We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel

4.5 of 5 Ordonez Lazo s/n, Cuenca, Ecuador
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    29
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
18
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Very well kept hotel, it really looks new. Not close to the city center but close to a developing area for expatriates. People are friendly and very professional. The food for a hotel was superb! We had grilled trout and it was amazing! Then I learned that during weekends the restaurant was going to have a "Crab Festival", I can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Oro Verde Hotel Cuenca family thanks you for taking some of your valuable time to refer your comment, we really work with dedication, care and passion to provide excellent service to make you feel like you were at home. Also as you refer we make constant maintenance of the new facilities. As you mention this month we have... More

Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I went there for a few days since me and my brother were on a business trip. It's not downtown so you need to taje a taxi almost everywhere. Food from the buffet wasn't that tasty. People who work there are friendly and speak very good English. They have central heating since Cuenca can be quite cold , that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your valuable and flattering comment. The fact that the hotel is not in the town center for a business traveler it is strength to our hotel due to traffic and noise in that area of the city. The streetcar routes are under construction, it will be a strength for the city but unfortunately... More

Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Rooms are big, modern and well-kept. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good but not very varied. It is a clean and quiet hotel (although they were doing renovation work). Free wi fi and a big parking. The hotel is not very closed to the city center but still is reasonably nearby. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking some of your valuable time to refer your comment, we really work with dedication, care and passion to provide excellent service to make you feel like you were at home. Also as you refer we make constant maintenance of the new facilities. About the breakfast you mention that is not extensive, even though our breakfast consists... More

Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

It was great that they have heated floors for the chilly evenings in Cuenca. Their advertised price, which is high, does not reflect an additional 22% hotel tax. The staff was very helpful. The rooms and beds were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to have you back soon. Best regards, Marcelo Ferrari General Manager More

Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I made the reservation for this hotel online for three rooms. On their website, they state "Fully furnished, all with airconditioning, heating, minibar, internet, safety box, cable tv and 24 hour free movies, laundry and room service" so I thought I did not need to make any further requests. Upon checking in we were told that the rooms we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, More

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hotel staff was friendly. We were greeted with a glass of fresh juice upon arrival. The room was sleek and clean, perhaps a little too sleek. The flooring is a laminate of some kind and was a little cold and stark. The bathroom left some things to be desired. First, the hot water did not work. The design of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Stacy, Thank you very much for your flattering comments about our kindness and the elegance of our rooms, we will consider your comments to improve and continue providing the best service and comfort. With regard to the infrastructure, I have to say that the hotel is 30 years old so the distribution its has its because of the... More

Puerto Cayo, Ecuador
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was not our first choice in Cuenca. Our original hotel booked through Bookings.com did not honor our reservations and since it was late (after midnight) and we needed 3 rooms, we went to this larger hotel. The night staff could not have been more helpful. They realized we were tired and frustrated and quickly checked us in, got porters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela, Thank you for your kind comment, we are glad to know that you have enjoyed your staying, which is what we work for. We are constantly improving to offer the best service and facilities to our guests. Our main goal is to make you experience an unforgettable moment in our beautiful city. Best Regards, Marcelo Ferrari General Manager More

North Carolina Smoky Mountains, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were greeted with a smile and the very helpful staff lead us to our room. Very modern and spacious with an inviting minimalist look. A/C died half way through the first night and staff was unable to repair it. Nothing done to offer up another room to rectify the situation. Half way through the next day, we demanded another... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Before hand thank you for dedicating some time to coment on your important stay. The problem of the A/C was solved as soon as you did your check out. We are glad you liked the upgrade to the suite we did. I am also glad to hear you were content with the service of the family Oro Verde.... More

Somerville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We have visited the deli on several occassions, the breakfast breads, desserts sandwichhes and pasta were great and done at a reasonable price. The staff has always been outgoing and friendly. We will return, they can cure my sweet tooth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your mportant coment, on a everyday basis we try to improve our service to be able to satisfy our clients the best way we can. We will be expecting you to satisfy that sweet tooth you have with our deliciouse desserts. Best Regards, Marcelo Ferrari General Manager More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

we visited Oro Verde Cuenca a fews year ago, during another trip to Ecuador. We were very glad about the new renovated rooms at a reasonable price. We missed the "Laguna" that is now a parking area. the staff is helpfull and friendly. The food of good quality. Thanks for the "canelazo" at our arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It a pleasure to know that we have surprised you with the new remodelation. Refering to our rates as you mentioned they are very accessible and we are always thinking to offer a product with an excellent quality and price. I am also very thankful for your kind comment about the service and our gastronomy, we work very... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel

Address: Ordonez Lazo s/n, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuenca Oro Verde Hotel

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay