premium Montevideo
Intercity Premium Montevideo
#20 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palladium Business Hotel
Palladium Business Hotel
#10 of 83 in Montevideo
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smart Hotel Montevideo
Smart Hotel Montevideo
#3 of 83 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#15 of 83 in Montevideo
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay