We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Av Ordonez Lasso S/N, Cuenca, Ecuador (Formerly Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel)
Offers & Announcements
Desayuno Buffet
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Share an Experience

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    38
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
24
6
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the hotel staff to be extraordinarily attentive, friendly, and helpful. They were responsive to every need we expressed. The junior suite was spacious, aesthetically pleasing, and comfortable. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet as well as one excellent dinner in the hotel's dining room. We were delighted with our experience in the hotel and highly recommend it for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear Peter, We thank you for the kind review. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities We constantly strive to exceed our guests' expectations and take great pride in delivering a five star experience. We certainly look forward to your next visit. With Highest regards. Marcelo Ferrari... More 

Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We didn't know what to expect, Cuenca was an unknown. The hotel, from the rooms to the staff amazed us -- modern décor, beautiful and comfortable rooms -- and the staff exceeded our expectations and provided a high level of service. The food was good, and restaurant service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for the kind review and for complementing our hard working team; they are our greatest asset in delivering quality experiences. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities We constantly strive to exceed our guests' expectations and take great pride in delivering a... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

The hotel oro verde is located near the downtown area of Cuenca. The hospitality is awesome. My first time in Ecuador. This hotel is similar to any 4 to 5 star hotel in USA. Friendly, clean and bilingual staff. Very accommodating to everyone's needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a wonderful review!. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our Hotel. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities We constantly strive... More 

Somerville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015 via mobile

This is my fourth or fifth time ordering the same entree over the past six months. The first evening my entree fettucvine with sals 4 queso was excellent. Since then the consistency changes. Tonights rendition was not good at all, barely any sauce so pretty grainy with grated cheese. A garnish on the plate would be a plus, the plate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

The exterior appearance is not great - looks quite cold and old, with limited parking. But appearances are deceiving because inside is a modern hotel with a large restaurant, lounge, pool, and several nice shops. Staff all spoke very good English. They even switched the TV in the dining room to an English sports channel when they heard us talking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Oro Verde Hotel Cuenca family thanks you for taking some of your valuable time to refer your comment. We hope to have you back soon. With highest regards, Marcelo Ferrari General Manager More 

Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

And we're back after a couple decades to see how this hotel has improved. Brand new rooms, delicious food and amazing service from the personnel. And just a couple of minutes from the historic center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your valuable comment. We are pleased that your liked our new rooms. It´s going to be an honor to give this flattering comment to our staff since we are working really hard to provide you the best of our service, to make you feel like your own... More 

Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Very well kept hotel, it really looks new. Not close to the city center but close to a developing area for expatriates. People are friendly and very professional. The food for a hotel was superb! We had grilled trout and it was amazing! Then I learned that during weekends the restaurant was going to have a "Crab Festival", I can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear guest, Oro Verde Hotel Cuenca family thanks you for taking some of your valuable time to refer your comment, we really work with dedication, care and passion to provide excellent service to make you feel like you were at home. Also as you refer we make constant maintenance of the new facilities. As you mention this month we have... More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I went there for a few days since me and my brother were on a business trip. It's not downtown so you need to taje a taxi almost everywhere. Food from the buffet wasn't that tasty. People who work there are friendly and speak very good English. They have central heating since Cuenca can be quite cold , that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your valuable and flattering comment. The fact that the hotel is not in the town center for a business traveler it is strength to our hotel due to traffic and noise in that area of the city. The streetcar routes are under construction, it will be a strength for the city but unfortunately... More 

Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Rooms are big, modern and well-kept. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is good but not very varied. It is a clean and quiet hotel (although they were doing renovation work). Free wi fi and a big parking. The hotel is not very closed to the city center but still is reasonably nearby. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking some of your valuable time to refer your comment, we really work with dedication, care and passion to provide excellent service to make you feel like you were at home. Also as you refer we make constant maintenance of the new facilities. About the breakfast you mention that is not extensive, even though our breakfast consists... More 

Tyler, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

It was great that they have heated floors for the chilly evenings in Cuenca. Their advertised price, which is high, does not reflect an additional 22% hotel tax. The staff was very helpful. The rooms and beds were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. We hope to have you back soon. Best regards, Marcelo Ferrari General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question